We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Aquarius Backpackers
Reviewed 2 November 2013

kitchen was 'under construction'... the location was not good, no parking available, internet didn't work, couldn't bring your own alcohol, had to purchase from the 'bar' on property (a small fenced off section out front of the hostel with a few pool tables and a tiny 'tiki-style' bar. overall just a below average experience. i've stayed in many hostels/backpackers throughout Oz and NZ and this one sticks out as my LEAST favorite for sure. just had no character and was disappointing, do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerNick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Hi Nick, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Your account of the hostel and its facilities is not accurate. We have over 9 car spaces that the guests can park in and as it is a very large space not sure why you did not use it. Yes we are a licensed premise and we do not allow external alcohol to be brought onto the premise and this is on our website. So if you wanted to consume your own alcohol you should have stayed in an unlicensed premise. Yes the kitchen was under construction but we established a kitchen for the guests and all facilities and equipment was there ready for use of the guests as we understand our guests like to cook to save money. The WIFI requires a code which you were advised to get from reception and the information on our WIFI service was given to you upon checkin. Without a code from reception the WIFI will not connect. We don't understand why you need to make false claims as you spent your whole time intoxicated and rude towards the guests and staff. Hence we did not extend your stay as per your request and this is why you feel you need to write this review. We hope you enjoy your travels in Australia. Thanks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

I am an Australian and I arrived here from Brisbane on a strictly business only stay. During my stay I met some lovely foreigners and enjoyed my time there. The facilities were great however a few issues came to my attention. I was not warned before booking into this place that the Kitchen is closed and locked up at night so that you cannot make coffee or drink tea or gain access to snacks, furthermore it took me around half an hour to check out when I wanted to simply because the rude english girl working there was too preoccupied being a snob doing the laundry first even though customer service was a greater priority. Not only that, whilst waiting to check out I sat down with a new fellow from New Zealand who had checked in, and as he began to roll a joint of Marijuana in front of me, offering me some, to which I declined saying no I do not smoke it... the English girl came charging out like someone's old grandmother and she kicked both of us off the premises. This ended up in an altercation to which I asked police at the races about later. The police said they have the right to kick anybody off their premises at any time, however it was not illegal for me to sit chatting to a gentleman who was interested in intoxicating himself openly in the court yard! I rest my case! I'm never going back to this backpackers again!! I even got told off for not bringing my sheets down the the front counter and instead putting them with the rest piled up in the laundry! Very Very annoying place where I wasn't respected well at all... even the first night returning home to endure drunks everywhere outside I sat down with my dinner, only to turn and goto the kitchen and grab a drink... and when I returned outside this other worker there had shoved my food out of the way to take a chair next to her friend... all dressed up like a stupid drunk lollypop!! If you're numb as nuts and want to fool around like crazy western drunks... then I recommend this numb house! If you seek an intellectually minded group with respect for others, find a better venue!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OZ_GRASSHOPPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review but your account of the situation is not entirely correct. You had already checked out as your stay with us had completed. The reason you were asked to leave was your abusive behavior towards staff and other guests who had made several complaints about your unwanted behavior and some of the guests would not go out to the communal areas while you were there. Yes we do not tolerate the consuming or the possession of illegal substances on the premises. The hostel is not run by backpackers it is run by a well established business owner of over 20 years of running businesses. Some of the staff are travelers which is a positive for the guests as they have an understanding what our guests require as they are one of them. We are sorry you felt that you needed to make the situation more than what it was and to write hurtful and untruths but only you can answer that and you have to live with the review. Thanks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our car broke down near Aquarius on a holiday Monday when everything else was closed. We decided to call around to backpackers and see if any could help in any way. When we called Aquarius they were so helpful and said if we could drive the car to bring it to them and they would call their mechanic friend to see if he could come out and take a look. We let the car cool down (radiator troubles) then drove it up the block to them. The receptionist called her friend and within the hour the mechanic was there who within another 2 hours fixed the problem and had us back on the road. While we waited they let us relax on the sofa, charge our devices and made us feel very at home. It was very clean and organized with a nice relaxed atmosphere. All the staff were super friendly, helpful and understanding. If we go back we'll definitely stay there! Thanks again for the amazing service!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CouandDrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we understand all types of travelers. You needed support, service, assistance and understanding. It was our pleasure to assist you as you both looked very distressed and unsure of how to fix the situation. We try and make sure all travelers and guests receive 5great service and it was our pleasure. We hope the car is behaving its self and you have had no more problems. Look forward to seeing you again one day. Be safe and enjoy Australia. Thanks Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The fact that this hostel is called "Aquarius Backpackers - SURFERS PARADISE" is massive false advertising - it's actually geographically in South Port. It's such a shame because the hostel itself is actually really nice - the staff were great, the rooms were clean and the facilities in general were really good. However, to get into town you are looking at a bare minimum 45 minute walk each way. The hostel do run free shuttle buses to and from town but they are quite limited. If you're looking for somewhere really central I wouldn't stay here, but if you aren't bothered about being in the middle of town then I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Caroline, Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are a 3 minute drive to Surfers Paradise. The main CBD of the Gold Coast is Southport and we have the 2nd Largest Shopping center a 4 minute walk from the hostel. The FREE shuttle to Surfers Paradise transit center goes from 9am to 6pm daily then we have nightly events to accommodate all the guests who want to venture to Surfers Night Clubs with a FREE Drink and FREE entry. We wish you a safe travel and see you again one day. Thanks Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The standard of the hostel is about average, with decent enough beds. Rooms could be a bit bigger but it is a decent standard of hostel given those available on the Gold Coast (which I find to be a bit over-developed, it's ok if you want an expensive night out with loads of vacuous/vain people).

The hostel was over-shadowed by the very poor customer service from the manager (all other staff were friendly and helpful).

The shuttle bus does not run for early morning pick-ups basically - why? I'm not sure. We had called the hostel up to arrange a 9.15am pick up from surfers paradise. They said it wouldn't be a problem. We arrived at 9.15am - there was no bus to pick us up. Then, we went in to the travel centre who kindly phoned up the hostel to inquire as to what was going on. The hostel offered no apology and told us to wait until 10.30am at the bus stop until we could get picked up. This put a big spanner in the works for us as we had arranged our day around this pick up. Eventually, we sorted the situation out, went to Dreamworld (which was great), then arrived at the hostel to check in later that day.

When we got there, the hostel said there'd also not be a shuttle bus to take us back to Surfers Paradise the following morning (so twice no shuttle bus as advertised on their website...!). I explained to the manager that we were 'stitched up' earlier in the day. She offered no apology and essentially inferred that it was our fault that the hostel didn't pick us up - how I have no idea.

Anyway, to cut a long story short - the hostel doesn't do early morning pick ups/drop-offs and the manager needs to take a course in friendly and helpful customer service. It's not hard to apologise for your mess! I would definitely not recommend this hostel purely on the fact that poor customer service should be rewarded with poor take up in room bookings.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere if you want somewhere central to Surfers Paradise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WMS1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Steven,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Unfortunately your account of the situation is not entirely correct. We called the transit center to confirm collection of guests and the transit center staff, went out and called the names of the guests to collect and you did not respond or were not there at the time you advised you would be. When the transit center staff called at 10 to advise you were there our next FREE shuttle was 10:30am. We then suggested go to Dreamworld and we would collect your bags and bring them back to the hostel so you did not have to check in till later. As we are one of the owners of the transit desk your bags were safe as advised to you. Our courtesy shuttle is exact that. We have the times set up to accommodate majority of guests and staffing of the hostel. We advised you how to get the local bus to catch your other means of transport and explained what times the buses left and arrived at your desired location. We are struggling to understand your review as you were only in the hostel for less then 12 hours and we all pride ourselves on customer service which is taught to us by our management and she has own numerous awards in excellence of guest and customer service. We wish you a great travel. Thanks Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Only had to stay here for one day. It us close to some dining places mit very far to walk at night then, after dinner or a shin Ding. Close to shopping mall with a movie theatre. They have a licenced bar, if you like to have an evening in.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have nightly events that is organized for all the guests to go out at night. We hope you got involved with these scheduled events. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thanks Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Great Location, close to several eating places and a large shopping center. Also within reach to the main bus . The staff were friendly and always willing to lend a hand, they also host a weekly event to go out to the city and party! great fun! The lounge area and adjoining outdoor bar were all fantastic, all with plenty to do and the majority of activates offered (including several movies, dart board and pool table) were free. There is also a bar outside so you can enjoy a beer while playing pool (or just relax).The shared bathrooms were clean and well maintained, as was the shared kitchen. The room was reasonably sized, clean and had ample storage, however the beds were a bit rough.
Great atmosphere great experience found it hard to leave.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the ground floor as the shared facilities are located there and will be noisy (especi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loctite2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backpackinggoldcoast, General Manager at Aquarius Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Take care and see you again one day. Thanks Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Surfers Paradise
2.2 mi away
Backpackers In Paradise
Backpackers In Paradise
#18 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
506 reviews
1.7 mi away
Budds in Surfers
Budds in Surfers
#110 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
360 reviews
3.1 mi away
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Res...
#39 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Down Under Hostels Surfers Paradise
Down Under Hostels Surfers Parad...
#69 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
110 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bunk Surfers Paradise
Bunk Surfers Paradise
#54 of 369 in Gold Coast
71 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
Sleeping Inn Backpackers
#33 of 124 in Surfers Paradise
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Backpackers

Address: 44 Queen St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4215, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 124 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £32 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquarius Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf, sand, nature, adventure, shopping, nightlife, theme parks, FUN... it's here and waiting for you!Aquarius Backpackers is a BaseMates hostel located in Southport Surfers Paradise is a lovely boutique hostel that caters for all those who share a love of travel. Situated on the famous Gold Coast, we offer a very friendly home away from home experience. Here you will find clean, modern, safe and friendly accommodation. We are closely situated to all your needs - shopping centres - banks - post offices - pubs, and above all, our world-famous beaches and lush green Hinterland.We offer dormitory style accommodation with either 4 or 6 share as well as private queens and twins. We also cater for all female & male rooms. With a fully equipped kitchen, you’ll be cooking up a feast in no time. Why not take a dip in our beautiful outdoor pool and spa or sit back in our big comfy leather couches, relax & watch a DVD from our 500+ library. Rates also include linen & FREE wireless internet. Join the crew and meet people from all around the world! Have a drink and a boogie at our licensed bar - Jacks Spot. It’s open seven days/nightly from 7am – midnight. Check out our fantastic hostel today and see for yourself what your missing out on! Recommended by Lonely Planet!“ In an area where backpackers are a dime a dozen there’s always the danger that budget accommodation just won’t make an effort. Not so for this colourful Hostel where cleanliness is as important as having a good time - and that’s considered very important”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aquarius Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Backpackers Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing