We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great views and central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aquarius on the Beach
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“great views and central location”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

the room was great the views excellant and the staff friendly we found the room clean and the shower was big and roomy good pressure in the shower, the room comes with a microwave and small kitchen so was good if you dont want to eat out but with plenty of options on the strand and all within comfortable pleasant walk along the beach we got the room at a special rate so i dont think i would have paid the asking price of $350 per night so look for special deals but all up would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    200
    77
    26
    25
See reviews for
46
214
38
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bowen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with my family and found the room to be nice and clean and very well presented. My parents stayed in the room next door and their room was just as good.

The view was amazing. I have lived in north qld for a number of years and will never get sick of our beautiful waters.

The rooms were a little pokey, but very good value. I stay in Townsville about once a fortnight and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was my first time here but my husband had stayed before and liked it. I was bitterly disappointed when I opened the door to our room. It was nothing like the pictures I'd seen on their website nor like any of the ones my husband had stayed in. It was our luck to get a room that must not have been renovated. It was a bit on the small side. The bath was chipped and rusty. The toilet didn't flush properly. The hallway was smelly and the lift was always hot and smelly.
The only plus side was the view.
I had paid the extra money to get a deluxe room but it would appear most rooms had uninterrupted views of the strand and magnetic island anyway.
Didn't stay here on our return trip like we thought we would.

Room Tip: Maybe try ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

room was dirty and smelled horrible. views were nice tho decided to stay somewhere else on second night because of cleanliness.Needs a facelift badly. Counter staff were friendly and location was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singleton, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

have stayed at this hotel several times .only once had one terrible room i always ask for the excutive delux room.most room are privately owned i was told so if you check in ask to veiw the rooms first.veiws great veiws never had problems with staff they are helpfull.

Room Tip: definately ask for the delux ask to see the room first they all vary
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

This has got to be one of the worst & dirtiest hotels I've ever had the misfortune of staying. Booked for 4 nights left after 1. The room smells, beds are tiny, unit benches are chipped, bathroom is filthy.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Life really is like a box of chocolates isn't it...we stayed in 1308 and it was great, clean, great kitchenette facilities...unfortunately my husband burnt some very fussy bread rolls and then I proceeded to open our room door, on the upside the fire procedures are A1 and everyone was really understanding...lol. Everyone talks about seeing the poster in the elevator about the gym, well, as Nike says...just do it. What a find, a nice Stoll not even 5 minutes, the facility is huge and ultra modern and you have access to all the Les Mills classes aswell! All the rooms are owned by different people, I had an opportunity to look in another 3 rooms and they were as nice as the one we stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for a recently refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#1 of 2 in North Ward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#7 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.7 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#8 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius on the Beach

Property: Aquarius on the Beach
Address: The Aquarius 75 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquarius on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aquarius on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius On The Beach Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing