We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable stay next to the heart of the city”
Review of City Oasis Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Oasis Inn
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Good communication before we arrived as we got into Townsville quite late but had clear instructions on where our room was, and how to get the key, waiting for us. We paid extra for the executive suite but got a smallish to ordinary sized room but we didn't see any of the other rooms to compare. The bed was very comfy, the bathroom was a good size and our room had a small balcony. The room was clean and tidy and serviced daily. The pool area is beautifully landscaped and behind that is a separate grassed fenced area with tall trees and a BBQ area - great for family relaxing in the north Queensland climate. The staff are really friendly

There's plenty of street parking in front of the City Oasis Inn and not much off street parking. The centre of the city is in easy walking distance for anyone who even moderately fit. The view out the back is swallowed by Castle Hill and the twin spires of the Sacred Heart Cathedral - it is quite awe inspiring.

Room Tip: We didn't see any other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saggital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello Saggital

Thanks for taking the time to review our property City Oasis Inn.

Wow, you noticed the view from the back of the property, that's great! I often stop and admire that myself and remind myself that only 300 metres away you are in the main street of Townsville - but from this view looking out towards Castle Hill a "City Centre" is the last thought on my mind!

In regards to Car parking .... on the rare occasion that our car parks are full it's more often then not that it coincides with a busy weekend where lots of our guests arrive with multiple cars for each room. As this is normally on weekends though, there is always plenty of free street parking spaces available directly in front of our property.

Once again thanks for your review and happy travelling

Regards
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

My Dad and I stayed here for two nights. The service was very friendly and although the rooms are compact they are have been renovated tastefully and very clean.
It is obviously an older style of hotel built in the 60's that has been renovated but the renovation has been done well. The pool looks lovely with a beautiful garden surrounding it and like a previous reviewer said, it is unpretentious and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Nicole M

Thanks for your positive review on our property City Oasis Inn

It's great to hear you enjoyed the look of our pool/ spa area and also enjoyed the peaceful surroundings

Regards
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel was quite tired on the outside, with paint pealing off the walls, but inside the rooms were nice to view. There was free WiFi provided, which worked well if you were in the right area of the room, and a small selection of Foxtel channels on the TV. The receptionist was rude, had terrible body odor, and generally didn't know what was going on at all. There was parking at the hotel, but it should have been emphasized that there were only a handful of parking spots. The location was only a few streets back from The Strand and Flinders Street, so the hotel was well positioned. At night, the rooms were very noisy from the other guests, and our door rattled loudly every time someone else on the same floor closed one of their doors. The restaurant was completely closed for both nights of our stay, which was falsely advertised and very poor form, considering we booked this hotel as part of the Townsville Running Festival but yet we couldn't eat at the hotel at all over the entire race weekend. The price was similar to other hotels in the area, including some that we've been to before, and every one of those other hotels were significantly better than this. I wouldn't come back again, it was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank wattostudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank-you for your candid feedback on your ONE overnight stay (your review alluded to more than that?)

What a disappointment it is for all of us at City Oasis to read your review.

I must say after the past 30 positive reviews being posted on Trip Advisor, to receive such a negative and personal attacking one does hurt.

I am disappointed that we were unable to create a positive experience for you but I am more disappointed that you were unable to verbalise any of your concerns directly to us while you were staying.

At City Oasis we all try our best to make your stay the best it can be. Having said that, we are not mind-readers and do not know if there is a problem if you do not speak up. If there is any problems while in house, let us know and we will try and make good for you when it matters - while you are one of our valued guests physically staying in the property.

The young receptionist who checked you in has been receiving great compliments over the past few months particularly for his caring and helpful nature so the feedback you have provided is somewhat of a shock. Although to attack him personally about his personal hygiene seems somewhat excessive and on a public forum perhaps overly cruel?
Saturday afternoon saw several check ins arriving at the same time as yourself and trying to cope with all guests at once has I suspect spooked him a little and thus caused him to maybe rush your check-in procedure.
I am not sure of your line of work but perhaps you have sometimes made an error?
I can assure you he was not intentionally rude to you and am sorry that you experienced this.

Let me state for the record I am very proud of the standard and quality of care and consideration the team at City Oasis gives to our valued guests and assure all our future guests that we will always be working hard to continue to improve and aim for a high standard of service deserving to all even those that don't return the consideration.

Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Very friendly and spotless place to stay. Central to shopping and eating with the Strand 2 blocks away. A short walk to Castle Hill for a bit of exercise and fantastic view with the heated spa being the perfect way to end the day!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Hi Ken D

Thanks for taking the time to write a review and thanks for highlighting our friendly staff; we love to look after our guests so I am glad it shows.

You mentioned Castle Hill....... It’s right on our doorstep and is one of our favorite exercise spots in Townsville. Very popular with walkers, runners and bike riders of all shapes and sizes!

All the best
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This is an old style 1960s place, upgraded for the present and well run. I felt at ease here and that I got good value for money. Loved the pool and spa and doing yoga on the lawn. Interesting to see the original 1960s layers and the simple improvements made in response to the twenty first century. It's close to everything and at the same time out if the way.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Cheers Philip G

Now that you mentioned it, here is a small snippet of history on City Oasis.

You are correct - sort of .....
Work on the original building commenced in the year 1959 completed in 1960 trading as - the Rex Hotel. Two more buildings were added in 1963/64 and the property was renamed " The Rex City Motel". In 1993/ 94 we closed down the property for 3 months and completely renovated the interior and updated to a 90's standard. In 1998/99 work commenced on a fourth building including 20 executive units and a restaurant. The total property at this time underwent a makeover inside and out including new pool/spa and gardens and was rebranded "City Oasis".
Then in 2010/11 we started all over again closed down the original 3 buildings for 4 months and underwent another makeover that would make the TV show House Rules look like a walk in the park!
And here we are today thanking you for your observations and great review!
Time flies when you're having fun!!
Regards
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My friend and I stayed here for the V8 weekend. the room was clean but very small. The shower was amazing. We came form SA and water saving area but these showers have amazing pressure. The staff was very helpful. They spent 20min with us showing us the places to go and marked them on a map for us. The motel is walking distance from The Stand, Palmer street and the V8 track. They have free wireless internet.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank amanda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you Amanda for your review

It's great to hear you had a fun weekend in Townsville to watch the V8'S.

You stayed in one of our VALUE standard rooms. We have lots of different room types: some bigger, some apartment style with cooking facilities even a miners' cottage with its own fenced yard.

As we advise all guests, just let us know the room size and price point YOU would like and we will do our very best to give you what you ask for.

I hope you mark Townsville down for a return visit when the V8's are in own next year.

Thanks again for your review
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

City Oasis is what I would call an "excellent value hotel". Although the standard double-plus-single bed rooms are on the small side, they are clean, tidy, nicely furnished and provide free wifi. The pool and jacuzi "oasis" -- a gorgeously landscaped interior, lushly planted with a pool, waterfall, jacuzi, winding paths and overarching palms -- is a wonderful treat. The owner and his staff are wonderfully friendly and accommodating -- I truly felt like a returning favorite guest, although it was my first time. Although the hotel is not on the beach like some other hotels, it is a very short walk.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank many4trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan C, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello Granby, Massachusetts

Thanks for taking the time to comment on City Oasis

Its great everyone at City Oasis made you feel like a returning favourite guest - that's because you were!

Thanks for choosing us as your accommodation destination while working and holidaying in Townsville.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.8 mi away
Oaks Metropole Hotel
Oaks Metropole Hotel
#6 of 41 in Townsville
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#21 of 41 in Townsville
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Oasis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Oasis Inn

Address: 143 Wills St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Townsville
#3 Business Hotel in Townsville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
#7 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range: £51 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Oasis Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Oasis Inn is a four-star resort style property, superbly located in the city centre of Townsville, North Queensland. City Oasis Inn offers a wide range of accommodation styles. Suiting the corporate traveler due to the close proximity of government/corporate companies, and holiday guests as they are only a short walk to local attractions. The saltwater, lagoon style pool incorporates a heated spa and an open spa, as well as waterfall and children's wading area. This is surrounded by lush tropical landscaped gardens. The licensed Sidewalk Cafe and Bar offers a relaxed atmosphere with indoor and alfresco dining. Guests can also enjoy the convenience of room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Oasis Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Oasis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing