We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overlook the small hotel room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Central Kensington by Vivo
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I am reviewing this from the amazing price we got for 2 nights, $138 total.
This was for the Hotel room, it would actually be the 2nd bedroom to the dual key apartments. Therefore, the room is probably not as big as a main bedroom in your own home. However, as I said, for the price it cannot be beaten and if you want something new, and don`t spend too much time in your room it is perfect.
The building is very new, there is another apartment block being built next door, and I suspect this is why the price is so cheap. We stayed on a weekend, with the building site being closed so definitely no noise issue for us.
The queen size bed is lovely and comfy with great pillows. Very nicely decorated room, the bathroom is quite a reasonable size with a large shower only. There is a large bar fridge in the cupboard, which I suspect would just be a wardrobe only in other circumstances..so very short hanging room above the fridge. There is a desk built in with one chair.
If staying for more than 1 or 2 nights definitely upgrade to the 1 bedroom as there is virtually no room for suitcases, no balcony and nowhere to hang your beach towels.
If the Hotel decides to up the price when the building nextdoor is finished they must look at 1) putting a shelf in the shower for soap etc., 2) provide a bigger bin than the tiny bathroom bin, 3) provide at least another towel rail in the bathroom..apart from these 3 negatives which are really quite small in the scheme of things all is great for the price.
The complex itself is in a quiet part of Townsville, very little around it, but only a 10 minute walk into the actual heart of the city. You would probably need a car from here to the supermarket.
The pool is smallish but lovely. The building is very clean and fresh.
There is a terrific cafe directly opposite, within the carparking complex. Their hours are very generous and have an all day breakfast menu..lovely.
All in all a wonderful place to stay in Townsville, but if you do want that extra room book the 1 bedroom apartment!!

Room Tip: Choose the 1 bedroom for extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kezCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed at Q resort recently with my husband and 1 year old for our anniversary. We got a great deal for what we thought was an apartment that turned out to be a very very... Very small room hahaha can't get over how tiny it was omg There was no room for a cot so our boy slept on the bed with us and we got no rest as it felt like I was sleeping on the floor the bed was that hard I could feel the springs against my ribs but other than the room we enjoyed the pool the spa was freezing cold like a salty mountain spring any colder there would have been ice anyway other than that the room was clean . I would stay again but next time I will make sure we get an apartment.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katnbennpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

There is really not much to say. These are beautiful, clean, modern and well equipped apartments. They are bright and airy and all the furniture and appliances are top quality.
There is air con in the lounge and the bedroom also has aircon as well as a ceiling fan. There is secure parking available at no extra cost and to access your apartment you need to swipe your remote to activate the elevator. The only downside is the location as it a fair walk to the cbd. But if you have a car then it is not a problem.
Definately recommendable

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bazza1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I came and stayed here for the CMC Rocks North Queensland Music Festival, What a gem!

The apartments are large and spacious, and even though there is construction – you hear nothing with the doors shut. The staff are very attentive and helpful. Full cooking, full size fridge and plenty of room for two or three people in a one bedroom. The bedroom can be left open plan or closed off with the sliding doors. TV has plenty of Foxtel Channels. Bathroom is big, shower only (but again BIG), and full laundry also contained in the bathroom cupboard.

Location wise – it only took 5 -10 minutes to walk to the Mall, and Reid Park could be seen from my balcony – which was fantastic.

The only downside of the Kensington side is the pool area, however your able to access the pool at Holborn Tower (Next Door) – so having an option is always a bonus!

I would come and stay again, and will certainly recommend you over anyone else in Townsville.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are narrower than mine was, however have a larger balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Nice size, good location. Rooms are well equiped, pool was refreshing. Only about a 10 minute walk to the CBD. Great balcony, ours looked out over the race track. Only a couple of issues adn they are quite minor, the cleaners musnt have much time to clean as the floors needed a bit more attention that what they appear to get, the exhaust fans dont work so well in the bathrooms and the construction next door starts quite early so a sleep in was impossible but it does mention construction on their website so no real issue there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights for the CMC concert and were pleasantly surprised, particularly after reading mixed reviews on TA. The prices were quite reasonable considering some hotels in town were charging more than twice their usual rate. The apartments are clean, spacious and modern (if not a bit sparsely decorated), and very handy to the pedestrian bridge to Reid Park. By handy, I mean it's a 15 minute walk, which is much closer than the hotels in the mall or Palmer St. Check-in was a breeze, especially considering we were in a group. We ate out, so didn't use the kitchen, but there seemed to be enough gear in the cupboards to cook a meal with. It was also nice to find that there was a hair dryer in the bathroom. I loved that the one bedroom apartments had enough seating for 6-7 people between dining chairs and lounges so we could comfortably sit in one of the rooms and enjoy a few bevvies and a chat in the evening. While the apartments are handy to Reid Park, it's a good 15 minute walk to the mall and restaurants. There is construction going on next door, so it's quite noisy from 7am 6 days a week at the moment, which wasn't a problem as I was awake by that time anyway. All in all, a great place to stay if you're chasing a self-contained apartment near Reid Park.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I stayed here for two nights for business. These are brand new high rise self contained apartments. I got a secured under cover car park in the basement with a lift that takes you direct to your flood. I got a one bedroom apartment, with bathroom, full kitchen, meals table and couch with LCD TV. The LCD TV is great with foxtel/austar with plenty of TV channels to watch. All kitchen utensils are providings including cups, plates, cutlery, pots, kettle, toaster etc, plus tea and coffee which is great. The whole apartment is furnished in modern furniture, fitted out nicely. THere is a pool as well, but being high rise, the winds are very strong making it a deterrent to use. The strong winds also cause the sliding door that leads to the balcony to squeak all night long. THe only other downside of the apartment was there was no quilt, and the blanket in the cupboard had multiple stains. Other than that, it is a great place to stay at a very good price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
1.7 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#10 of 41 in Townsville
922 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#9 of 41 in Townsville
786 reviews
1.0 mi away
Allure Hotel & Apartments
Allure Hotel & Apartments
#16 of 41 in Townsville
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Townsville
Clarion Hotel Townsville
#14 of 41 in Townsville
89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Kensington by Vivo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Kensington by Vivo

Address: Central Kensington Apts 1-3 Kingsway Pl, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Q Resorts Kensington)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Townsville
Price Range: £62 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Central Kensington by Vivo 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the newly developed Central Precinct, Central Kensington by Vivo Property is a stylish serviced apartment complex offering a variety of hotel rooms and modern, spacious one bedroom and two bedroom fully self-contained apartments. The Central Precinct is also home to a new state of the art cinema, Hogs Breath Cafe, Guzman & Gomez and Max Brenner. Breakfast and lunch is available at the onsite cafe. Central Kensington is also a short stroll from the CBD hub, Government and Legal buildings, Palmer Street dining, bars, shops and local attractions. Bus stops at the top of the driveway for travel to major shopping centres. Central Kensington also offers FREE unlimited WI-FI, undercover complimentary secure parking, and free use of pool and BBQ facilities. If you will be arriving out of hours, we will either text you or e-mail you details of our lock safe system for you to retrieve your keys, along with an information pack regarding the property. Property Information/Facilities •Complimentary WI-FI with unlimited downloads •Five minute walk to fully staffed Information/Booking Centre •Situated five minutes walk to CBD Business Hub, Woolworths, Post Office, Hotels and Liquor Outlets •Ten minute stroll to Reef HQ, the largest living aquarium in the southern hemisphere •At the doorstep of Townsville Railway Station •Council bus 50 metres walk from entrance •Outdoor pool with free use of BBQ facilities •Complimentary parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Central Kensington by Vivo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing