We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum Yum Yum”

Mariams Thai Restaurant
Ranked #65 of 380 Restaurants in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Cootehill, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yum Yum Yum”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

we just googled the nearest Thai restaurant to where we were staying and up came Mariams. We didn't book just walked in off the street as it was a Wednesday, we got a table straight away but the restaurant was busy and full of laughter.
the food was beautiful, we had curries, beef with garlic and soy sauce. chicken satay skewers and rice. All were good sized portions and very tasty. had a bottle of wine aswell and it was very reasonably priced
would definitely come back again if i was in the area

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bradydarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    16
    13
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South coast NSW
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Located within walking distance of rowes bay caravan park and is licensed or byog. Popular eating house and would recommend you book.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kcandthecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not memorable”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The food was bland (for Thai food), service was slow and unattentive. Bar selection is poor. Not a memorable dining experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kpossum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I've had better”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The hotel's receptionist suggested this place to try when we told her we were looking for a Thai dining place. She said it was really good and that this is the only Thai restaurant she goes to. We booked for 7:30pm for 5 people. When we got there we only saw one couple sitting inside and I've had my doubt already. The dining area is quite spacious & the 2 waiters inside were a little too slow in greeting us, they were having a lovely chat behind the bar tucked in to the farthest corner of the restaurant. Our Entrees of Fish cakes were tasteless and instead of the usual cucumber sauce that goes with Fish Cakes, they gave us sweet chili sauce. The Chicken Satay were not as tender as we expected & the Tom Ka Gai soup was too watery & too sweet. The Beef & Basil Stir Fry was a bit watery & sweet as well, the Chicken Massaman Curry were extremely sweet & too much sauce. The only thing we were happy with was the Thai Fried Rice. When I inquired with the waitstaff why they didn't ask us if we'd prefer our dish mild, medium, hot or Thai hot like in many other Thai places, they told me that all the food were automatically set in Medium unless customers stated otherwise. They need to communicate better with their customers in the future. Even what they termed 'medium' was still way too sweet for our liking. When they tried to temp us with their desserts we insisted in paying the bill and left for a McDonald's Soft Serve instead! Just kidding :)) For Thai food lovers who prefer their food mildly spicy & sweet this might be alright place to try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaLiaLuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Delicious, fresh, and authentic cuisine with friendly hosts. Sometimes the service can be a little slow but it is worth the wait and reasonably priced.

Helpful?
Thank Spygurl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mariams Thai Restaurant also viewed

Townsville, Queensland
 
Townsville, Queensland
 

Been to Mariams Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing