We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Irishman's Review: Very Good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aquarius Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aquarius Backpackers
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An Irishman's Review: Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stayed here for a week with 6 of my friends, we had the best week ever, yes its like 2mins from center of town, but your talking of like a 2 min walk you lazy S.O.B's. The staff were nice, they let us drink in the room's frowned upon, but once you keep it to normality and not go nuts on the partying, the will turn blind eye, we were at the beach every day, they gave us surf boards, body boarders, snorkeling gear all for free, we even broke a door and nothing was said, cause one of the lads was made for the ride in the shower with some chick from england, I know traitor and irishman with an english woman. if you want a proper hostel and not the commercial hostel like nomads, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keano1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Irishman, Thank you for taking the time to review but unfortunately you stayed in Byron Bay Aquarius hostel not the Gold Coast. We are happy you enjoyed your stay there. Have a good holiday. Thanks Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    76
    33
    19
    24
See reviews for
4
21
94
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Four Oaks, North Carolina
Level Contributor
226 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

I found the location of this hostel to be very close walking distance to plenty of shops, eating places, and near by to plenty of bus stations. The staff were very helpful and at the same time very busy always cleaning/maintaining the grounds. The interior smelled of fresh paint and the bathrooms had what looked like very nice ceramic tiled floors and walls in the shower. Used the laundry facilities which worked just fine. Had a splendid time with the other folks rooming there and with the staff too! I would recommend this place for any ages.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Shane, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Is is always great when we get feedback that we can reward the staff for. We wish you a fantastic travel through Australia and hope to see you again soon. Thanks Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

We were so disappointed with this hostel and would not stay again. The rooms were small, crampt and too hot. Location was poor, staff were unhelpful and the rooms were horrible. This hostel should not be associated with Base as it is nowhere near as good. Don't book here!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amysarah8183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
HI, We are sorry you were not happy with your stay. Unfortunately we can't confirm your accommodation with us. As all Base guests are confirmed and accounted for and we are not able to confirm you even stayed with us. But to answer your review. We are 3 minute walk to one of the major shopping centers on the Gold Coast with over 200 shops. We have 4 and 6 bed dorms only and they are amongst the biggest dorm rooms of any hostel. * Recommended by the Lonely Planet as “a colorful Hostel where cleanliness is as important as having a good time – and that’s considered very important. We wish you a great travel for the future. Thanks Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I would recommend this hostel because the staff are so polite and helpful and they would go out there way to try an help you!

The hostel is very clean also i stayed in backpackers in paradise and i thought it was awful room was dark and the floor just looked black was only there for a night though... Then i went here...

Bad thing i would say about the hostel is the location but they do run shuttle busses into surfers every 2 hours so its not soooo bad...

But yeah i would give this hostel 4 stars due to location and maybe could have a little bit of a face lift but not really a problem.

Thanks Aquarius Backpackers!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke5_255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Luke,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have just under gone a major renovation of the hostel. We have a annual maintenance program but this is a big one. New beds, new kitchen, new bathrooms and so on. So please if you get a chance pop back and see the changes. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and hope to see you again one day. Thanks Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stayed at Aquarius for a few nights at the start of June. The staff were very friendly and fun to be around - we had some excellent nights out and they were also very helpful with directions, activities to do through the day etc. The rooms were very clean, as were the bathrooms. I was a little put off by the location at first but the free shuttle bus into the city is great. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and will look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theamoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Thea, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We appreciate the feedback and that we are meeting the needs of our guests. We hope you were successful in completing your farm work so you can stay in our fantastic country. We look forward to see you again soon. Thanks Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

We arrived to the bus station in Surfers and it was cold and raining. We call the staff to tell them we were there. They come and got us and she was funny and really friendly. My friend and I were traveling together and it was good as we got to do some of the things they organized for us. The staff made us feel really welcome. It was good to be able to have a hot shower and it was clean. They organized us to go to a wild life park and I got to hold a Koala. My friends at home are really jealous.

Room Tip: Really helpful and happy place
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Mary,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always a great chatting point with your friends being able to share your great experiences. We wish you a fantastic travel through Australia and hope to see you again soon. Thanks Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Lets me explain clearly, DO NOT STAY HERE!! The hostel has a constant bad stench on the upper floors of sweat and not sure what else. On the last day we was removing our bed sheets to prepare to check out... and we found blood stains on our mattress!! There were several stains!! We complained to reception who explain that he was very disappointed and that this kind of thing is regularly checked by the cleaners. Anyway so our complaint was escalated by staff via phone to the manager "Brent" (Yep just ilke the BBC comedy "the office:) He didn't even speak to us or offer any apologies, He just told his staff that we can not get a refund as we should have noticed when we first checked in. Not even an apology or anything. The problem with this was that staff already had put the bed covers on the mattress beforehand therefore was he expecting us to remove the bed cover and check the mattress on our first day? not logical at all.

We have taken pictures of what we have found to back up our review. Also this place is not located in surfers paradise. It actually in Southport and it will take you 30 mins by walking to get to surfers!! Completely in the middle of no where!! Also its completely dead..no fellow backpackers to meet at this place.

Only nice thing I can say is that there was a couple of staff from Birmingham who was very understanding and agreed with us but could not do anything without managerial approval.

Also when our bus arrived we had to wait 45 mins for the free pickup that is offered by the hostel. Most hostels that Ive stayed in that offer this service work around the bus timetable.

Overall very shocked!!

Please feel free to review my pictures!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mehul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I have looked into the situation with regards to the stain on the bed bug cover. It is in fact a stain from the dark sheets that we were using. We have since gone back to our original supplier of our linen so as to not have the die from the sheets coming onto the white covers. Brent the manager actually spoke to you and your friend at reception upon your day of departure. Upon leaving you were asked if there was anything else you wished to discuss and you advised the staff no you were happy. Sorry you feel that you needed to write this review when you were given the chance to discuss this in more detail with reception. The Free shuttle runs directly with the time tables of Greyhound, Oz Experience and Premier bus services who drop guests to Surfers Paradise and Southport transit center. We are only minutes walk to hundreds of bars, cafes, shops and the FREE maps that are available at reception shows them for your convenience.
We wish you a great travel.
Thanks Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
2.2 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#19 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
2.2 mi away
Down Under Hostels Surfers Paradise
Down Under Hostels Surfers Parad...
#59 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
3.1 mi away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#31 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Bea...
#94 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.6 mi away
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
Surf N Sun Beachside Backpackers
#60 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.7 mi away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#64 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers

Property: Aquarius Backpackers
Address: 44 Queen Street, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquarius Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf, sand, nature, adventure, shopping, nightlife, theme parks, FUN... it's here and waiting for you!Aquarius Backpackers is a BaseMates hostel located in Southport Surfers Paradise is a lovely boutique hostel that caters for all those who share a love of travel. Situated on the famous Gold Coast, we offer a very friendly home away from home experience. Here you will find clean, modern, safe and friendly accommodation. We are closely situated to all your needs - shopping centres - banks - post offices - pubs, and above all, our world-famous beaches and lush green Hinterland.We offer dormitory style accommodation with either 4 or 6 share as well as private queens and twins. We also cater for all female & male rooms. With a fully equipped kitchen, you’ll be cooking up a feast in no time. Why not take a dip in our beautiful outdoor pool and spa or sit back in our big comfy leather couches, relax & watch a DVD from our 500+ library. Rates also include linen & FREE wireless internet. Join the crew and meet people from all around the world! Have a drink and a boogie at our licensed bar - Jacks Spot. It’s open seven days/nightly from 7am – midnight. Check out our fantastic hostel today and see for yourself what your missing out on! Recommended by Lonely Planet!“ In an area where backpackers are a dime a dozen there’s always the danger that budget accommodation just won’t make an effort. Not so for this colourful Hostel where cleanliness is as important as having a good time - and that’s considered very important”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing