We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese Restaurant in the Gold Coast!”
Review of Wassam

Wassam
Price range: US$13 - US$18
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Restaurant in the Gold Coast!”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I read previous reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to go there with my family with high expectations. In the end, I dined in Wa-ssam a total of 4 times, each time trying something different on the menu.

Portions were generous, and if you have a stomach for raw sashimi, then this is the place. The servings of sashimi were generous and unlike other establishments, they graced the bento (box) meals with 3 pieces each of salmon, tuna, yellow fin, octopus, etc. For the Chirashi Sushi, they even had double servings of Uni (Sea Urchin) which is expensive. All this for $25 or less. What a good deal!

On one of the nights, I tried the Tempura and the dish lived up to my expectations. The batter was cooked to perfection.

They also have a good selection of Japanese Sake and beer to go with your meal.

The wait staff (I suspect were the owners) were very friendly and accommodating and after 2 consecutive nights, they recognised us when we were next there.

Having eaten there on different nights, I could comment on their quality control and I was impreseed that the cook was consistent and the presentation was always to a high standard.

Taste was nearly as authentic as eating in Japan, the rice was cooked nicely and the presentation of the Tempura was very good.

Now back home, I already miss Wa-ssam and am plotting for my next trip to Gold Coast to savour their dishes again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank d0gbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So much better than all the overpriced and overrated restaurants in Surfers.”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Totally agree with all the reviews before me - a hidden gem on the tacky Gold Coast. We felt like we were in Tokyo! Great food and our kids (9 and 12) loved it too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiMum2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great little hidden restaurant”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Wa-ssamm is pretty authentic (although the fitout and cleanliness is very spick and span). We went as a family group just on opening time at 5:30 - we had a great time. The staff were very helpful with the kids which helped us a great deal so we could order more adult dishes for ourselves (eg made sure the kids were served swiftly, had drinks etc).

The food is great - seafood, fish and tempura obviously freshly prepared. The menu is nicely presented bi-lingual with numbers and pictures so no worries on ordering.

I'd recommend doing BYO before you get there - the wine listed is ok for restaurant, but their BYO charge is minimal so you can save a bit on wine and spend up on food.

A plus - if you park right underneath in Chevron Towers, parking is free with a receipt from the restaurant. Just give them the receipt as you leave the parking station.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious Japanese food”
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We went here based on tripadvisor reviews. The food was excellent.

We had salmon sashimi, tempura vegetables, fresh seafood spring rolls, gyoza and curry rice with egg.


Sashimi was fresh, melted in our mouths, and very reasonably priced. And all other dishes were equally delicious.

Service was great, friendly and fast. highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem, best restaurant in Surfers”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Over the past week we have eaten at a number of restaurants and two really standing out this would be my number one pick and the other the Thai restaurant rated number 2.

The friendly service and great atmosphere of this little restaurant was appealing. The staff were happy to help and you knew it was good when 90% off the people eating at the restaurant were locals.

The food was great quality fresh and delicious.

Don't give up on finding it as I noticed that it had been tagged incorrectly on trip advisor. Find the chevron plaza then opposite the infinity up the first flight of stairs you will find this hidden gem.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank goddesslozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wassam also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Gold Coast, Queensland
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Wassam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing