We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four hats”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
2 reviews
“Four hats”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I stayed three nights during the Australian Chamber Music Festival. I was impressed by the location,cleanliness, amenities,and efficient and friendly staff who dutifully took photos of me wearing the vintage hats I located in Townsvilles amazing antique shops.

Room Tip: I like a room with balconey. I always take ear plugs when I travel so noise does not disturb my slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlipaliMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Four Hats

I am really glad you enjoyed a little bit of culture up here in Northern Queensland. Townsville is developing a great reputation for putting on stunning events from the Chamber Orchestra to the V8's to the Groovin the Moo concerts and much much more. I am sure those Vintage hats kept you safe in our beautiful sun drenched city.

Thank you for your review in particular the comments regarding our service levels.

warm regards
Carl Forrest
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    183
    37
    3
    2
See reviews for
64
154
25
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed for 2 night August 31-September 1 in a 1 bedroom apartment great staff, beautiful bed, free internet, very roomy, great amenities and so handy to the restaurants on Palmer st ....more about them later ....could not fault this hotel ....will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Steve F

Music to my ears when I see the words "could not fault this hotel"....the ultimate statement of praise for a team. It means my team has delivered on all expectations.

Steve F thank you and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel!!!!

regards

Carl Forrest
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Stayed for 2nights for business. Hotel looks Like it has had a recent renovation. Very new and well looked after. I stayed in a hotel room which was roomy, and friends had an apartment which had excellent amenities. Hotel staff where always friendly at all times of day, and more than happy to help. Great location near restaurants and bars, and a pleasant walk to the water front. Pool is quite small but still clean and has a good amount of sun. Would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ka7i3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear kai73
Always a pleasure to have a well travelled senior reviewer stay with us and enjoy their stay. Great to see your fabulous comments about the hotel and its services and even more pleasing to see my team delivering on their service promise!!!! Palmer St really is the best location to stay in Townsville with plenty to offer families and we ticked all the boxes with you and your friends.

Look forward to having you back.

Carl Forrest
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed 3 nights as a wotif mystery deal and for $117 a night were not disappointed. Didn't use the gym or pool but pool looked inviting. The staff are friendly. Room service was very quick and nothing was too much trouble. Would prefer a 1 Brm apt next time. The king room was good but the balcony in apartments look a lot bigger.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda24478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Dear Amanda24478

Stunning review thank you. Yes you must stay in a 1 bedroom apartment suite next time. The King rooms are fabulous but the apartment Suites have much larger balconies and a large lounge area to sprawl out in. My team are focused on the guest and their needs and I am glad this resonated with you during your stay.

Enjoy the week ahead!!!

warm regards

Carl Forrest
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed here by chance last time I was in Townsville and made a point of coming back. The beds are super-comfortable and the service and location are very good.

The room service breakfast menu is particularly impressive: everything from eggs Benedict to pancakes with strawberries.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonorou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear Sonorou

I always appreciate feedback from a Senior reviewer!!!! Really appreciate your comments about our comfortable beds and we have worked really hard on our room service offering moving away from the standard Hotel offering.....what other hotel offers Eggs Bendict for breakfast??? Great to see you have tried Jam Corner and subsequently reviewed.....Matt runs a great operation and we are pleased to partner with him for our chargeback facilities.

Sonorou keep[ up the reviews and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back t the hotel.

warm regards
Carl Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed for 1 night after a long 2 days of driving from Brisbane. Bed is comfy and in a great location. Front reception staff are very helpful. Only downer having to pay for secure parking. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mummabek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, 19 August 2012
Dear Mummabek

Nice review and great to see you travel up to Townsville often. You are right about the beds....I think I have lost count of the number of comments I have received about how comfortable they are. We do provide our guests two options for parking, they being outdoors which is complimentary and additional under cover secure parking of which there is a notional charge of $10.
Mummabek we certainly love your support of the local dining options in Palmer Street and my recommendations would be Jam Corner for Breakfast, and Salt Cellar for Dinner or for something more casual then you are right on the money with Outback Jacks.

Keep up the great reviews and we look forward to welcoming you back to Townsville!!!!

warm regards
Carl Forrest
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Got this hotel as a mystery wotif.com deal, the rooms were clean and nice however was a little disappointed with the room service prices because the meal sizes seemed not worth it at all ad the food was bland. Gave it a second chance the next day, again small meal sizes with little to no taste. The hotel itself is really nice, large rooms, and the staff were mostly friendly. We had a room facing the main street and it was really noisy on the Friday and Saturday nights until late. Just the room service meals and street noise let the stay down.

Room Tip: If you are staying on a weekend try and get a room away from the main street, we had bar music and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Rostagno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carl F, General Manager at Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear J_Rostagno

Thank you very much for your comments......room service seems to be a hot topic and this is the first substandard review I have received.....so I would love to know more so I can fix it....please contact me on gm@grandhoteltownsville.com.au....would love to know what you had because we love our guests and we are always looking for opportunities to refine our offering to ensure we exceed expectations.

Look forward to hearing from you.

kind regards
Carl Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.1 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.7 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
467 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#16 of 41 in Townsville
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville

Property: Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Address: Grand Mercure 8 - 10 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#2 Spa Hotel in Townsville
#2 Business Hotel in Townsville
#2 Family Hotel in Townsville
#3 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville 4.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville offers all the facilities, services and attention that you need to make your stay with us as successful as it is enjoyable, whether it's overnight in a hotel Studio room, or extended stays in one of our self-contained apartments. Located in the heart of Townsville's popular cafe and restaurant precinct and just a short walk from the CBD, The Strand and the Marina, the Grand Hotel is an ideal base from which to explore the Barrier Reef, or as the gateway to your northern journey Join us for a taste of Townsville that you'll never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Apartments Townsville Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing