We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy coffee and cake!”
Review of Bumbles

Bumbles
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Alstonville, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy coffee and cake!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Lovely atmosphere here, by the water and park, easy to get a car park even on a weekend. We liked the furnishings and the choice of areas to sit, outside, and four different areas inside, very warmly decorated with tea lights and flowers, and white filigree type lampshades. The coffee and Mars bar inspired cheesecake was delicious! Have been here many times whilst boating on the Nerang river, and always enjoyed the service and staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    90
    38
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Bumbles came highly recommended by our friends who had made reservation for a table for 6 inside the restaurant on a Thursday night. We got there exactly at our appointed time only to be told that they had no tables for us. A group who had initially reserved a table outside changed their minds and wanted to have a table inside when it was getting too cold and one of the staff had given our reserved table to them. After a couple of minutes of fuss, they managed to move the group to their original table outside and we got our table.

Service was pretty slow as it was packed. I had a feeling that the crowd was a little overwhelming for the restaurant as they soon ran out of glasses and utensils and had to use latte glasses as water glasses. Dinner was a fixed 3 course menu for $50 of which we have a choice of entrees, mains and a dessert. Unfortunately the entree that most of us picked, ran out and we had to replace it with a something else. Most of us ordered the soup, which came out more Luke warm to cold. Three of us requested the staff to heat up the soup for us in the micro wave, they said that the cook will not do that and will make us a new batch. The soup came back much warmer but watered down by 1/3 the original thickness and in a smaller bowl which was 2/3 the size of the original bowl served. We joked that perhaps they have ran out of soup and had to watered it down and give less soup.
I have ordered a fish pie which was a simple but tasty dish. However the rest of our group ordered a fillet steak and the sizes served were pretty inconsistent. The sizes were between 250gm to 120 gm, of which most of them were 120gm. The steak was tough and cooked to almost well done when most of the order was for medium rare.

The general impression was that the food was mediocre and perhaps the kitchen just had a bad day that day. However with this initial impression, I don't think we will be going back to this restaurant again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SelinaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A relaxing and simple experience”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

For the price the service, atmosphere and food is great value. Food is simple, choices limited but certainly adequate and enjoyable. It is good value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is such a lovely location to drop in for a cuppa with a friend or lunch. It can be a bit noisy inside, so I would recommend sitting outside or requesting the Blue Room, which is away from the main cooking area. Love the ambience and the food is always fresh. Then you can take a stroll along beautiful Budds Beach.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
163 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great views & coffee ”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for great coffee and a light lunch I recommend Bumbles. We met friends who live on the coast for lunch and were not disappointed. It is a 10 minute walk from the hustle and bustle of Surfers with great views over the Nerang river plus no problem with parking. We all enjoyed the coffee which was the best I've had on the coast and was matched by the light lunch menu. They are open for dinner only on Thursday however were unable to book due to a previous appointment will try when next on the coast.

Helpful?
1 Thank bmw216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bumbles also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Bumbles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing