We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and clean budget stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Townsville Central Hotel
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Reviewed 14 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steve W, Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steve W, Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A comfortable place to stay & conveniently located right on the restaurant strip. Breakfast was excellent & the staff were all friendly. It was close to the activities we had planned as well. Definite value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Samantha T,

Thanks for your great comments regarding your stay at Ibis Townsville. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, and to know that we are providing are great value for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Ive stayed at the Ibis several times over the years. The location is great as it is near a variety of eateries. The staff are always friendly. However it needs a revamp- the carpets are well worn in the walkways. Lots of dents and marks on the walls. The sound on the TV didnt work all the time and required a "bang" from one of the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Lana C,

I appreciate your loyalty to the hotel, and your feedback is absolutely valued.
We are currently working on some improvements to the hallways at the hotel, and are periodically replacing the existing TV's with brand new LCD's.

I hope to see you back at the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Small room that was clean but pretty well worn. Lots of dents and scuffs on the walls. Bathroom was showing its age and bed and pillows left quite a bit to be desired. However with the 40% off deal that we got it was the cheapest in town by far and suited our needs. Free outdoor parking with no clearance issue was a plus for us in our 4wd with gear on the roof. Handy location to restaurants and nightlife. Wi-Fi rates were basically highway robbery. Would only stay here againo if I got a similar deal and just needed a place to sleep.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DJ-Napkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear DJ-Napkin,

I'm glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our Super Sale special. We do offer limited free WiFi throughout the hotel, make sure you utilise that when you're next staying with us.

All the best DJ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank Cassandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Steve W, Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with work, this is in one of the main restaurants streets and walking distance to them all, also tidy and very well priced, see if you can get breakfast included in the restaurant downstairs as that was nice as well

Room Tip: Ask for breakfast to be included
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear Shan 9,

Thanks for posting a review on the hotel, I'm glad we could meet your needs for work. We're always running specials with brekkie included, so keep an eye out for those!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.3 mi away
Oaks Metropole Hotel
Oaks Metropole Hotel
#6 of 41 in Townsville
530 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#10 of 41 in Townsville
840 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#21 of 41 in Townsville
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
2.4 mi away
Mercure Townsville
Mercure Townsville
#8 of 41 in Townsville
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsville Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsville Central Hotel

Address: 12-14 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Ibis Townsville)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Townsville
#10 Business Hotel in Townsville
#13 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range: £56 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Townsville Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townsville Central Hotel is a 4 star hotel offering stylish accommodation in the heart of the city. Located on vibrant Palmer Street, guests can enjoy a range of dining options at the surrounding cafes, bars and restaurants. Townsville's main shopping mall, Flinders Mall, is close by and there is easy access to the city's entertainment highlights. Centro Bar and Grill is located within the hotel and guests may choose to dine or enjoy a quiet drink. Centro is open for breakfast and dinner. Staying at Townsville Central Hotel also offers access to the popular Strand Park, with a swimming pool, lovely beaches, community art displays and public events. Many of Townsville's attractions are nearby including the beautiful Magnetic Island which is just a short ferry ride from the city. All guests enjoy free: Wi-Fi and on-site parking A continental breakfast Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Townsville Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing