We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Mercure Townsville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Townsville
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Staff are lovely and the lobby and restaurant are nice, right by the pool, which is also nice, very tropical. The rooms are quite old, many marks on walls and a build up of soap scum on in the shower. I was in a bottom level room which was very noisy with people walking past. There was also something behind our room that made. An awful lot of noise all day/night long. We had some trouble with our shower as well, the hot water wasn't working. We let reception know and they said the problem had been fixed and we did get one hot shower after that, but then it went back to being cold.

Room Tip: I would definitely request an upper level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toowoomba_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hi Steve,

Thanks for taking time to drop us a comment. I would happy to inform you that we are scheduling a massive renovation in selected blocks in very near future. Regarding the pool; as we are located in a tropical zone and having an outdoor pool, Water could be slightly hot. Townsville has more sunny days and people come here specially to experience the tropical weather and fresh sea breeze. I hope you will find your next stay more fun and relax in our hotel.
Regards
Kasun Karunamuni – Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (947)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 947 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here for my daughters wedding. Found the rooms dated and small. Bed was comfortable and the restuarent was ok. Pool was too hot to swim in and nothing to really do in the area without having to drive for 20 minutes. Would stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Hi Steve,

Thanks for taking time to drop us a comment. I would happy to inform you that we are scheduling a massive renovation in selected blocks in very near future. Regarding the pool; as we are located in a tropical zone and having an outdoor pool, Water could be slightly hot. Townsville has more sunny days and people come here specially to experience the tropical weather and fresh sea breeze. I hope you will find your next stay more fun and relax in our hotel.

Regards
Kasun Karunamuni – Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

On advice, got lakeside room remote from noise (main road, pool, function rooms, etc) - good move! But shower had only lukewarm water, and bathroom door banged against toilet when opened. Beaut view from room over lake to Mt Stuart.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

There aren’t enough words to describe how thankful we are for such a great feedback, Thank You. In regards to you the issue you have noted with the doors and the shower; I have already passed the information to our maintenance manager.
Thanks for sharing your amazing experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Regards
Kasun Karunamuni - Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Entrance was beautiful! Room was very small! Our bathroom window was next a generator or something it was soo loud, was horrible! We couldn't even close the window to drown out sound because it has been cut to allow in at all times. breakfast the next day there, wasn't nice at all. Food just tasted like it had been sitting there for hours. Also had a crazy lady screaming constantly next door and at the front desk at a taxi man. It was a nice place just nothing exciting.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review. I have noticed you have given us average ratings for most of our services. we are always striving our staff to give best service and facilities to our guest. I am very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience in your previous visit with us; I have already taken this issue to our maintenance manager and Restaurant manager. we have built up a good relationship and name in the industry providing better service to our clients but this is very infrequent and not our general provision at all.
Please introduce yourself to us in your next visit and we will make sure you will get memorable stay at Mercure Townsville again.

Regards
Kasun Karunamuni - Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 452andyr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Maree H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 July 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MercureTownsville, Manager at Mercure Townsville, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
3 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#11 of 41 in Townsville
804 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
2.4 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
2.7 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#9 of 41 in Townsville
499 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Townsville

Address: 166 Woolcock St, Townsville, Queensland 4812, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Townsville
Price Range: £60 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Townsville 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 11 lush, resort-style acres just minutes from the centre of Townsville and only two kilometres from the airport, the Mercure Hotel Townsville offers a tranquil, relaxing choice for business and holiday travellers visiting this beautiful gateway to the Great Barrier Reef. From the moment you arrive, you will enjoy a destination like no other hotel in Townsville. The comfort of our accommodation, complemented by warm, personalised guest service, ensures a truly relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Townsville Hotel Townsville
Mercure Hotel Townsville
Accor Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing