We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable room for a night or two ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Lawrenceville
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Comfortable room for a night or two ...”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We spent a single night here on our way back south from Port Douglas. We'd stopped on the way a hiked around Wallaman Falls, so we got into Townsville fairly late and it seemed our only options were the Comfort Inn or a backpacker. The room wasn't spectacular, but it wasn't bad either ... the beds were comfortable, the bathroom/shower was nice, etc. It's not 5 star accommodations by any means, but it was a good value. I'd be happy to stay here again under similar circumstances.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrEMan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    31
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
26
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winton, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The rooms were dated, the TV didn't work, the toilet leaked, two bulbs were broken and the bed was not particularly comfortable. We could have overlooked all of these things had the parking not been so atrocious and were told the parking works on a "First In Best Dressed" policy. To cap it all off - when we mentioned just the TV and the lights the response was an apology followed by a shoulder shrug but no actual action.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We needed a pet-friendly hotel and this is one of very few in Townsville. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was suitable and fine for a one or two night stopover. My only complaint would be that the room does not have a balcony or verandah so if you are staying there, you literally stay in the room which is pretty dark and the main window overlooks the carpark. The amenities were good and the restaurant had good food. It is not right in the centre of town so quite a walk to other restaurants and shops. Was adequate for what we needed though.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Townsville was just a dot on the map when we booked. Not expecting much our initial reception did nothing to change our perception that two nights would be ample. Perhaps the receptionist had had a bad day. Things improved rapidly however when we saw our comfortable, well equipped room. We were on the first floor although people were passing along the passageway all the time so the curtains were permanently drawn. Anne runs the Comfort Inn on a franchise and proved very helpful in giving us a pointer to what to do in Townsville. She also provided an excellent breakfast buffet even though we seemed to be the only ones present. We had dinner on one evening, again we were the only ones, and this proved to be perfectly presented from a limited menu.
There is a decent pool and sundeck. Parking incidentally was no problem. In short a more than adequate motel to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sippy Downs, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Our room was comfortable, clean and everything worked. It is very close to the city and an easy walk to town. parking however is a big issue when busy. When we arrived (4.30pm) we couldn't park on site as there was a function and cars were occupying many spaces.. Eventually we got a park. On the second night however, it was full and myself and at least 6 other guests were out on the street. There is simply not enough car parks and no way you can reserve one. Apart from that though it was quite good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Des D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas, Qld
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My stay at this motel was over 3 days. Very handy central city location, so I could explore the waterfront just a few blocks away. The complex is elevated, so the views over the city and away from street noise was a bonus. Friendly hosts and rooms in top condition.

Room Tip: Upper level has better view, lower level direct access to vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basketeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
304 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on our way through to Magnetic Island. It was pretty basic, motel style accommodation, but our room was a decent size, modern enough, and well-maintained. We came on the overnight train from Brisbane, so it was an early morning check-in. We received a lovely welcome, a basic overview of the local attractions, and were even moved to a different room so that we could get settled straight away. The location isn't right in the middle of everything, but is close enough to walk to most places, and just across the road from Castle Hill. The shower was decent, and the bed nice and comfy. It would have been nice to have a balcony or nice big window to get some natural air movement, but the air-con worked pretty well.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zanzibar138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.0 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#8 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Chifley Plaza Townsville
#11 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Townsville
Clarion Hotel Townsville
#12 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#7 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Robert Towns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Robert Towns

Property: Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Address: 261 Stanley St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Townsville
#13 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn Robert Towns 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel is continually being refurbished to suit the corporate and leisure market and is situated in the CBD area. Easy walk to government offices, supermarket, banks, fashion shops and 5 cinema complex. 10 min walk to the Strand and its attractions. We are a small motel offering a warm friendly welcome. There is offstreet parking. Unwind at our bar and lounge or enjoy a super meal in the restaurant. Nth Qld Cowboys league club nearby, also V8 track. 13m pool to cool off in, plus kids' wading pool. Castle Hill walking tracks and our small gym, provide you with a unique way of keeping fit. For your security, each room is fitted with a dead bolt, security door viewer and smoke detector. We do have a small conference room with all facilities and our restaurant seats up to 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Comfort Inn Robert Towns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Townsville
Townsville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing