We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great and fun place to stay :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aquarius Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aquarius Backpackers
1 review
“Great and fun place to stay :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I would recommend this hostel because the staff are so polite and helpful and they would go out there way to try an help you!

The hostel is very clean also i stayed in backpackers in paradise and i thought it was awful room was dark and the floor just looked black was only there for a night though... Then i went here...

Bad thing i would say about the hostel is the location but they do run shuttle busses into surfers every 2 hours so its not soooo bad...

But yeah i would give this hostel 4 stars due to location and maybe could have a little bit of a face lift but not really a problem.

Thanks Aquarius Backpackers!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke5_255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Luke,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have just under gone a major renovation of the hostel. We have a annual maintenance program but this is a big one. New beds, new kitchen, new bathrooms and so on. So please if you get a chance pop back and see the changes. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and hope to see you again one day. Thanks Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    76
    33
    19
    24
See reviews for
4
21
94
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed at Aquarius for a few nights at the start of June. The staff were very friendly and fun to be around - we had some excellent nights out and they were also very helpful with directions, activities to do through the day etc. The rooms were very clean, as were the bathrooms. I was a little put off by the location at first but the free shuttle bus into the city is great. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and will look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theamoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Thea, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We appreciate the feedback and that we are meeting the needs of our guests. We hope you were successful in completing your farm work so you can stay in our fantastic country. We look forward to see you again soon. Thanks Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We arrived to the bus station in Surfers and it was cold and raining. We call the staff to tell them we were there. They come and got us and she was funny and really friendly. My friend and I were traveling together and it was good as we got to do some of the things they organized for us. The staff made us feel really welcome. It was good to be able to have a hot shower and it was clean. They organized us to go to a wild life park and I got to hold a Koala. My friends at home are really jealous.

Room Tip: Really helpful and happy place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Mary,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always a great chatting point with your friends being able to share your great experiences. We wish you a fantastic travel through Australia and hope to see you again soon. Thanks Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Lets me explain clearly, DO NOT STAY HERE!! The hostel has a constant bad stench on the upper floors of sweat and not sure what else. On the last day we was removing our bed sheets to prepare to check out... and we found blood stains on our mattress!! There were several stains!! We complained to reception who explain that he was very disappointed and that this kind of thing is regularly checked by the cleaners. Anyway so our complaint was escalated by staff via phone to the manager "Brent" (Yep just ilke the BBC comedy "the office:) He didn't even speak to us or offer any apologies, He just told his staff that we can not get a refund as we should have noticed when we first checked in. Not even an apology or anything. The problem with this was that staff already had put the bed covers on the mattress beforehand therefore was he expecting us to remove the bed cover and check the mattress on our first day? not logical at all.

We have taken pictures of what we have found to back up our review. Also this place is not located in surfers paradise. It actually in Southport and it will take you 30 mins by walking to get to surfers!! Completely in the middle of no where!! Also its completely dead..no fellow backpackers to meet at this place.

Only nice thing I can say is that there was a couple of staff from Birmingham who was very understanding and agreed with us but could not do anything without managerial approval.

Also when our bus arrived we had to wait 45 mins for the free pickup that is offered by the hostel. Most hostels that Ive stayed in that offer this service work around the bus timetable.

Overall very shocked!!

Please feel free to review my pictures!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mehul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I have looked into the situation with regards to the stain on the bed bug cover. It is in fact a stain from the dark sheets that we were using. We have since gone back to our original supplier of our linen so as to not have the die from the sheets coming onto the white covers. Brent the manager actually spoke to you and your friend at reception upon your day of departure. Upon leaving you were asked if there was anything else you wished to discuss and you advised the staff no you were happy. Sorry you feel that you needed to write this review when you were given the chance to discuss this in more detail with reception. The Free shuttle runs directly with the time tables of Greyhound, Oz Experience and Premier bus services who drop guests to Surfers Paradise and Southport transit center. We are only minutes walk to hundreds of bars, cafes, shops and the FREE maps that are available at reception shows them for your convenience.
We wish you a great travel.
Thanks Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

Aquarius is okay if you don't mind walking for an hour to get anywhere near town or the beach. There are very few places to eat or go out near it. They offer an irregular shuttle service if you request it to get to the bus station which is nowhere near the shops of the beach. It shows a spa which turns out to be a cold and dirty jacuzzi. It also says you get free wifi which you do... For an hour unless you like them on Facebook, then you get two. Yes it's cheap but if you want a good time in surfers don't go to Aquarius. However on a lighter note the staff are lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jnewton94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I would like to point out a few issues with your review. We have hundreds of restaurants, bars, cafes, eateries, shops within a 2 minute walking distance from the hostel. It take less than 20 minutes to walk to 47kms of surfing and swimming beaches. No where do we say the spa is heated and it is cleaned every morning and checked by an independent company. The FREE shuttle is a courtesy service and runs from 9:15am till 6:00pm daily. While the public bus service runs 24 hours a day and the bus stop is 1 minute walk from the hostel.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write to us. But please next time you have issues it is more constructive to advise the staff or management during your stay so they can address your issues directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend and it's really badly located, there is nothing at all to do in the day time or really the night. The only thing you can do is get groceries in the South port area, as Surfer's Paradise is a 30 minute walk away. They do run a shuttle every 2 hours during the day but there is only 5 in total first is 10.00am and last one back is 6.00pm. So if you wanna go out at night you gotta walk or taxi. They do have nights out with the hostel, but they aren't cheap and you need to stay out and come back with them. The hostel itself is filthy, all the carpets and beds aren't cleaned. The kitchen has lots of ants and flies circle round all areas constantly. They do have a good choice of film downstairs but you can't eat or drink on the sofa's whilst watching else you lose your deposit. They don't allow your own alcohol anywhere in the hostel, to force you to buy theres. They give you 1 free hour a day on wifi, then it's expensive and never works most of the time. Plus to top it all off it's more expensive than hostels and hotels in surfers itself, I stayed in an apartments block for $25ish a night, here cost me $35 a night and I didn't have to share with anyone and had all cooking facilities and a clean comfy bed. Pointless waste of time and money...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcy_Futura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. I would like to point out a few issues with your review. We have hundreds of restaurants, bars, cafes, eateries, shops within a 2 minute walking distance from the hostel. It take less than 20 minutes to walk to 47kms of surfing and swimming beaches. The broadwater is only a 3 minute walk from the hostel which has one of the most amazing FREE views of the Gold Coast water and has over 8 kilometers of walking and scenic track. The FREE shuttle is a courtesy service and runs from 9:15am till 6:00pm daily. While the public bus service runs 24 hours a day and the bus stop is 1 minute walk from the hostel. We offer an FREE VIP entry into the night clubs 5 days per week which includes VIP drink prices. The other 2 nights we offer a Night Out specifically designed to accommodate our traveler with VIP entry and prices for drinks this also includes Gold Coast memorabilia. The only traveler product of its kind in Australia. As we understand our clients and their needs for an experience. Yes we offer a FREE DVD library for guests and YES we do not allow eating on the couches due to Hygiene and Health and Safety requirements. We supply numerous tables and chairs surrounding our entertainment areas for the consumption of food and beverages. I spoke to the accommodation place with which you stayed and in fact you did not pay $25 per night for an apartment it was considerably much higher than this. The kitchen is cleaning many times during the day and is closed at night for cleaning and all shelves are sprayed to maintain hygiene. When you first wrote the review you were from Malaysia now you are from Thailand. So I am now wondering if in fact you have actually stayed at the hostel.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write to us. But please next time you have issues it is more constructive to advise the staff or management during your stay so they can address your issues directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
376 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Nice and tidy with good staff. clean, spacey rooms.
I stayed here for 4 nights and had a great time.
The bar closes down at midnight so you can get a good sleep. My room was inbetween the road and the bar and it was a little noisy but it soon quiets down.
Quick walk to Australia Fair shopping mall and there is many places to eat within walking distance.
Nice pool, every thing is clean .
The only problem is parking, not many spaces at all.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Young_and_Free_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We as management and staff love hearing our guests have enjoyed their stay. We have 9 car spaces for the guests and as we are the only hostel on the Gold Coast with a car park it does get really full. We wish a fantastic travel through Australia and hope to see you again soon. Thanks Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
2.2 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#20 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.2 mi away
Down Under Hostels Surfers Paradise
Down Under Hostels Surfers Parad...
#60 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.1 mi away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#30 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Bea...
#93 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.6 mi away
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
#56 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.7 mi away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#65 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers

Property: Aquarius Backpackers
Address: 44 Queen Street, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquarius Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf, sand, nature, adventure, shopping, nightlife, theme parks, FUN... it's here and waiting for you!Aquarius Backpackers is a BaseMates hostel located in Southport Surfers Paradise is a lovely boutique hostel that caters for all those who share a love of travel. Situated on the famous Gold Coast, we offer a very friendly home away from home experience. Here you will find clean, modern, safe and friendly accommodation. We are closely situated to all your needs - shopping centres - banks - post offices - pubs, and above all, our world-famous beaches and lush green Hinterland.We offer dormitory style accommodation with either 4 or 6 share as well as private queens and twins. We also cater for all female & male rooms. With a fully equipped kitchen, you’ll be cooking up a feast in no time. Why not take a dip in our beautiful outdoor pool and spa or sit back in our big comfy leather couches, relax & watch a DVD from our 500+ library. Rates also include linen & FREE wireless internet. Join the crew and meet people from all around the world! Have a drink and a boogie at our licensed bar - Jacks Spot. It’s open seven days/nightly from 7am – midnight. Check out our fantastic hostel today and see for yourself what your missing out on! Recommended by Lonely Planet!“ In an area where backpackers are a dime a dozen there’s always the danger that budget accommodation just won’t make an effort. Not so for this colourful Hostel where cleanliness is as important as having a good time - and that’s considered very important”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing