We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summit Motel”
Review of Summit Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Summit Motel
Ranked #17 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Summit Motel”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Was great to find out the day we arrived here that new owners had taken over, very friendly and helpful people. They made our stay very welcoming the rooms were very clean and comfortable and I'm sure things will improve even more so the longer they are there. Good luck to you both and thanks for the pleasant stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan s, Owner at Summit Motel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi Suzzanne, Thank you for the feedback and looking foward to your return.
Allan and Jeannene Stone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    26
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
41
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redland Bay, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Thanks Al and Jeannene for a lovely weekend!
The summit will always be on our list for a place to stay in Townsville.
Great walk to Palmer street for dinner and the Strand was Beautiful!
I cant believe its still warm enough for a swim.
Best of Luck with everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan s, Owner at Summit Motel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
It was a pleasure having you stay with us on your trip to Townsville and thank you for your review. Allan and Jeannene Stone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wamuran
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I had been put off by previous terrible reviews about the owner but everywhere else was fully booked so when we turned up to find that new managers had taken over that very day, it was quite a relief. They were very pleasant and helpful and during our stay had already started to make significant improvements to the appearance of the place. The room was very good - nice large window to let in fresh air and breezes. One question - plates, knives, forks, spoons etc. - why no cereal bowls?

Room Tip: Noise can be a problem from 'workers' sitting outside drinking, don't know what the solu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan s, Owner at Summit Motel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi Jo, Thank you for your review and glad you gave the Motel a second chance. We have made significant improvements and changes to rooms and appearance of the Motel since your stay.
Allan and Jeannene Stone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

After reading the previous reviews I am very glad to know that there is new management at the Summit. This is the first time I have stayed there and the new managers had taken over today, 7th June. They were warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very neat and clean. Great location within walking distance to strand, shops and markets. Will recommend the Summit to anyone I know heading to Townsville. Thanks for your hospitality Al & Jeannene. I hope all future customers realise you guys are the new managers and will not be deterred by the previous managers grumpy attitude.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan s, Owner at Summit Motel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi Charlie, Yes the Summit Motel is under new managment as of 7 June 2013. Our aim is to attract local, interstate and international guess to our Motel. Every guest on arrival will be warmly welcomed by the managment and staff and we will endeavour to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Allan and Jeannene Stone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#21 of 41 in Townsville
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Chifley Plaza Townsville
#12 of 41 in Townsville
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Oasis Inn
City Oasis Inn
#7 of 41 in Townsville
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
752 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.5 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#2 of 2 in North Ward
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Motel

Property: Summit Motel
Address: 6 Victoria St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Townsville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
#3 Best Value Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This highly rated Motel offers clean, quiet and comfortable rooms to all guests either for business, pleasure or long term stays, perfectly located within walking distance to The Strand, City, Castle Hill, Palmer Street and Queens Gardens. All rooms offer free high-speed WiFi (NBN), Split A/C, Fridge, Toaster, Microwave and Comfortable beds. The Motel also offers free parking for cars and larger vehicles, pool and BBQ. Smart people stay at the Summit Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Summit Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Townsville
Summit Townsville
Townsville Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing