We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ville Resort-Casino
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the experience”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Having read the reviews before my family stayed over the Labour Day long weekend, I was apprehensive of the accommodation that I have booked. The Superior rooms (my room type) have not been renovated but they were nicely decorated and the beds were very comfortable. Everything was functioning including the air-con. We had a room that was facing the front and it was nice and quiet. However, we did notice that there were parties going on (quite noisy) at the rear where the pool was and the lawn that was used for entertainment and weddings.
We had the dinner buffet at the Aqua restaurant. Food was good and the spread was generous. Value for money if you have children below 12 dining with paying adults.
I guess value for money depends on what you paid for and the type of product that you got and the overall experience. It's a matter of tastes and expectations.
We were pleased with the accommodation and the overall experience and will definitely consider this hotel in future.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front with the city view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLYP2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSheppard, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear RLYP2012

Thank you for your review of Jupiters Townsville. I was very happy to read that you have recently stayed in one of our Superior rooms and found it ticked all the boxes. We often receive similar comments from other guests upon check-out, especially stating the beds have been really comfy and perfect for a great night sleep.

We appreciate you taking the time to offer your thoughts about your dining experience in Aqua. There is always a great selection of fresh, delicious menu items making Aqua a popular choice with our visitors and locals alike, and certainly provides great value for money.

I am delighted that you have had a memorable experience and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jupiters in the future.

Yours sincerely
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    296
    138
    43
    28
See reviews for
130
274
30
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stayed in an executive superior room with harbour views and a stunning bathroom. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Aqua's breakfast buffet was very comprehensive and fresh. Minor blemish is the gym which is very old and not up to the standard of the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose an executive superior room, worth the little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSheppard, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Lindsay M

I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay at Jupiters Townsville and thank you for taking the time to review us. Please be assured I have forwarded your comments to our Rooms Division Manager and our Property Operations Manager for their review and consideration.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jupiters on your next visit to Townsville.

Yours sincerely
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maffra West Upper
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The casino was extremely good value for money. The rooms were good, the facilities also great, and the restaurant didnt disappoint with the seafood buffet, and service. All in all a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSheppard, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear 94Bernadette

Thank you for your recent review of Jupiters Townsville. I am very happy to read that you weren’t disappointed by any of your experiences and I am especially pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the overall you had a great time.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Yours sincerely
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed for a night in an executive room with partner for our wedding anniversary. A bottle of wine on ice was waiting for us as we entered our stunning room, with sea views and a bath room to die for! Staff were very friendly and helpful. Aqua's buffet was enjoyable especially the hugh range of desserts to choose from. We were very impressed and loved our stay.

Room Tip: Try and get an ocean view room to see the amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank my3girlz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSheppard, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear my3girlz123

Congratulations on your recent wedding anniversary and thank you for choosing to stay at Jupiters Townville to celebrate this wonderful occasion. I am delighted that the special touches from our dedicated Hotel staff have ensured this has been a memorable day for you.

I am pleased that you loved all aspects of your stay, from the exquisite Executive room to the delicious menu selection in Aqua. I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the respective department managers.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jupiters soon.

Yours sincerely
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The service was very good. The staff were helpful and attentive, and the food in the restaurant was good - not great but good. Breakfast was included and it was quite good.
However, the Casino is out all by itself - there is nothing else here. It is a good and enjoyable walk back to go along the waterfront. And the hotel, particularly the room was tired and getting a be shabby.
I wouldn't stay again until it's been updated.
Look for deals with dinner and breakfast included.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSheppard, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear RedPuffin

Thank you for your glowing review of the service provided by our friendly and attentive team at Jupiters Townsville.

I was disappointed to read that you have been dissatisfied with your hotel room on this occasion. As we have completed renovations to our Deluxe and Executive accommodations, I would like to recommend either room type on your next visit. If you contact our friendly reservation team they will be happy to assist with selecting a room to suit your preferences.

Jupiters is perfectly located within walking distance to the Ferry terminal that accesses Magnetic Island and within close proximity to Townsville’s beachfront promenade, The Strand. I certainly hope that you have had the opportunity to visit these popular destinations during your stay. If not, be sure to take some time on your next visit, I am certain you will not be disappointed.

Thank you once again for your review and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jupiters when you next visit Townsville.

Yours sincerely
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at Jupiters for aour annual family break over Easter. Found the place very family friendly and extremely enjoyable stay. I would rate this place as 5*. The reception was great. The food was excellent. We tried all different restaurants. Even the Spin Cafe staff delivered our food to the pool so that we could enjoy swim and very reasonably priced dinner in our own comfort. (Spin cafe does not allow children so this was very welcome.) The casino staff were also very welcoming. The views were excellent. The management were very understanding. Overall, our stay there was super and we are returning there for our next break.

Room Tip: If you have family, go for the apartment as you can cook or the suite as it is much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSheppard, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Sam R

Thank you for taking the time to review Jupiters Townsville. I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed everything about your stay and that our attentive and friendly team have made helped to make your holiday memorable.

As you have mentioned, Spin Café is located within our Casino and therefore is restricted to persons over 18. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal poolside so that the whole family was able to sample the delicious meals available from Spin. I will be sure to pass on your compliments of the quality of our restaurants to our Food & Beverage management team.

Sam, I am delighted to read that you will return on your next family holiday and we look forward to being a part of your memorable holiday moments.

Yours sincerely
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

They've updated the rooms since I last stayed and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the renovations. Bathrooms were nice and modern and most importantly clean. The beds were comfortable and if you got a room on the ocean side overlooking magnetic island the aspect is fantastic. Only thing to be aware of is the first floor is called floor 10 so don't expect nice ocean views if you have floors 10,11,12 as it's really floors 1,2,3 etc. The views from the higher floors are great though. My 4 year old absolutely loved the pool. Only issue we had with the hotel was the room service food was pretty ordinary so I will eat out next time.

Room Tip: Ask from a high floor. Ignore the actual numbers as the first floor they call flood 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 415GerardC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSheppard, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear Gerard

Welcome back to Jupiters Townsville. I am so pleased that we have exceeded your expectations on this return visit. It is always wonderful to receive such positive feedback in respect to the refurbishments that we have completed to our Deluxe and Executive accommodations levels.

I have to agree with you, the uninterrupted view to Magnetic Island from our Executive accommodation levels is exquisite.

I was disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your room service meal. I always invite our guests to bring any concerns to the attention of our team, so that they may be able to assist, to ensure you enjoy every aspect of your stay. Please be assured I have forwarded your comments on to our Food & Beverage management team for their review and consideration.

Gerard, should you prefer to enjoy breakfast in a restaurant setting, I highly recommend our buffet restaurant, Aqua. It is open 7 days, for breakfast and dinner.

Thank you for taking the time to review Jupiters and I hope we will have the pleasure of having your family stay with us soon.

Yours sincerely
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.7 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#8 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#10 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#1 of 2 in North Ward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ville Resort-Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ville Resort-Casino

Property: The Ville Resort-Casino
Address: Sir Leslie Thiess Drive, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Jupiters Townsville Hotel & Casino)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#6 Business Hotel in Townsville
#7 Family Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ville Resort-Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is currently undergoing a $35 million redevelopment. Extensive works to the property may include noise and closure or relocation of some facilities. These may include the Hotel and Casino entrance and restaurants. Please note that the hotel pool and rear lawns are currently closed during construction. The stunning results of these upgrades will include an infinity-edge pool with swim-up bar and private cabanas, new functions/events areas as well as new restaurants, bars and extensive decking – all with views to Magnetic Island. General construction works are restricted between 7am - 6.30pm Monday through to Saturday, with noisy works being restricted to the hours of 9am – 5pm. The Ville Resort - Casino is superbly located on the Townsville breakwater and overlooks magnificent Magnetic Island, the Coral Sea and Townsville City. The property is within walking distance of the Magnetic Island Ferry terminal, the CBD, the restaurant precincts of Palmer and Flinders Streets and Townsville's award-winning beachfront, The Strand. There is so much to do - so much to see in Townsville and The Ville is a "hot spot" for lifestyle and holidaying in the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ville Resort-Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiters Townsville Hotel Townsville
Jupiters Townsville Hotel And Casino
Jupiters Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing