We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townsville Central Hotel
Ranked #27 of 41 Hotels in Townsville
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Ibis Townsville is in a great location in Palmer St amongst many of the restaurants of Townsville. I have now stayed there several times. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast is terrific with cook to order eggs and the rooms whilst small are clean and well equipped. The showers are terrific with great pressure and there are hairdryers, irons and desks in the room.

The restaurant is located on the street and opens up for outdoor eating. Lovely in the warmer weather. All of the staff were amazing. I have stayed there several times and they are all friendly, helpful and go out of their way, from the room cleaners to the restaurant staff to reception. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you want Wifi, dont get a room on the first floor - it does not work particularly well. The staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazza339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Cazza 339,

Thanks for the review - it's always a pleasure to read such positive comments about our team.

We look forward to seeing you again at Ibis Townsville soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    233
    108
    36
    16
See reviews for
60
187
59
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A comfortable place to stay & conveniently located right on the restaurant strip. Breakfast was excellent & the staff were all friendly. It was close to the activities we had planned as well. Definite value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Samantha T,

Thanks for your great comments regarding your stay at Ibis Townsville. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, and to know that we are providing are great value for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Ive stayed at the Ibis several times over the years. The location is great as it is near a variety of eateries. The staff are always friendly. However it needs a revamp- the carpets are well worn in the walkways. Lots of dents and marks on the walls. The sound on the TV didnt work all the time and required a "bang" from one of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Lana C,

I appreciate your loyalty to the hotel, and your feedback is absolutely valued.
We are currently working on some improvements to the hallways at the hotel, and are periodically replacing the existing TV's with brand new LCD's.

I hope to see you back at the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Townsville hotels

Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Small room that was clean but pretty well worn. Lots of dents and scuffs on the walls. Bathroom was showing its age and bed and pillows left quite a bit to be desired. However with the 40% off deal that we got it was the cheapest in town by far and suited our needs. Free outdoor parking with no clearance issue was a plus for us in our 4wd with gear on the roof. Handy location to restaurants and nightlife. Wi-Fi rates were basically highway robbery. Would only stay here againo if I got a similar deal and just needed a place to sleep.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DJ-Napkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Manager at Townsville Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear DJ-Napkin,

I'm glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our Super Sale special. We do offer limited free WiFi throughout the hotel, make sure you utilise that when you're next staying with us.

All the best DJ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.3 mi away
Chifley Plaza Townsville
Chifley Plaza Townsville
#12 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
0.1 mi away
Rydges Southbank Townsville
Rydges Southbank Townsville
#26 of 41 in Townsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
0.2 mi away
Park Regis Anchorage
Park Regis Anchorage
#5 of 41 in Townsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townsville Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townsville Central Hotel

Property: Townsville Central Hotel
Address: 12-14 Palmer St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia (Formerly Ibis Townsville)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Townsville
#16 Luxury Hotel in Townsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Townsville Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townsville Central Hotel is a 4 star hotel offering stylish accommodation in the heart of the city. Located on vibrant Palmer Street, guests can enjoy a range of dining options at the surrounding cafes, bars and restaurants. Townsville's main shopping mall, Flinders Mall, is close by and there is easy access to the city's entertainment highlights. Centro Bar and Grill is located within the hotel and guests may choose to dine or enjoy a quiet drink. Centro is open for breakfast and dinner. Staying at Townsville Central Hotel also offers access to the popular Strand Park, with a swimming pool, lovely beaches, community art displays and public events. Many of Townsville's attractions are nearby including the beautiful Magnetic Island which is just a short ferry ride from the city. All guests enjoy free: Wi-Fi and on-site parking. Enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townsville Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Townsville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing