We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & tidy motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ridgemont Executive Motel and Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Katikati, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Clean & tidy motel”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Not alot to say as we didn't try the restaurant, but the room was very neat , clean & tidy. Very quiet with not much road noise, but a bit had to find on the GPS.
The only negative point is the Wi-Fi is only avaiable in the dining area and that is very weak & slow, but it is free.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank algor50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    37
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
43
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Croyde, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This motel is situated at the top of a hill with beautiful views over Townsville to the coast. We received a lovely welcome and the room was clean and comfortable with every thing we needed for our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A very clean and comfortable motel high up above the Strand with good views to Magnetic Island and the sea. Very friendly staff. All good and we would stay here again if travelling to Townsville. Little else to say as we did not try the restaurant or swim in the pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We've been staying at this motel 3 -4 times per year for 1 or 2 nights at a time since 1981. All was good when Jenny & Tim were there and we felt like one of their family - and there were wine glasses supplied & complimentary Wi-Fi which worked in all the rooms.
Unfortunately last twice we stayed there the wi-fi didn't work in the rooms (which is a basic need these days) and wine glasses also seem to be a thing of the past. There was also a cockroach in the shower enclosure in the morning.
Last straws were: No soap, no shower caps, room charges already completed before check-out and we left something important behind which they made no effort to contact us about.
Rooms presumably are cleaned between 10am and 2pm since checkout is 10am and checkin is 2pm. We were still in Townsville at 2pm and could have gone back to collect our important item.
Presumably customers will vote with their feet and these present owners will move on to allow someone else more customer-orientated to take over.
They've sure lost our business anyway.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam_SW7940EQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights when I was in town for work. I agree this place is fine for a night or two if you are passing through town but would not recommend if for a longer stay or a work stay. The reasons for this are as follows:
The balcony is communal which means when others are smoking it comes right into your room so you have to close the windows.

The wifi is very hard to pick up even in the lobby /restaurant area and I only managed it get it working one night out of 5. Not ideal when you have work to do.

The room was dark, one of the ceiling lights didn't work.

For over $100 a night I feel is a lot for motel accommodation essentially with no wifi and no cable TV.

The views are good from the balcony but as mentioned if people are out there smoking non-smokers probably won't want to be out there. The owners are super friendly and helpful and the location is good - walking distance to everything I needed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldoc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A superb hotel with amazing views to Magnetic island. Lovely relaxing pool and very spacious rooms with the family oweners extremely helpful. Set high above the town of Townsville but an easy 15 minute walk into the centre, and 20 minutes to the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Beach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

The best part of this motel is the lovely sea view from the restaurant which only opens on request. We were able to use it for pre dinner drinks which was nice. Unfortunately, we were disappointed in the motel itself. The room was dated and tired with a very uncomfortable bed. The kitchenette had very basic utensils with no wine glasses.
The managers were friendly enough not very enthusiastic. With a bit more TLC this motel could become 'executive' but I feel this is currently a misnomer.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#21 of 41 in Townsville
83 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Chifley Plaza Townsville
#11 of 41 in Townsville
553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Allen
Hotel Allen
#39 of 41 in Townsville
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#7 of 41 in Townsville
304 reviews
0.9 mi away
Allure Hotel & Apartments
Allure Hotel & Apartments
#15 of 41 in Townsville
254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summit Motel
Summit Motel
#17 of 41 in Townsville
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridgemont Executive Motel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridgemont Executive Motel and Restaurant

Property: Ridgemont Executive Motel and Restaurant
Address: 15 - 19 Victoria St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ridgemont Executive Motel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ridgemont is a quiet, comfortable motel with stunning views across the ocean and Magnetic Island. Only minutes walk to the beautiful beach and the city, we offer a quiet haven to relax and enjoy your stay! The alfresco restaurant is great for breakfast or dinner, and the service is very personal and friendly. Come and stay next time you are in Townsville - you won't be disappointed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ridgemont Executive Motel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing