We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oaks Mmmmmm”
Review of Oaks M on Palmer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oaks M on Palmer
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Good quality, modern hotel in downtown Townsville. VG sized studio rooms, well equipped with kitchenette. Quiet and some rooms have harbor views. Walking distance to restaurants and bars on Palmer St.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrettJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMonPalmer, Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

It was fantastic to hear our apartments met your needs and you found them modern and spacious. For a great meal on your next visit, be sure to try the adjacent Metropole Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again at Oaks M on Palmer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Oaks M on Palmer
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2012

We had a 2 night stay here recently. It was our first visit to Townsville. The staff could not have been more helpful. It was our anniversary and we were given a room upgrade to a higher floor with a great view, and great advice about local attractions. The hotel is sparkling new and the room was beautifully appointed with great facilities and fittings, and very clean. It had everything you need including a full size fridge, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. The hotel is situated right at the end of Palmer St, overlooking the wharf and railway yard, and with views of Magnetic Island. It is a lovely quiet location and still close to all the restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frasncesmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMonPalmer, Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that your anniversary trip was relaxing and that you found our apartments convenient, clean and well appointed. I am very pleased that our staff were pleasant and able to assist you with your enquiries. We hope to see you again soon at Oaks M on Palmer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Firstly the good - this is a modern, clean and comfortable hotel. The added facilities of the studio apartment we had made our stay that much more convenient and it was only a short walk to the many restaurants at the other end of Palmer St. There is free onsite parking and the pool and gym looked good.
And the less good - we booked through a popular third party booking site and on arrival the desk clerk could not find the booking and did little to solve the problem, even suggesting that if my card was charged by the hotel I could call and sort it out later - yes perhaps I could but..... Anyway on checkout the staff were more helpful but as nothing had been followed up it still took some time to sort things out. Anyway in the overall scheme of things it was just an annoyance and we would definitely stay again (by which time they will hopefully have free wifi :) )

Room Tip: There seem to be city and mountain (?) view rooms - given the choice the City/Sea view would be bett...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfterDark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMonPalmer, Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2012

Thank you for your review in regards your recent stay at M on Palmer. I was delighted to find that you were pleased with our apartments, facilities and location. It is a shame that the customer service was not up to our usual standard and I will discuss this with our team to ensure this is not repeated. We hope to welcome you back to Oaks M on Palmer soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Was at the hotel for business and the rooms are very spacious with their own amenities such as kitchen and laundry. Although no restaurant of room service there are quite a few places close by to eat. The only downside was needing to wait several minutes before the shower started having hot watter.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidg777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMonPalmer, Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Thank you for your lovely feedback and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. For a convenient dining option we work closely with the adjacent Metropole Hotel who offer room chargeback and takeaway facilities exclusively for our guests. We hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I stayed here with a room overlooking the marina. Excellent accommodation, very roomy with a balcony and very helpful staff. The only downside was they do not have room service. However right in front of this hotel is another with reasonably priced breakfasts and lunch, more expensive dinner but great outlook over the marina. Up Palmer St are dozens of restaurants, bit pricey but a take away fish and chips (upmarket) reasonably priced and best fish and chips ever. As a single woman travelling my only concern was walking from this hotel a few blocks before all the other restaurants started, it was a bit dark however I had no problems.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina. Noise was not an issue at all.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMonPalmer, Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks M on Palmer. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the facilities available to you in your room and also at the adjacent Metropole Pub Hotel. We hope to see you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

When arrived for Anniversay we were up graded to a Cirty Veiw room which was amazing at night and also given a ninth floor veiw.Great start to one night that ended in two nights away.
Thanks o our friendly staff .
Rooms were narrow but very comfy and impression when first walked in to the room ,was very chic and well presented,. Staff were very helpful and willing to go the extra mile with any questions we had.
Food was accessable easily as on the main street of some fantastic Resturants and in walking distance.Also Metropole out front of Hotel has lovely food if want to relax which can be brought back to your room.

Room Tip: Choose City veiw and floor up higher for overall experience if never been to Townsville and like vei...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksMonPalmer, Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2012

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. It is really great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We aim to deliver great customer service here at Oaks M on Palmer and it is positive to see this reflected in your comments. We hope to welcome you back here next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I was at this apartment hotel for a conference next door at the metropole hotel. The room was narrow but functional and the high ceiling made up for the narrowness. The bed was comfy and the pillows were good. The warnings about accidently setting off the smoke alarms and being hit with a $1300 fine was a bit off putting. I was in a 1st floor room right above recepetion and had a lovely view of a Wall. I couldn't even see the sky unless I went out on the balcony. As I was visiting Townsville for a conference about the reef and coast I was dissapointed to not even be able to see anything from my room. I didn't complain as I wasn't paying but If I had been I would have requested another room or changed hotels. Location was good and it was handy for the metropole bar and restaurant, an indian restaurant and there was a good selection of other restaurants a 5 minute walk down the road. It is not right in town but you can enjoy the Townsville skyline and castle hill view from rooms facing north and higher up. Some fellow guests complained to me about the noise from the backpackers next door as well. get a high floor and all should be good.
The first floor landing seems to be a laundry trolley storage area, which wasn't that inviting. The pool looked nice but hardly got any sun and looked cold. (it's not heated).

Overall it was in a good spot (close but not in town), loads of restaurants nearby, the room was clean, well presented and functional. Staff were friendly enough but not overly enthusiastic. Metropole pub next door was clean, friendly and good meals and you can charge back to your room. Would I stay here again? I am undecided.

Room Tip: DO NOT GET ROOM 103B ask for a room higher up facing North for a view of Townsville, Castle Hill an...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisterw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OaksCustomerFeedback, Guest Relations Manager at Oaks M on Palmer, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks M on Palmer. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the room facilities and the fantastic meals at the Metropole Pub. To take advantage of the views this city has to offer we recommend booking a City Scape Studio located on our higher floors. We hope to welcome you back here on your next visit to Townsville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.4 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#15 of 41 in Townsville
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#9 of 41 in Townsville
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.3 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
454 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#10 of 41 in Townsville
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks M on Palmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks M on Palmer

Address: 81 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Townsville
#6 Family Hotel in Townsville
#7 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
#7 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range: £69 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks M on Palmer 4.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
M on Palmer is a 4 1/2 star self catering property located on cosmopolitan Palmer Street. The hotel is surrounded by lovely a dining precinct with a vast array of restaurants, cafes, city night life and Jupiters Casino. Oaks M on Palmer Townsville features 11 floors of modern, fully self contained studio apartment accommodation complete with washers and dryers - which is ideal for the business and leisure travellers alike. The Metropole Hotel (located on site) is a true Queensland icon which has been reopened and offers conference rooms as well as dining facilities for breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oaks M on Palmer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing