We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”
Review of Hard Rock Cafe

Hard Rock Cafe
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Was in a good location, one floor up overlooking the street. Price was reasonable and the service was very good with staff that were very accommodating when it came to us wanting to vary the meal choice we made slightly.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve w, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Carolyn A.
Thank you for the great review. Glad you found the service and value for money to be of a high standard.
Rock On!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    874
    607
    284
    99
    99
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little overpriced”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

My family and I had lunch there yesterday. We were greeted and seated promptly and then began to order which I had thought would be decent sized meals for the price, waited about 30mins for our meal which was a drag as we had not had breakfast after a long drive to Surfers. My son was given crayons and paper to colour on which amused him for about 10mins while waiting for food. Food was finally presented(30mins later) and it was yum. All in all there was a great atmosphere around the cafe especially outside :)

Helpful?
Thank Nelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve w, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Nelly K.
So glad we helped to keep your son entertained while you waited for your food.
"When it arrived it was yum"
Love All -Serve All.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Burgers & Nachos with Fantastic Service!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Best burgers and nachos we have had in long time.. A friendly pub feel inside the Hard Rock. Friendly wait staff and bartenders are a bonus!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kym R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve w, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Kym R
Fantastic review. So glad you loved the Nachos, Burgers and the atmosphere.
Rock On!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norah Head, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very over rated and priced”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Visited here for lunch with friends, strange that they are called a cafe and they don't sell tea or coffee, the menu was full of fat and extremely expensive, I would hate to be forced to eat ere with kids you would need and open cheque book. Had a glass of water and left, never to return again. Very over rated and over priced.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sorro63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve w, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Sorro 63
Thank you for your review.
The word Café, from the French derivation, is indeed the word for Coffee House.
We have however been an iconic International brand for over 43 years now with music as one of the pillars that sets us apart from other chains.
Based on an American style Café our food is derivative of American cuisine with burgers and smokehouse items our signature. We also have many healthy meal options available such as Tasmanian Salmon, Herb Chicken, succulent salads and fresh fajitas.
Children are very well catered for with healthy alternatives such as carrot sticks and fresh salad to accompany their meals.
Our prices are very mainstream and this is reflected by the clientele we attract with a very high percentage of families choosing to dine with us.
We are constantly praised on the quality of our meals and the value for money of our portion sizes, by people who have actually tried the cuisine.
I do apologise for not being the Café that you expected, however without actually trying any of our wonderful food it is drawing a very long bow indeed in critiquing us so harshly.
Rock On!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“YUM”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It's Hard Rock Cafe , what is there to say but great place to dine
Ribs the best value , the cost's are a little high but then the memorabilia around the walls is out standing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steve w, Manager at Hard Rock Cafe, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear ChrisSid,
So glad you loved the Ribs and loved the memorabilia.
See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hard Rock Cafe also viewed

Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 
Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast
 

Been to Hard Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing