We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW from start to end”
Review of The Penthouses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Penthouses
Reviewed 29 February 2012

On arrival we were greeted with very friendly staff that were consistant throughout our entire stay, we were a large group and booked 3 apartments. Although each apartment differed in standards ie:furnishings etc the stay was comfortable apartments were very clean and the spacing was extremelly generious.

Considering what we got and what we paid we felt like we got a great deal.

The beach is as they advertise being absolute beachfront the facilities were impressive we were able to have large gatherings in the evening at the bbq area which is rather private as well they also had a games room which meant a few fun games of pool were played. We used the sauna daily in the evenings.

The location of the building was just perfect for us as it is situated between Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach this meant no loud noise yet a hop skip and jump away to all the action th Gold Coast provides.

It was a privilage to get to know the onsite managers Mike and Marissa they are a young kiwi family and really went out of our way to make us feel that we were being looked after.

We now consider ourselves loyal guests of The Penthouses and will recommend this holiday accomodation to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyShaw_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2012

I am writing this review to express huge disappointment with the Apartment offered and the service or lack of given to us at The Penthouses.We arrived at 5pm on 2nd January 2012,As no one on duty took key from box and headed for the 15th floor.
What greeted us was a place so dirty and disgusting.!!The carpet was filthy and badly stained but worse was to come.The main bathroom had sand and pubic hairs in the shower.!!there were jandals under drawers in a bedroom left by a previous person.Also one of the bedrooms had blood/food stains up the wall and on the curtains.GROSS.The master bedroom was very tatty with odd mismatched drawers.In the lounge the cushions had food on them and the kitchen walls had food on them.
The Apartment had NOT been cleaned at all or ever by the state of it.Next morning i went to Reception to say we were checking in and out at the same time.Explained the state of the place.I was then told that i asked for high rise and the further up you go the standard not as good.!!!so that was now my problem as i had requested high rise.I don't think so.
I was offered other accommodation which i declined.Wouldn't you in my situation>??
We had stayed at The Penthouses for the past 4/5 years often taking 2 Apartments so loyalty counted for nothing.!!
When i asked for a refund of $1000 back i was told that legally they only had to offer other accommodation and they had done that so that was it.However morally that is very wrong and even to offer that Apartment for rental simply not on.Which also shows no one responsable for checking whether place been cleaned or not.Doesn't seem right to me.
My son-in-law spoke to Marissa (person on duty) about refund and customer loyalty.She told him i had made it plain i wouldn't be back but had she known my previous history she would have put me elsewhere.!!!!!
Since returning home i have emailed Management but needless to say have not received a reply.My advice to anyone thinking of staying there would be to check your Apartment first and don't pay any deposit.
It seems to me the rating system used is not an accurate one as some may be 4/5 star but others fall very short of that mark and should not be rented out at the amount they charge or at all until upgraded.
Also Management don't seem to be responsable to anyone and don't really care so how you wonder could they improve things.

Room Tip: Check your apartment before paying for it.Don't pay a deposit beforehand
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed at The Penthouses with our four children the apartments were incredibly spacious which meant we all had our space and with teenagers this was a huge bonus. The lady at reception was very helpful and was always more than happy to assist with our queries. She let us know the best theme park deals the best places to eat and also arranged our car hire which saved us allot of money and time. The room we stayed in had all that was needed, washing machine, dishwasher, microwave, vacuum etc we would go back for sure!!!

Ps pity the weather was not better when we stayed but can’t do much about that

Room Tip: Ask the lady at reception for car hire deals and theme park deals she saved us time and money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingbug2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2009

This was our fourth trip to the Gold Coast and we had narrowed our accommodation choices down to 2 based on location, price and reviews. The Penthouses was one of them, but we had serious reservations about the place based on some reviews on this web site. So to be fair we contacted the managers direct, mentioned the reviews and asked if we could expect what we could see on the web site. They replied that what we could see would be exactly what we would get and that the reviews were written about apartments that they had since downgraded to a 3 star rating and the owners had been advised to upgrade them. Based on this discussion, we booked a 3 bedroom apartment for two weeks and hoped we hadn't made a mistake.

On arrival we were not disappointed. We were on the 13th floor (ominous sign), but the apartment was very spacious, the master bedroom was large with a comfy king size bed, very spacious walk in robe and big ensuite. Bedrooms 2 and 3 had built in robes and were of a reasonable size for a holiday. The kitchen was well appointed with dishwasher, new fridge, microwave and electric wall oven and bench top hot plates. The lounge and dining areas were also large enough so that 6 people weren't tripping over each other.

The view from the balconies was majestic, the Pacific Ocean and coastline from Tweed Heads to The Spit from the lounge balcony and great views over the Hinterland and Gold Coast from the master bedroom balcony. All other rooms had ocean views with ocean sounds included. The only downside here was that the front balcony was on the small side.

As with all of the other apartments we have stayed in on previous trips, the level of provisioning in the kitchen was basic. The range of pots, pans, glasses, cups etc wasn’t too bad, and was certainly the best so far. The main problems were a shortage of plastic storage containers, sharp knives that were anything but sharp and plastic ended cooking utensils that melt when used on the barbeque. We ended up buying a sharp knife, barbeque tools and plastic storage containers and then took them home with us. Upon leaving we did advise the building management that the standard of kitchen utensils needed to be reviewed.

The apartment was showing signs of age with the tile grout in the main bathroom being discoloured in places, and some of the minor fittings in the ensuite were also discoloured. Overall the bathrooms were OK but could do with a makeover. The kitchen was also at the stage where it needed a makeover as the hotplates and oven were old and the bench tops were heavily scratched.

To sum things up, the apartment was very large and comfortable, in a great location and was certainly value for money (haggled over the price). If you are looking for a 5 star resort with pristine rooms and all the trimmings, go elsewhere, but if you want comfortable accommodation with great views and value for money, then The Penthouses is worth considering. We will seriously consider returning on our next trip.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

I have stayed at the Gold Coast/Broadbeach many times and this hotel is by far the best! The apartment was great with lots of space and light pouring in from all directions. We stayed in Room 9 which was perfect for our large family as the 3 bedrooms were very spacious as was the rest of the place.
This is absolute beachfront. You can either walk to the left on the beach to Surfers Paradise or to the right to Broadbeach (lovely cafes and shops), or simply step outside and swim right in front of the apartment.
The lobby is welcoming, secure and informative.
The entertainment facilities are great for family/friends. Also the swimming pool has three seperate compartments and a water feature (children's pool, spa and adult pool).
For a true beach holiday,with sounds of waves to wake you in the morning and the perfect environment to soak in the sun, sand and eat seafood on one of the large balconies with expansive views in both directions, you cant go past the penthouses.
Also this place is very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyStarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

We decided to spend this year's Christmas break on the Gold coast. We stayed with our extended family: Parents, Sister's family. The apartment that we stayed in was huge, although poorly designed (being about 30 years old, I think). We had a look at another Apartment which was open for inspection & it had been renovated...much more practical use of space.

On arrival, our Apartment was very clean & even my mother, who is a cleanaholic, had nothing to do for the first couple of days!

The views are one of the best features of these apartments. The apartments are 'absolute beachfront', so there is nothing between you & the beach. We could see down to Coolangatta! Out the back, from the main bedroom, is a great view of the rest of the Gold Coast to the hinterland.

The other major plus for these units is the size. The apartments were huge! Three bedrooms (the main bedroom was enormous with large walk in wardrobe), & enough space for our whole family without feeling like we were living on top of each other.

On the whole, you need to balance the size & location with the age of these apartments. As far as value for money goes, at peak time & shared between 3 families, it worked for us.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nellycoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2007

Unfortunately Unit 9 did not match the photos on the website. The furnishings were very old and the equipment was mostly a mix match of unwanted items from somebody's home. The tiles on the floor were inground with dirt and the old cane furnishing looked like relics from a budget hotel. The staff were not very welcoming or freindly and rather impersonal. Due to the weather we paced up and left early because we saw no point in staying on at place not as nice as home under these circumstances.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank metallious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,456 reviews
1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,744 reviews
0.9 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,725 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
#14 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
761 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Island Boutique Hotel
The Island Boutique Hotel
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penthouses

Address: 20 Old Burleigh Rd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £103 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Penthouses 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Penthouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Penthouses Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing