We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most disgusting, filthy accommodation I have ever stayed in.”
Review of Surfers Tropique

Surfers Tropique
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Surfers Tropique
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Most disgusting, filthy accommodation I have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 3 January 2011

My husband, 4 year old and 8 month old stayed in this hotel for one night and were appalled by how filthy our room was. The lighting was so dim, it seemed as though they were trying to hide the dirt. None of the doors or windows opened on to the balconies on either side so it was suffocating. The bathrooms were filthy, brown marks in the bath and jandals/flip flops/thongs were a necessity when showering. The rangehood was dripping with grease and weevil dirt. My husband opened the dishwasher and almost passed out from the stench. The dryer didn't work so we had the use of the one in the next room, which was to our surprise a lot cleaner but still not perfect (wonder why we got a dirty room?). I couldn't believe they would rent this room to people with children, or any human for that matter. I would not put a dog in this room. I have travelled to 3rd world countries and stayed in accommodation costing 1/10th the price and they were much cleaner than this hovel. On checking out we politely requested a discount for the unclean room and were told 'No'. Extremely poor customer service. Avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    8
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
19
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

Surfers Tropique is very well located, minutes from Broadbeach and one street away from the beach. I highly recommend this as a smaller, very well presented and one of the quieter complexes. The self contained apartments, pool, spa and quality of the rooms are all very good. I would not recommend a stay in Surfers Paradise itself, too noisy and not family friendly. This spot is close to the better restaurants, playgrounds and beaches with the Managers, John and Sue, offering tickets to all theme parks and advice on the best spots to go to. Highly recommend for families or couples wanting to relax in the clean and quite surrounds.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cherylann06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2009

even though we arrived late, sue and john waited for us patiently,....the place is accesible to almost everything.The children love the place, they feel that it is a home away from home.Definitely we are coming back again.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grassrootz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2008

We just returned from 3 weeks in Australia and we loved our time at Surfers Tropique!
John and Sue are the managers and they are absolutely amazing! They made our stay perfect!
You can book pretty much anything through them including airport shuttle pick ups, attraction tickets... and some with a discounted price!
We stayed in unit 5 - a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom unit - it is on the first floor and it was great b/c it had a huge patio!
The grounds are kept well and the pool area is nice! Lots of sun!
It is a short walk to the beach and a 15-20 minute walk into Surfers Paradise. There is a Cal-Tex gas station/convenience store around the corner and it is open 24 hrs.
There are two bus stops within a 5 minute walk and the transit system is amazing!

  • Liked — John & Sue!!!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Weslemkoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2008

Great place to stay. Management and staff were very friendly. Close to Surfers, supermarket and all public transport. The kids loved the pool, the grounds were well kept. The room was lovely and clean.
Will be back again best place that we have stayed on the Gold Coast so far.

  • Liked — LOCATION
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank SydneyKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2008

Had a lovely holiday at Surfers Tropique, people were friendly, pool was nice, beautiful tropical setting, it was so good we were suppose to stay for 2 weeks ended up staying for 3 weeks rooms were clean, tidy and good size very pleased will be staying there again thumbs up to the staff

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — i don't have anything bad to say about it
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dee4num
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2008

This place was nothing like the website, the floors and walls were dirty and marked, the bathroom leaked profusely, the mat on the floor (looked like a dog had been sleeping on it), the fans and light switches did not work and our car park was nowhere near the steps we had to walk up to the unit (4 flights). Never again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — The place was dirty
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank ria_ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Surfers Hawaiian Apartments
Surfers Hawaiian Apartments
#77 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warringa Surf Apartments
Warringa Surf Apartments
#64 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#5 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,474 reviews
1.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,606 reviews
1.0 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Tropique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Tropique

Property: Surfers Tropique
Address: 27-31 Wharf Road, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfers Tropique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surfers Tropique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Tropique Hotel Paradise
Surfers Tropique Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing