We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, but lacking a lot . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aquarius on the Beach
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view, but lacking a lot . . .”
Reviewed 7 July 2007

The views and overall location are the best part. If you decide to stay though, know a few things before hand. Each room is "privately owned", so if there is construction going on next door, below you, or above you, reception cannot tell you when it will be done. The loudest grinding noise, accompanied by constant banging, kept us from napping for an entire afternoon. It was so intense I had to speak loudly to my wife so she could hear me. Not much peace and quiet, and not a very concerned staff in this matter. When asked to move to another room, the response was everything short of a "too bad, deal with it" approach, all while she was eating her lunch behind the reception desk- full mouth of food and all. No apology or anything. Not a rude staff, just a very aloof attitude towards guest comfort and concerns. Not recommended for a relaxing time. You won't feel well taken care of, but the views are great.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Service and lack of peace and quiet
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank CamandAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    200
    77
    26
    25
See reviews for
46
214
38
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Au
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2006

Not sure how bad this place may have been in the past, but when we were there, we were completly impressed with the value during our stay. Would have stayed longer, but they were just booked out.

Our room had just been renovated, in a modern and very simple style. We enjoyed our suite. It was very roomy and comfortable, with new bedspreads and tasteful, simple decor in relaxing, neutral colors. The view was astounding. We barely saw the staff who kept our room tidy, although they did a fantastic job behind the scenes.

The kitchen was well-equipped, so we could eat in. They have no in-house restaurant as mentioned, but there are so many places outside, and everything's within walking distance. Each day, I felt like getting out amongst it.

We were right next to a great brand-new bar downstairs, although this could potentially be a downside for you if you're not out late - being practically on top of it, the noise carries until about 12 at night, with laughing and the sound of bottles being moved. Definitely good if you like cars, too. Otherwise, yes - the traffic noise may get to you.

Easy access after hours, although it's possible for pretty much anyone to gain access to hallways if that's a problem for you.

Personal photos are here, including a view down to the bar to give you some idea how close it is: http://www.flickr.com/photos/spam_al/tags/aquarius/

Sorry, didn't take much of the interior of the room - was a little preoccupied by the view. We loved it, and would definitely recommend it or return again!

  • Liked — The View!
  • Disliked — Maybe the noise on the beachfront... Sometimes it was a little too much, but outside hotel control.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay here and walk everywhere else. Great for people with kids, because there are heaps of free activities for families on the beach.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank renwica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2006

We stayed here in June of 2006. The only good thing about this hotel was the location. It is right on the Strand and offers great views from the balcony, but the room itself was very dirty. The carpet was stained, the counters were dirty with coffee or tea stains on them, and the bathroom needed cleaning. The place really needs to be refurbished. With its location it has potential to be the best in Townsville, but right now is a dump. Would not stay there again.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank *&^
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 24 May 2006

I had a fantastic stay at Aquarius, not only were the staff friendly and poliet and more then willing to help us out with anything at all, but the views were amazing, the weather was fantastic and the room was very cosy. It was always cleaned and sparkling before we arrived back to the hotel and we were never disturbed, or hurried out of the hotel when we slept past the 10am kick-out. The staff came and gently asked us at 12pm if we would like to stay another night or if we were leaving later that day! We loved it so much that we're staying there again this weekend (although I have noticed the charges have gone up - but its worth it for the staff helpfullness and fantastic staying experience).

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 January 2006

January 2006. Friendly helpful staff. Many rooms totally refitted so light, modern and clean (ask about this on booking). All rooms have magnificent ocean view across to Magnetic Island and the location is ideal. Will definitely return.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 September 2005

Having travelled down from Cairns were we get excellent locals specials we were very disappointed in the Aquarius. We were expecting to relax around the pool with a nice cocktail or at least a drink of some kind but no Bar. We travelled up and down in the lift to find the Restaurant which was advertised in the lift to be on the 10th floor but to no avail as there was no restaurant. The decor was old and shabby and the corridors smelt of something I can not describe. The Staff were pleasant. The only refreshments to be had were a can of coke and a bag of chips. We ate out and were disappointed in The Aquarius. Also those balconies need widening as I felt very unsafe just walking out the door. Altogether could be great with modernising as the views are lovely. Traffic noisy at night.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnegie, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2005

There is no way this is a 4 star hotel.

The positives:

- It has great views of Magnetic Island and of up and down the Strand (the main esplanade) from many of the rooms (I was on the 13th floor which was good for that).
- You can see back on to Castle Hill from the corridor.
- Airconditioning was good.
- Well located to the Strand and cafes (which is important as there is no restaurant there).
- Bed was fine.
- Self contained which might be good for some people.

The negatives:

- Needed a paint job both in the room and in the hallway (hallway paint was 1970s green and white) - paint was peeling off the cupboards in my room.
- Noisy - could easily hear next door.
- Toiletaries were basic and hand cream was in one of those squirty thigs you get in public toilets.
- No restaurant or cafe - breakfast is via room service only. It was much cheaper to walk two short blocks and go to one of the cafes.
- Room service dinner from one of the local restaurants called Sorrentos - I did not try this so this is for info only.
- No security to the floor at 10pm with no-one at reception. I walked right into the lift (no need to put a card in or anything) and up to the floor so anyone could have done the same thing. It may be that security comes on later but this was late enough and made worse in that no-one was in reception to check.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Feeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#1 of 2 in North Ward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#9 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.7 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#7 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius on the Beach

Property: Aquarius on the Beach
Address: The Aquarius 75 The Strand, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquarius on the Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aquarius on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius On The Beach Hotel Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing