We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aquarius on the Beach
Nearby Hotels
Shoredrive Motel(Townsville)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Strand Motel(Townsville)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville(Townsville)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
City Oasis Inn(Townsville)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville(Townsville)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Allure Hotel & Apartments(Townsville)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House Motel(North Ward)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$86
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Crest Motel(Townsville)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Townsville(Townsville)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (492)
Filter reviews
492 results
Traveller rating
130
220
87
28
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
220
87
28
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmagnetic islandgreat locationwatermark restauranthigh risesmall balconyseaview hotelsea viewgood sizeacross the roadwithin walking distancea bit tiredcafes and restaurantsqueen bedcar parkserviced dailyoff street parkingexecutive room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
459 - 464 of 492 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2008

We visited this hotel over a year ago but just found this forum so thought I'd post this report. Hopefully the hotel has improved and upgraded its rooms since then (July 2006). We booked through a travel website and the photos of the room looked good. Upon entering the room, there was a dark brown mouldy stain at the doorway. There were other stains on the carpet in the room, stains in the bathroom, cracked paint, aircon not working properly etc. Very old and run down. The swimming pool did not look enticing, definitely different that the photos.

My husband went to complain and they said we could upgrade to a better room for (of course) a lot more money. We checked out the better room which was recently refurbished and it did look much nicer but I didn't particularly want to pay a lot extra as I thought I had paid enough. I would have expected that room for the price that we did pay. We thought of leaving and looked at other places to stay but there was not a lot available, so ended up staying.

It was very dissappointing as it was rated four stars on the website. When we told them that, they said they had no control over what other websites put down. When we left, I also noticed that there were four stars on the front door. This really should be taken down.

I did write a complaint letter to some Qld tourist authority following our visit which they looked at but nothing happened.

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank spacecadet02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2007

The views and overall location are the best part. If you decide to stay though, know a few things before hand. Each room is "privately owned", so if there is construction going on next door, below you, or above you, reception cannot tell you when it will be done. The loudest grinding noise, accompanied by constant banging, kept us from napping for an entire afternoon. It was so intense I had to speak loudly to my wife so she could hear me. Not much peace and quiet, and not a very concerned staff in this matter. When asked to move to another room, the response was everything short of a "too bad, deal with it" approach, all while she was eating her lunch behind the reception desk- full mouth of food and all. No apology or anything. Not a rude staff, just a very aloof attitude towards guest comfort and concerns. Not recommended for a relaxing time. You won't feel well taken care of, but the views are great.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank CamandAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2006

Not sure how bad this place may have been in the past, but when we were there, we were completly impressed with the value during our stay. Would have stayed longer, but they were just booked out.

Our room had just been renovated, in a modern and very simple style. We enjoyed our suite. It was very roomy and comfortable, with new bedspreads and tasteful, simple decor in relaxing, neutral colors. The view was astounding. We barely saw the staff who kept our room tidy, although they did a fantastic job behind the scenes.

The kitchen was well-equipped, so we could eat in. They have no in-house restaurant as mentioned, but there are so many places outside, and everything's within walking distance. Each day, I felt like getting out amongst it.

We were right next to a great brand-new bar downstairs, although this could potentially be a downside for you if you're not out late - being practically on top of it, the noise carries until about 12 at night, with laughing and the sound of bottles being moved. Definitely good if you like cars, too. Otherwise, yes - the traffic noise may get to you.

Easy access after hours, although it's possible for pretty much anyone to gain access to hallways if that's a problem for you.

Personal photos are here, including a view down to the bar to give you some idea how close it is: http://www.flickr.com/photos/spam_al/tags/aquarius/

Sorry, didn't take much of the interior of the room - was a little preoccupied by the view. We loved it, and would definitely recommend it or return again!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank renwica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2006

We stayed here in June of 2006. The only good thing about this hotel was the location. It is right on the Strand and offers great views from the balcony, but the room itself was very dirty. The carpet was stained, the counters were dirty with coffee or tea stains on them, and the bathroom needed cleaning. The place really needs to be refurbished. With its location it has potential to be the best in Townsville, but right now is a dump. Would not stay there again.

Stayed: June 2006
4  Thank *&^
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
CAIRNS
13
Reviewed 24 May 2006

I had a fantastic stay at Aquarius, not only were the staff friendly and poliet and more then willing to help us out with anything at all, but the views were amazing, the weather was fantastic and the room was very cosy. It was always cleaned and sparkling before we arrived back to the hotel and we were never disturbed, or hurried out of the hotel when we slept past the 10am kick-out. The staff came and gently asked us at 12pm if we would like to stay another night or if we were leaving later that day! We loved it so much that we're staying there again this weekend (although I have noticed the charges have gone up - but its worth it for the staff helpfullness and fantastic staying experience).

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews