We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old & tired, but staff were very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ville Resort-Casino
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This hotel hasn't changed in the almost 30 years since it opened. The hotel and the rooms are very rundown and out-of-date - not helped by very few guests.

However, the service was very good, the staff were extraordinarily friendly, the breakfast was good and the room was comfortable even if outdated. The location on the water at the marina is picturesque but a bit out of the way for downtown.

With a refurbishment and makeover, it could be a very nice hotel - as long as they get rid of the awful casino just off the lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2,093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSheppard, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear 2093

It is wonderful to read that our friendly and attentive team members have been a highlight of your stay. However, it is most regretful we have not met all of your expectations.

I am disappointed to read that you have not liked the décor in your room. While our Superior accommodation levels remain classically styled, we have recently completed refurbishments to our Deluxe and Executive accommodation levels. I am pleased, that overall, you have enjoyed a comfortable stay.

Jupiters Townsville enjoys beautiful surroundings with views across to Magnetic Island and within a short walk to the ferry terminal, offering convenience for our guests wishing to take a short ferry ride to the Island or access to the city bus service. We are also within close proximity to The Strand, Townsville’s icon beach promenade and less than 1.5kms to the CBD. It is therefore disappointing that you have not found our location to best suit your preferences.

I appreciate that you have taken the time to review Jupiters and please be assured I have forwarded your comments to the respective department managers for their knowledge.

Yours sincerely
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

This hotel is an absolute dump. It is run down, old and in terrible need of renovation. In the middle of the night some locals decided to run up and down the halls bashing on doors to wake people. My guess is drunks from the casino down stairs. The air conditioner doesn't work properly it is either ice cold like the arctic or boiling hot like the desert and nothing in between. The electronic safe in the room randomly beeped all night as it's faulty (started beeping around midnight) rang reception and basically got told tough put up with it. It is so loud it's head of the TV. The TV remote only works from 10cm of the tv which means it's useless to try change channels in bed, the Channels are basic free to air and a few sports channels. No pay tv entertainment channels like fox8.

So disappointed with the Jupiters as it is suppose to be a premium hotel.

I will never stay again

Room Tip: Choose an executive room only and ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Extremeaudiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSheppard, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Extremeaudiowa

Your feedback has been taken seriously and I have forwarded your comments to our Hotel Rooms Division Manager for his knowledge. I am terribly disappointed if this has been your experience as it is certainly not indicative of the level of customer service and experience that we are committed to providing.

Please be assured, we are highly committed to responding to any concerns our guests have. In the circumstance of excess noise created in the hallways, our guests can contact our reception team at any time, so that we can respond to ensure the disruption is stopped.
I am disappointed to read that you had difficulties with functionality of some equipment in you room. Please be assured our team are committed to responding to such circumstances as quickly as possible and will also seek to find solutions to ensure the comfort of our guests. It is therefore most regretful that this has not been possible during your stay.

I appreciate that you have taken the time to tell us about your experience, although it is disheartening that your experience has left you disappointed and for this we apologise.

Yours sincerely
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We had an upgraded executive room room with fabulous views of the pool and the sea. The room was lovely bathroom was fabulous. Excellent reception service. Thanks for the bubbly to celebrate a special birthday!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 444Lindaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSheppard, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear 444Lindaj

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. It is wonderful to read we have made your birthday celebration all the more special while staying with us. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jupiters Townsville once again.

Yours sincerely
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a stop over to Cairns. It was my partner's birthday trip and we were treated fantastically. When we arrived. The staff were kind and courteous.
Our room was brilliant. We stayed on the 19 floor that overlooked the ocean. Rain shower, amazing bath and one of the most comfy beds I've ever stayed in. If it wasn't for our Cairns commitments, we would have stayed another day. The doona was big enough to cover both of us (we're both tall and quit the doona hogs).
Bar staff were lovely and knowledgable. Hotel was quiet for us at night despite a party being held downstairs, we received none of the residual noise.
As we had to hit the road early, we headed down to breakfast 20 mins before it opened. The chefs and wait staff were super organised and already had most of it ready to go. We were able to chow down (try the fruit - amazing quality) and be out on the road in time. No waiting. And! They have a pancake machine!! Yum!!!
We will be back and gifting some nights for our family up there. So professional and a wonderful start to our holiday. Thank you!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank A_Moose123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSheppard, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear A_Mosse123

I was delighted to read your review of Jupiters Townsville after your recent visit and I am pleased that you have loved your stay. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the respective department managers so they may share your commendations with our team.

Thank you for taking the time to review so many aspects of your stay. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Townsville and hope that we will also have the opportunity to welcome your family.

Yours sincerely
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed on the 19th floor. Lovely views across to the island and out over Cleveland Bay. Room was a good size and more than adequate for a short stay. Jupiters is walking distance to Magnetic island ferry and the entertainment centre. There is also the Pier restaurant writhing walking distance. Dining options are Kobe, Spin Cafe & Aqua. The buffet at Aqua is plentiful, fresh and there is good variety. For the $40ish each for myself and husband, we probably should have eaten at Kobe? Would have been cheaper for us. This is not a criticism of Aqua, however, one of the other options at Jupiters would have been cheaper. The room was clean and comfortable. Appointed with everything you would expect, flat screen with good reception, free wifi- but it is painfully slow, mini bar, good sized hanging space. Bathroom is small, but functional, nice bath that you can see from the room, unless you use the remote controlled blind- nice touch. Air con was a little cool on arrival, but you can control the temp, 24 is comfortable. Staff are very friendly, a little NQ casual, but that's part of the charm. Valet parking is available for $15, but there is also parking on site for free. It was the little things that made this nice for us- bottle of champs on arrival with a personalised, signed card from management, staff in the bars and restaurant using our names. All in all a lovely stay. Thanks folks.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Andersonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSheppard, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Andersonclan

Thank you for taking the time to review Jupiters Townsville. It is pleasing to read that the variety of restaurants, our location and the attentive service from our team have been highlights of your stay. Our Executive accommodation levels certainly offer beautiful views of either Magnetic Island or Townsville’s city scape in a luxurious setting and I am delighted that it has provided all the comforts that you were expecting.

I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Townsville.

Yours sincerely
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My partner and 5 year old stayed here last Saturday night. We are due to have our second baby in a few weeks and my partner works away a lot so we were looking forward to a mini break. My daughter and I checked in and that was all okay, friendly and helpful. The room was really nice - we stayed in an executive room facing the ocean, the bath was magical. The problem with our stay and why we wouldn't return is they had a function on that evening around the pool and the noise was really quite ridiculous. I kept thinking they'll turn the music down soon 10pm past, 11pm past and finally at midnight it was turned off and we could sleep. It was not at all the relaxing, comfortable night we had imagined and for $200 it really is bad service. I would have preferred to pay less and have stayed on the other side of the hotel and perhaps had some sound blocked or have been notified on booking and we could have stayed somewhere else. Breakfast in the morning was really good but $75 for the 3 of us is really pricey and after the night before we were a little over it and really more tired then when we arrived. My partner I think was the most disappointed because he really wanted our last break together to be relaxing and it really just wasn't. I wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caseyxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSheppard, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Casey

Congratulations firstly on the expected arrival of a new addition to your family.

I was disappointed that you had not enjoyed your stay and that we have not met your expectations on this occasion, for this we apologise.

As a popular entertainment and events destination in Townsville, Jupiters regularly hosts private functions as you have mentioned. I would like to assure you we are very mindful of the comfort of our Hotel guests and our Reception team are always willing to assist where possible. Our Duty Manager is also available 24 hours per day to assist with any concerns or enquires from our guests. It is most regretful if you were not aware of this service.

Casey, should you chose to return to Jupiters Townsville, please do not hesitate to contact our friendly reception team as inform them of your preferences as we will be happy to assist were possible.

Yours sincerely
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Couldn't really pick any faults with the service and comfort of Jupiters where I stayed for two nights. The Hotel is situated just under 2 kilometers from the city centre, and close to the departure point for the ferries to Magnetic Island. Fabulous views from nearly all of their very spacious rooms, some facing the ocean and magnetic island on one side, and the marina, city and mountains on the other. The staff were all very friendly and willing to help. Three restaurants and the food was fabulous. Good very comfortable bedding and large functional bathrooms. I was able to snatch a very reasonable price for my stay which made it great value for money in my case. They have a fabulous swimming pool and outdoor seating where you can look over a large lawn area to Magnetic Island and a good gym.

Room Tip: Be aware there are no floors 4 to 10. Floors 1 to 3 are reception, casino, ballroom and restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShepLapstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenniferSheppard, Customer Engagement Coordinator at The Ville Resort-Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear ShepLapstone

Thank you for your fabulous review of Jupiters Townsville. It is fantastic to read that you have enjoyed your stay and appreciated the friendly and helpful service provided by our team.

I agree our location offers many benefits, including picturesque views and is only a short stroll to the Ferry terminal. Perfect for anyone wishing to explore Magnetic Island.

I hope you had time to work out in the gym, relax in the sauna or take a dip in the pool during your visit. I also think the pool is amazing, perfect to cool down in the summer weather or lay back in a deck chair and enjoy the sea breeze.

I have also taken the opportunity to forwarded your compliments on to restaurant managers so they can share your comments with their teams. I am sure it will be appreciated.

Should you return to Townsville and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jupiters.

Yours sincerely
Jennifer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.7 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#2 of 41 in Townsville
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oaks M on Palmer
Oaks M on Palmer
#12 of 41 in Townsville
484 reviews
3.0 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#9 of 41 in Townsville
934 reviews
0.8 mi away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#11 of 41 in Townsville
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ville Resort-Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ville Resort-Casino

Address: Sir Leslie Thiess Drive, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Jupiters Townsville Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#6 Business Hotel in Townsville
#7 Family Hotel in Townsville
Price Range: £61 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ville Resort-Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are entering the final exciting stages of our 40 million dollar redevelopment, and as such you may experience some construction noise or closure of some facilities. Please note that currently the hotel pool and rear lawns are closed however there is a nearby local pool available for hotel guests to enjoy. The Ville Resort - Casino is superbly located on the Townsville breakwater and overlooks magnificent Magnetic Island, the Coral Sea and Townsville City. The property is within walking distance of the Magnetic Island Ferry terminal, the CBD, the restaurant precincts of Palmer and Flinders Streets and Townsville's award-winning beachfront, The Strand. There is so much to do - so much to see in Townsville and The Ville is a "hot spot" for lifestyle and holidaying in the tropics! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ville Resort-Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiters Townsville Hotel And Casino
Jupiters Townsville Hotel Townsville
Jupiters Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing