We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Service outstanding”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed here for two separate nights in August, before and after visiting Orpheus Island. On both visits we were met with a very friendly reception. The rooms were more than adequate, clean and roomy. Breakfast upgrade to a cooked breakfast for $8 seemed extravagant however when the buffet offered limited gluten free options. I'd stay again, good location, great reception staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Toscanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    209
    92
    40
    30
See reviews for
100
152
58
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We brought 8 women over the age of 65yr from Sarina up to townsville for a trip. The accommodation was nice and clean except the shower in which i had to ask a room attendent to clean but this was not done. Apart from this our stay at the motel was very enjoyable. The front office staff were very helpfull and polite. The young lady that did our booking, Sharna was very helpfull and nothing was any trouble for her. I will stay at this motel again if visiting Townsville.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Chifley Plaza in Townsville. The staff were perfect. Sharni who was at reception was very efficient, friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and clean. The bed was the most comfortable we found on our entire trip. With the hotel having lifts it made things easier for my disability. It has a disability parking bay outside the front door of the hotel. My suggestion for any upgrades would be to make the door on the bathroom a cavity slider to make more room and easier access for people with disabilities or pregnant. We would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ooipurrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I recently stayed at the Chifley Plaza in Townsville on a work trip and was looked after very well by the staff at reception. Monique in particular was extremely helpful in arranging a late check out for me as well as giving some great tips on restaurants close by. Thanks Monique. your friendly service was very much appreciated!
Vanessa

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ness1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

It is one of the older Hotels in the Townsville CBD, but it was recently renovated late last year to freshen it up. I stayed there for 4 nights and I found it clean, comfortable, convenient to where I needed to be during the day and very affordable. The rooms are small, the windows don't open and the 2 lifts are rattling relics from the mid 20th century, but the bed was comfortable, my room was cleaned every day and the staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: If you travel with wireless devices like smartphones and tablets, make sure you take advantage of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile


The Staff, Wi-Fi and
Dvd service were perfect.
Parking in a new office building one block away was very good.

We reserved a family suite,
wich was like the pictures of numerous Booking websites. The photographer did a very good job.

But the bathroom, toilette, windows the mini area were very filthy. And no pictures of those in any web side.
The bathroom is little for a family room/suite
In general the room is really not clean. I told the receptionist that the windows needed to be cleaned. But maybe the housekeeper didn't here it(??)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lou W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My boyfriend and I found this deal on the australian site "what if", the equivalent of last minute hotels. We weren't given a picture of the hotel but seeing as we just wnated one night, it seemed an appropriate choice.
The lady on reception was very friendly and told us where to park our car and check in was swift. This hotel was absolutely fit for it's purpose. We just needed somewhere to stay on our trip before moving on to somewhere else. Having come from a hostel the night before, naturally you notice that the room is a very big upgrade.
The room isn't large, but the bed was very comfortable, there was a walk in shower and the bathroom facilities are what I would expect from a 4 star hotel.Before retiring for the night, we did want to check out the swimming pool and have a quick swim. Having driven quite a while, we thought this would be nice.
The pool is at a lower level to the reception and it was very small. It was amazing that we both got to swim in the same direction without contact. The pool is very narrow, was not heated and if you, like me expected the pool to reflect the standard of the rooms- well it just doesn't unfortunately. It isn't even worth the trip and is in need of dire refurbishment.
We ordered room service and had a quiet night in watching television. The room service arrived very soon after ordering and was perfectly fine. Breakfast the next day was very nice and there was fresh fruit or cooked items available so it was plentiful. We did notice that the staff worked very long hours yet showed enthusiasm and were professional.
The hotel is close to restaurants and a cinema, possibly even a bingo club. Having not gone out for the evening I wouldn't comment much more but the location seemed good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.5 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.3 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#7 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chifley Plaza Townsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chifley Plaza Townsville

Property: Chifley Plaza Townsville
Address: Corner Flinders & Stanley Street, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Plaza Hotel Townsville)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#11 Business Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Chifley Plaza Townsville 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chifley Plaza Townsville is conveniently located in the heart of Townsville's shopping and business district, just 10 minutes drive from the airport, and 2 minutes to the beach.The hotel offers a range of guest rooms and suites - all are non-smoking with individually controlled air conditioning, wireless internet, TV, DVD Player, tea/coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chifley Plaza Townsville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Hotel Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing