We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of The Penthouses

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Penthouses
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Wonderful, great accommodation (spacious, great views), location and fantastic service from Mike and ESPECIALLY Marisa and other reception staff. Very helpful and willing to please. Would stay again and felt sad when time came to depart. Thanks

Room Tip: I preferred the views better from Level 1 than Level 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ledalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    16
    1
    0
    5
See reviews for
34
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I just stayed here with 5 friends for 10 nights, we chose this place mainly for the location and price, we are so glad we did, the views were amazing, even on not so nice days, a bus stop directly out the front with busses to Surfers paradise, Oasis Pacific fair and more.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, They got us into our apartment several hours before check in opened, it was also easy to get a late check out.
The apartment was clean and had everything you would need on a holiday, the beds were very comfortable.
The spa and pool were always clean and heated, not too hot or cold.

I would definitely stay here again, we have already started to talk about planning ou. next trip

Room Tip: request a room higher up as you do not want to miss the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BravoCharlie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We have just returned to the UK after our trip to Australia, this is the place to stay, what a wonderful view every morning you wake up. The staff were exceptional, Marisa could not have been more helpful. Everything was as it was stated. If your going here, just round the corner there is a pub called Darcys which does excellent food. Would I go back YES PLEASE. The swimming pool was being renewed but the pool in front (pacific sea) was brill.

Room Tip: Go for room 32 you will not regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leca2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
141 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just spent a week in a 3 bedroom apartment #29, have stayed previously a year or two a go. I have to agree with some comments that the apartment was generally clean but not spotless.
We had trouble with the oven reported it to reception and we were offered another apartment but were happy for someone to fix it the next day.
Plenty of hot water etc and the view was to die for.

Room Tip: Room as high as possible and on the beach side rather than river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T1NT1N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

i hate it very much. all of us just felt very uncomfortable at the room. life terrible sometimes suddenly stopped and no lights. made us feel to live in a ghost hotel. horrible. we will not and never come back. the rooms was dirty, dusty and especially the floor was very dirty and staff not helpful and always disappeared at the reception. i will tell all of my mates not choose the penthouses to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betterme8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I just came back from my trip of 1-6may 2013. Stayed at the penthouses... Rooms were large. The master bedroom and living room had a balcony.And the view was awesome! Toilets were clean

.but the masterbedroom was a bit dusty.. n we found some ice cream n rotten food in the kitchen area.so we threw it away. Lots of spider webs. N there were 2 of the days i found a baby spider on my pillow and a bed bug on my bed.lucky i saw it n disposed it. im quite sentitive to dust so some rashes appeared.Other than that it was fine.

There are no cleaning ladies to change ur bedsheets or clean up the apartment.so expect to use the same sheets for the whole week. The rooms was already cool and we didnt even have to on the fans. Dishwashing liquids n sponge, kitchen utensils are all provided..The water heater was great for hot showers.
Beach is right out front..

I was glad i took the unlimited bus pass for 95aud..as i feel that walking to surfers is quite a distance, especially for those who cant walk much...
At night it was really cold. So bring those extra socks

The frontdesk lady is not around early in the morning and at night.they will give u a passcode to key in to enter...

As i checked out early as 5.30am in the morning, the keys are to be put in the safe at the frontdesk area.as nobody is around. So i suggest that u pay the balance upon checking in as there will no one at the frontdesk if u have to check out as early as i did.

Overall the stay was great and i enjoyed myself. But i will try out another hotel or apartment the next time. Thank u the penthouses... and thanks to marissa who has been helpful in all of our enquiries.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank angelicfury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waitakere, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The manager Marisa is wonderful, so helpful and friendly! The apartment was huge. We stayed 9 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment which was big and spacious. Perfect for families with kids gives you a break from been in each others face. Will be staying here again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.9 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,059 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,070 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorchester on the Beach
Dorchester on the Beach
#24 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#5 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,503 reviews
0.1 mi away
Emerald Sands
Emerald Sands
#29 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
BreakFree Acapulco
BreakFree Acapulco
#20 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penthouses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penthouses

Property: The Penthouses
Address: 20 Old Burleigh Rd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Penthouses 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Penthouses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Penthouses Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing