We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Summit Motel
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

If you're looking for somewhere easy, affordable, clean and comfortable, this is the place to stay. The hosts are wonderful, friendly people who were always accommodating to our needs. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brumby00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan s, Manager at Summit Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel and you are always welcome back. Clean, quiet and comfortable are top priorties at the Summit Motel, with helpfull and friendly customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Summit is a wonderfully family run happy motel to stay at. Jeannene and Allan were such welcoming hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed at the Motel with our poodle who played well with the Motel pooch named Russell. The service was great, the rooms very clean and spacious with an adjoining outdoor area for our dog. The location is perfect, it is within coo-ee of everything you need or want to do and the guest laundry was very handy for our long stay. We highly recommend The Summit Motel and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan s, Manager at Summit Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you Margo and David for your lovely review of our Motel. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope David is on the mend and we look foward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Found the location to be sweet, within walking distance of nearly everything for the moderately fit or an easy cab ride, if not ! Spent 3 nights and everything was fine. Allan (?) the owner was extremely friendly & helpful , with help for the charging of phones/i-pods etc , advice on where to go and tips on restaurants etc. The rooms were of a good size even after the roll out was added and clean & neat. Wasn't the cheapest as price doubles during the V8 Supercars but all in all a great pick and would gladly stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the first floor if you can as you always get a bit more noise "Downunder" !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan s, Owner at Summit Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. We are glad you were happy to sleep on a trundle bed as this V8 Weekend is our peek time and there is a shortage of beds in Townsville for the whole week. Clean and comfortable rooms are our number one priority at our Motel. Thanks again and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Spent a week at the Summit as home base to tour Townsville.
Owners and staff are friendly and obliging , the property is clean , quiet and skirts the CBD.
If there is a problem it is attended to straight away and the rooms have everything you could expect of a motel .
If you meet Russell , give him a pat for us.
If the pool had been heated we would have even gone for a swim :0)
If in Townsville again , we would not hesitate to stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank geoffery c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan s, Owner at Summit Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for the review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on the message to Russell. Cool weather in Townsville over the last few weeks has made swimming a little chilly at the present time however summer will be here soon. Thanks again. Al and Jeannene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Very clean property great location excellent hospitality highly recommend dog friendly
We would definitely stay again great view of mountain at night excellent pizza at Tony's nearby also great fish&chips at Harolds on the Strand a little expensive but great location

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank titch111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan s, Owner at Summit Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you Donna and John for your review of our motel and sounds like you had a enjoyable stay with us. Hope your holiday goes to plan and if you ever return to Townsville we would love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have stayed at The Summit 3 times now. Significant changes have been made since the current very friendly and helpful owners took over nearly a year ago. The rooms have always been spotlessly clean with plenty of space & importantly, comfortable beds. Hearty home cooked meals are available which is fabulous. Nice pool. Very good value for money. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan s, Owner at Summit Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Hi Leith.
Thank you for taking time to review our motel and yes we have made significant changes in the last year to the motel. We now offer home cooked meals to rooms for our guess who might just like a quiet night at the motel. Anything from a large steak to a light snack is available with a little notice. Looking foward to your next visit to Townsville.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This motel was delightful. Very affordable. The room was sparkling clean and just the right size. It was very quiet at night, and the bed was comfortable. The proprietors were friendly and helpful. I'll definitely stay again the next time I'm in Townsville

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Charlynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan s, Owner at Summit Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Hi Charlynn.
Thank you for taking the time to review our Motel. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again on your next trip to Townsville.
Allan Stone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#23 of 41 in Townsville
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Madison Plaza Townsville
Madison Plaza Townsville
#15 of 41 in Townsville
596 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Big 4 Woodlands Holiday Park Townsville
0.5 mi away
Beach House Motel
Beach House Motel
#1 of 2 in North Ward
140 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cascade Motel In Townsville
Cascade Motel In Townsville
#6 of 41 in Townsville
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Motel

Address: 6 Victoria St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Townsville
#2 Romantic Hotel in Townsville
#3 Best Value Hotel in Townsville
Price Range: £43 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Summit Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This highly rated Motel offers clean, quiet and comfortable rooms to all guests either for business, pleasure or long term stays, perfectly located within walking distance to The Strand, City, Castle Hill, Palmer Street and Queens Gardens. All rooms offer free high-speed WiFi (NBN), Split A/C, Fridge, Toaster, Microwave and Comfortable beds. The Motel also offers free parking for cars and larger vehicles, pool and BBQ. Smart people stay at the Summit Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summit Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Townsville
Summit Townsville
Townsville Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing