We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seaview!”
Review of The Penthouses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Penthouses
Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great seaview!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed 6 nights in this location and we booked a 2 room apartment but was given a 3 bedroom apartment. BIg and spacious and ideal when travelling with family. We love the sea facing of this unit and most importantly, easy access to the beach. the apartment also provide free parking and all other facilities such as cooking appliances, washing machine, dryers etc.The staff are very helpful too.It is just 5 mins drive to Cavill Avenue where most restaurants are and we enjoyed a morning slow walk along the beaches to the surfer paradise center from from the apartment too.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor and the Balcony view is a little blocked by a tree..if can get higher leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGSkyes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    16
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
34
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
victoria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Located about 1 km to the south of Cavill Avenue this high rise has absolute frontage to the beach.
We stayed on the 5th Floor in a 3 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment.
We enjoyed the stay
It's not the Marriott but it is about 10 times the size of a Marriott hotel room ( which we have stayed at and also enjoyed) and we had a front balcony overlooking the beach and down to Coolangatta plus a rear balcony looking to the west.
The apartment was huge and all the living areas are tiled.
We stayed with our married daughter and their daughter and it was ideal.
About 3.5 star quality but for what you pay the value is great and the standard was fine for us.
The building is a little tired in places but you only get what you pay for and we were more than satisfied with what we got.
It suited us not to be right in the heart of Surfers and we liked the direct access to the beach.
We would/will go back again and the Manager,Marisa is a very happy obliging person.
Overall we thought it was value for money as the apartment would have slept 8 people ( = approx $ 25 per person per night !!!!).
If you want 5 stars then don't stay here but then again 5 stars would cost twice as much. You decide what' important for you.

Room Tip: If you go in the winter ask for a north facing room. Ring Marisa and ask her for her suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apollo Bay
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Arrived at our accomodation, expecting only the basics for the low price we had paid, however from the start we were blown away! Huge thanks to all staff who were friendly as well as effcient. The apartment was extremely spacious and well laid out, comfortable beds, 3 balconys, all with excellent views, as well as austar which we didnt even have time to turn on the whole week because of all there was too do! The pool, table tennis table and the beach just right at your doorstep was incredible. Would definately reccommend The Penthouses to groups of friends travelling up to surfers, (only a short way from shopping and nightclubs!) we had a week we will never forget! Thanks again guys, will definately stay again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2012 via mobile

What a location!!!!! So cheap too! 3 bedroom apartment was huge - right on the beach - comfy beds! Great pool and amenities! The staff couldn't be more helpful! Travelling with 3 kids couldn't have been made more fun! Buses take you from right out the front to wherever you want to go! We are so going back! Loved it!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Meeka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with a beach view - Wow, what a wonderful room, spectacular views all round and a good size balcony. My husband and I and our 15 month old baby were on holiday with two friends so suitable accommodation for two different agendas was high on the priority list - the penthouses were ideal! The large kitchen/living/dining area meant we were not under each others feet and plenty of room for our daughter to play without getting in the way. The apartments themselves are perfectly situated in between Surfers Paradise (central) and Broadbeach with the bus stop to both centres immediately out the front of the hotel - although on most occassions we chose to walk, which took us approx. 15-20mins. The managment were very friendly and helpful - giving us great advice on activities for small children and great restaurant venues. Its not often you get hotel staff that go the extra mile but these guys certainly did - thank you. To sum up I would definately recommend this place to friends and family and will be heading back there again soon ourselves.

Room Tip: We found our corner suite to be perfect in terms of views and sunshine all day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucja01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed in the 3 bedrooms apartment with beach view and were truly amazed when in two occasions we spotted whales from our balcony. The first experienced we spotted over half a dozen or more whales heading up north. We were ecstatic and my niece & nephew have bragging rights that they have seen whales for the first time from the hotel room...how cool is that?
Marissa & Mike (management) were most hospitable and helpful. All our tickets for the theme parks were organised thru her and she even recommended and pointed us the way to Harbour Town for our shopping needs. We can't thank you enough.
The location is very handy as per reviewed by many other but no mentioned of whales spotting. If you are looking at booking this serviced apartment during the whales migration period...bring a binoculars (highly recommended).
Sorry for the late review (been busy) and regards to Marissa, Mike & family from Brian & Joey and our extended family from Malaysia. When I head up that way again, I'll definetely stay at the Penthouse Apartments again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumorai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed recently at The Penthouses in a 3 bedroom apartment - was awesome! Stayed with 2 children / 4 adults and it was plenty big enough. Nice and spacious and we were lucky to have a recently renovated apartment which had amazing beach front views and access. Lovely big bedrooms and clean, modern feel. Great friendly staff and nice and close to Broadbeach and Surfers - only a short walk away from various restaurants / surf clubs etc. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.9 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,059 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,069 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorchester on the Beach
Dorchester on the Beach
#24 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#5 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Sands
Emerald Sands
#29 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
BreakFree Acapulco
BreakFree Acapulco
#20 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penthouses

Property: The Penthouses
Address: 20 Old Burleigh Rd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Penthouses 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Penthouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Penthouses Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing