We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views & coffee ”
Review of Bumbles

Bumbles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane
Level Contributor
163 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great views & coffee ”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for great coffee and a light lunch I recommend Bumbles. We met friends who live on the coast for lunch and were not disappointed. It is a 10 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of Surfers with great views over the Nerang river plus no problem with parking. We all enjoyed the coffee which was the best I've had on the coast and was matched by the light lunch menu. They are open for dinner only on Thursday however were unable to book due to a previous appointment will try when next on the coast.

Helpful?
1 Thank bmw216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    88
    38
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Coffee”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Breakfast only at this little cafe, great views over the inlet and the filthy rich houses and boats. Inside or outside eating, tastefully decorated, most enjoyable breakie with friends.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jude O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Consistently good coffee (genovese) and delicious, home made (I think) cakes. The service is friendly and efficient and whether you sit outside overlooking Budds Beach or inside with the quirky decor you can't go wrong. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 123free
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensland
Level Contributor
388 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Does not live up to the reviews?”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Chose this café due to super positive reviews done on it but it did not live up to reviews. When we arrived only one person was sitting and was drinking a coffee and it was impossible to tell if the cafe was open or not. It was some time before anyone appeared to welcome us. The tables are dirty and sticky with the reason provided for this, being that the paint they had used did not like the sunlight. There was no suggestion if it was planned to repaint etc. Furniture was old as was the surroundings.
Our breakfast of BAKED EGGS ($18) and BACON & EGGS ($17) was very average. The beans were tasteless.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SinkingSeabourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
175 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Two reviews for the price of one.”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Have had tea/coffee here over the past two weeks. 'Er Indoors (who's a caffeine connoisseur) says it's without doubt the best coffee she had on the coast (and she's tried many). I had tea yesterday. Normally when I order tea at a cafe it's like clover tea - only three leaves. My cuppa was to die for. Strong; a large pot; cute little bottle of milk and a matching china cup and saucer. Bewdaful.

Bumbles serves dinner on Thursday nights. So we thought we'd give it a try. $50 a head for three courses and BYO. So far so good.
Arrived at 6.45 (place was very well patronised) and sat outside. The ambience was perfect; a soft glow radiating from inside with all the tea lights. Looking across to the river foreshore and house lights beyond.
Table set with fine linen tablecloth, glassware and cutlery. El cheapo paper napkin - naughty!
Menu's and a bottle of chilled water. Waitress was a delight. So helpful and cheery. Ordered. Both had the same - boring!
Twice roasted pork belly with apple mint salad; seven hour lamb shoulder and cheese.
Pork was tender and unctuous; apple salad ok but the mint were large leaves thrown through the applesticks. I think they should have been shredded.
I'd say we had no more than 10 minutes between finishing starters before mains were delivered.
Lamb was tender and flavoursome, served with mashed spuds. Mash was one of the best I've had. Would have been good to have a few greens but this is a minor complaint.
Cheese. Now here's the big let down. Menu described the cheese as being "creamy cheese served with pear, quince paste and oat cake biscuits".
I think I've had better cheese when I've bought a "reduced for quick sale" piece of Brie at Woollies. It was hard and tough. No pear and obviously they'd run out of oat bickies because there was ONE oat bickie broken in half and three Lavosh. Overheard the lady at the next table telling Hubby that the cheese was Philadelphia Cream Cheese!
Offered tea or coffee but declined. Don't know if that was included in the price.
All in all a really good night. Terrific value with only the cheese being a bit of an issue.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MurielMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bumbles also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Bumbles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing