We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical paradise”
Review of City Oasis Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Oasis Inn
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2010

Great motel..once the renos are completed the motel will be a fantastic place to stay. Linen is crisp and clean and the rates are every bit affordable. Location is tops and city noise is non existent.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownsvilleBrendan, Owner at City Oasis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2010

Thanks for this positive review! Our major room renovations are complete although we are always looking for ways and new ideas to improve our facilites and service. These rooms now provide guests with modern furnishings, new bedspreads e block-out curtains, flat screen tvs, whisper-quiet aircons - a home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
There are newer reviews for City Oasis Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2010

Excellent, enjoyed the stay and will return again. Staff were very happy with the location, appearance and customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eassistant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2009

This place is a dump. We stayed for one night when driving down from Cairns to Airlie Beach. The receptionist was pleasant and helpful who checked us in but the hotel is old and dated with dingy rooms and noisy air con system.
Thankfully the shower was good but can't say anything else good about the place apart from the free parking.

There is a Woolies 2 blocks away with an ATM. We unpacked and went to explore the seafront which is very impressive with much better places to stay than the City Oasis Inn.

We also had a pretty ropey meal in the Coffee Club in Townsville so it was bad news all round. After a long walk returned to hotel to enjoy our bottle of Sauvignon Blanc in the plastic glasses supplied.

Didn't get much sleep, bed was uncomfortable, if you turned the aircon on it was as noisy as a pneumatic drill and when you turned it off it was too hot so we took it in turns through the night to give the aircont a 5 minute blast.

Would suggest to anyone contemplating staying here to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mickrory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

A pleasant stay was indeed enjoyed with attentive staff, who were not constantly 'in-your-face'. Close to all local attractions/ eateries / entertainment. Comfortable, clean, spacious rooms, including the bathroom. Relaxed, friendly atmosphere all around. You, as a guest were made to feel welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaughtyNorthernGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We stayed in a family suite on a family holiday with our three young children. For some reason our reservation had been cancelled (not by us!), but fortunately this was quickly rectified and we were given the same room we had booked after all. The location was superb, the swimming pool area was terrific. Unfortunately, the room itself, although large was quite disappointing. The furnishings were old, the tap in the bathroom basin dripped constantly. The adjoining room where the children slept had a frosted glass door which led to a large outdoor common area. On the evening we stayed, a group of other travellers set up outside for drinks and smokes, so this made it impossible for us to leave the door or windows open for fresh air. The glass door had no curtain so it also meant that we had light coming in to the room till well past the childrens' bedtime, making it very difficult to get them to sleep. It was handy to have the kitchen facilities, and is walking distance to a Woolworths, if you are self-catering, but for the reasons mentioned above we found it a frustrating experience.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Needaholiday_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We arrived about 8pm and was greeted by a young, friendly receptionist. We indicated that we were keen to go to the restaurant for dinner and was told that the restaurant would be closing in a few minutes. The restaurant was ok and although we didn't have time for a swim the pool area looked really lovely.
We immediately went to our standard hotel room, which was advertised as an April special with 30% off the rate. We found the room quite shocking - very small, very old (70's style) and in desperate need of refurbishment. The shower was just a trickle, no basics such as tissues, hairdryer, a blanket, handtowels, which is standard in every other hotel room no matter what quality!
We feel that this was not good value for money so be wary of the standard hotel room, as the quality was very poor, barely 2 and half star. We tried to see if a better room was available but was told there wasn't but I urge anyone else to consider another type of room and be sceptical of any special associated with the basic hotel room.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

The only positive thing about this place was it had nice gardens in the middle of town. The pool was really a glorified fountain and the "hot" tub was ICE cold and broken!!! Things started off terribly. Reception area was filthy. I stood waiting for over 10 minutes while the sole receptionist passed out pizza coupons to shirtless and shoeless young men. Then, we found the room to be, in a word, DISGUSTING. It had filthy stained carpet. There were pubic hairs on the tile in the bath and long black hairs on the back of the bathroom door. The shower head assembly was broken and you had to hold up the the shower head arm by hand in order to take a shower. The mattress was very saggy and worn out. There were two dinky stinky towels. The room was supposedly an EXECUTIVE room. Not even an Enron Exec should have to stay here! Avoid this place at all costs!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank captaingary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TownsvilleBrendan, Owner/Operator at City Oasis Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2009

In reference to the review by 'CaptainGary' regarding City Oasis Inn, I embrace the concept of constructive criticism. When our services don’t meet the expectations of our valued guests we do seriously look at ourselves and explore ways to improve. However, I do find the above to be an unbalanced view of City Oasis Inn.

Part of the reviewer’s remarks and experiences are of fair comment, but there are other components of the review that are in my view of a questionable nature.

To put the above-mentioned reviewers comments into perspective, the weekend surrounding the stay was somewhat extraordinary. The Townsville region was in the midst of flooding with regular heavy downpours and also on Cyclone alert. Our property was heavily booked due to stranded travellers and therefore our reception area was busy from the constant comings and goings of our guests. The high volume of foot traffic combined with the heavy rain made it difficult to keep our office floor clean and dry. My busy staff were fully aware of the problem but under the circumstances could not keep the floor (white tiles) in a pristine condition which is our normal requirement.

I am not quite sure what the problem our reviewer has with his reference to shoeless and shirtless men. One of our property’s features is our pool, spa and recreation area. We encourage our guests to use our facilities in casual enjoyment and quite often we have guests call into our reception area needing assistance for one thing or another. If they come from our pool area we do not insist that they dress formally to enter our office space, in fact I don’t know of any hotels or resorts that would insist their guests change from casual attire before entering the reception area.

In reference to our pool being a ‘glorified fountain’ we are very proud of our lagoon style pool with 2 spas surrounded by awarding winning gardens. Generally speaking it is this area that receives most positive comments, so it is with great surprise that I have read such a negative review of it.

I would encourage you, the reader, to view our other reviews, visit our website (in particular look at our fantastic pool) and call our reservation staff for a friendly chat. I hope your opinion and exposure to City Oasis Inn will be in stark contrast to that of the comments made. I can guarantee if you visit, they certainly will!

Regards,



Brendan Carter
Owner/Manager – City Oasis Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
1.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#9 of 41 in Townsville
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Madison Plaza Townsville
Madison Plaza Townsville
#12 of 41 in Townsville
572 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#23 of 41 in Townsville
89 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#10 of 41 in Townsville
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Oasis Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Oasis Inn

Address: 143 Wills St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Townsville
#4 Family Hotel in Townsville
#4 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
#6 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
Price Range: £58 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Oasis Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Oasis Inn is a four-star resort style property, superbly located in the city centre of Townsville, North Queensland. City Oasis Inn offers a wide range of accommodation styles. Suiting the corporate traveler due to the close proximity of government/corporate companies, and holiday guests as they are only a short walk to local attractions. The saltwater, lagoon style pool incorporates a heated spa and an open spa, as well as waterfall and children's wading area. This is surrounded by lush tropical landscaped gardens. The licensed Sidewalk Cafe and Bar offers a relaxed atmosphere with indoor and alfresco dining. Guests can also enjoy the convenience of room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your City Oasis Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Oasis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing