We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of traditional Townsville.”
Review of Coral Lodge

Coral Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coral Lodge
Ranked #11 of 17 Townsville B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 October 2013

One of the joys of travel is to experience different cultures and if you want a taste of traditional Townsville, this is the place. I stayed two nights with my son (15). The building is 80 plus years old and has out-dated decor, but that is its charm. It is clean and the rooms are quiet, cosy, have a fan, TV and fridge. The kitchen is well-appointed and there are tables inside, though we ate breakfast in the pleasant courtyard. The shared bathrooms are of an older style, but everything is well-maintained and clean. John, the owner is easy-going and very helpful, happily storing luggage and calling a taxi for us. Shops and a supermarket are only a couple of minutes walk and The Strand, while further, is within easy reach. In short Coral Lodge is inexpensive, welcoming and had everything we needed. If you need 5 star accommodation go elsewhere (and pay a lot more). Personally I'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichEMOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

I lived on Magnetic Island for 5 years and my husband worked away. We have often stayed at Coral Lodge when his arrival home / flight out didn't fit in with the ferry schedule to Maggie. I love the home away from home atmosphere of the Coral Lodge, and it's so convenient to the CBD, the Strand, and the Palmer Street restaurant strip, and at a very affordable rate. If you're planning a late night out, ask for a room next to one of the entrance doors to avoid disturbing other guests when you get in. The kitchen is well-appointed and the BBQ area and surrounding gardens are lovely on a summer evening. John and Di are wonderful hosts, making the Coral Lodge my preference for accommodation in Townsville every time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylez67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

The Coral Lodge is in a great position away from noisy bars in a residential area about 10-15 mins walk from the main streets. John the owner picked me up from the railway station which was very helpful, especially as it was a few km out of town and not where my guide book said in the middle of town. I was a single traveller but I was given a double room which was very comfortable, there was a tv and a fridge in the room. Washing facilities were separate but fine. The kitchen facility looked ok but I did not use them. The only problem I had with the place was when I left my luggage in the main office in the morning the day I checked out, I went back at a pre determined time to collect my bag only to find the office locked. This was a big problem as I had to catch a twice weekly train within 45 mins. So make sure this does not happen to you !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Very nice pension, close to the centre.
Nice and clean rooms though very small, contain a double bed and a single one.
Proprietary is friendly and helpful.
I'd recommend to stay here, a nice hotel at a very good price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank filippobull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Coral Lodge, the rooms are clean, and serviced daily, the owner John Donovan is a truly excellent host. Located in a very quiet part of town yet only a few minutes walk to the centre of the City. I loved the cosy friendly atmosphere and the community kitchen has every facility you could ever require, along with a dining room and an outside eating area as well.The rooms have TV, a Fridge and air conditioning.The Coral Lodge is excellent value for those on a budget and I certainly recommend this spot to anyone who is looking at real value for money.

Room Tip: I believe that the lodge also has self contained units. I did not see them but when I spoke to anoth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenfromcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Just stayed the one night but Coral Lodge did what it said on the tin. A pleasant sleep , good light breakfast and wifi included in the reasonable price for a change.It was just a travelling stop over but Townsville was an interesting suprise . Would recommend to anyone .

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The Coral Lodge is a lovely place to stay. John is a great host and the rooms are very clean and with TV, air conditioning and a fridge good eqipped.

I can recommend this accomodation!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regoras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.6 mi away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#2 of 2 in North Ward
217 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#10 of 41 in Townsville
798 reviews
3.8 mi away
Vale Hotel
Vale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aitkenvale
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach House Motel
Beach House Motel
#1 of 2 in North Ward
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
Comfort Inn Robert Towns
#22 of 41 in Townsville
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Chancellor Townsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Lodge

Address: 32 Hale St, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Townsville
Price Range: £44 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coral Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing