We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean accommodation”
Review of The Strand Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Strand Motel
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Would recommend this accommodation if you are not into flash and expensive motels. The Strand is clean and tidy, great bed. Very helpful owner who offers you a unit upstairs with a view or downstairs. This place is in a great location, shops and eating places just a very short walk away.
Beach is just across the road. The price is also great. Would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abdnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed 5 nights here. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The owner was the most friendly, helpful and accommodating host I've ever met. The rooms were exceptionally clean, the beds very comfortable and the location is brilliant. I will definitely be staying here next time I'm in Townsville.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RietaSw S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 1 night. We found it to be Clean, Compact & Conveniently located. Would stay here again. The owner was very friendly and accomodating, offering us a strand view room or a quiet room at the back. Was also helpful with directions when we were leaving

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lostleprachaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights with our friends from New Zealand it was just like home away from home, off street parking has all you need, yes its old but we loved it. Its close to eateries, grocery stores, & a great park to go for works . The Barbers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights, budget motel but our room was very clean, the owners are managing the place at present and were very helpful and friendly, linen clean and good quality. great location. room 15 has a window fronting the strand and 200 meters walk to eateries and foreshore and grocery stores. off street parking. if on a budget would certainly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beezmilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Had a couple night stay on the strand to meet friends for a weekend of socialising. Right across from the beach it is a great place to wake up.
Staff are friendly and easy going,the rooms are basic and really dated but the location is absolutly awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I have stayed at the Strand motel maybe ten times over the past few years. I have gone with single bookings to multiple room bookings. The family room is excellent with a group of friends. The rooms are always clean, linen fresh, aircons working. The staff extremely helpful. The front balcony is the best place to gather with friends, plenty of chairs to sit and watch the activitys going on. With the beach just across the road, the Seaview Hotel next door, taxi rank outside what more could you ask for. Budget priced rooms are just the right price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytraveller700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#2 of 2 in North Ward
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Allure Hotel & Apartments
Allure Hotel & Apartments
#17 of 41 in Townsville
265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#24 of 41 in Townsville
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#11 of 41 in Townsville
804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach House Motel
Beach House Motel
#1 of 2 in North Ward
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summit Motel
Summit Motel
#16 of 41 in Townsville
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strand Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strand Motel

Address: 51 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Price Range: £49 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strand Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Strand Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing