We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fitzroy Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Green Island Resort(Green Island)
US$403
US$392
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$360
US$192
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$169
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$185
US$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$169
US$150
Pullman
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Regis City Quays(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$117
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mantra Esplanade Cairns(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
BreakFree Royal Harbour Resort(Cairns)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$137
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,407)
Filter reviews
1,407 results
Traveller rating
447
505
267
108
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
447
505
267
108
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean suitedive shopgeneral storeglass bottom boatmain restaurantpool barstinger suitsday trippersouter reefferry rideturtle sanctuarysnorkel gearfast catsecret gardenmain beachpub foodsea turtles
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
892 - 897 of 1,407 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We had a great time on our honeymoon. The staff really make it. A big shout out to
Deb and Kurt in the diveshop and Chris and Brynn at Foxy's. Thanks for being so friendly and for looking after us. The food is great, especially at the restaurant. The seafood platter is to die for. The natural beauty of island is breathtaking. Don't go if you are expecting a Hamilton Island, but if you want a relaxing and unpretentious holiday on a beautiful island. The only real disappointment for us is there is no storage facility at the ferry wharf at Cairns for luggage, so you have to drag it around with you. Apart from that, enjoy!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We spent a night at Fitzroy Island at the end of April.
We were upgraded to the third floor and found the room to be so spacious with a kitchenette which we didn't expect. We had a fold out bed in the lounge area however we had a huge amount of space left over. The doors opening to the balcony fold back upon themselves which was fantastic and welcomed the outside inside! People have complained on trip advisor about the fact that the trees are in the way therefore blocking the view. Yes, they do, however you're in nature. Stop complaining and enjoy the tantalizing glimpses of the sea. We got wonderful sunset pics from our balcony.
We bought some snack food over with us as recommended by other people - great tip and well received. However ensure that you put your stuff in the fridge so that the little sugar ants don't find them. The little sods sniffed our goodies through sealed bags. Reception was very helpful and provided us with some spray to eliminate these unwelcome visitors. Again, remember you're on an island, so there's not much the staff can do. I cannot believe how people whinge over the slightest thing. Spoilt society we have become.
All the staff were super friendly - from the staff on the ferry, the welcome and reception people through to the restaurant staff.
We ate at the main restaurant as the other one was closed at night. Understandable as we are hitting low season. Food was great.
After checking out we could leave our bags in lockers and spend the rest of the day on the island.
My mum went on the glass bottom boat trip and she found Kurt and crew very helpful. She was really nervous about snorkeling and they did everything they could to teach her and put her at ease.
Overall, a fantastic night - we should have stayed for two.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank Grubbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The island is amazing, a little paradise. If the only thing you want to do is laying down on the beach, read a book, snorkelling, swimming, kayaking, bush walk at a good price, then Fitzroy island is the perfect place.
Please consider that the hotel does not offer much extra activities, so if you find bad weather like we did, unless you jump in the water in the rain, then you might get a bit bored. There are only 2 eating options, one a bit expensive and the pub. i was a bit over of pub food after 5 days. Maybe bring some bread, ham and cheese and at least you are sorted for lunch! The staff in both places are really nice.
The tracks are not the easiest so if you are an elderly person consider this. Nudey beach is amazing, but the end of the track is a bit difficult as you have to go through rocks. Just keep this in mind.
A part from this the place is amazing.

Room Tip: We had a room with rainforest view. It is not a rain forest, but it did not matter considering the time we spent inside. A room with the view would have been better but we were happy.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millymix82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and it wasn't long enough for me! We stayed in one of the beach cabins which was perfect for us. The restaurant food was amazing, we had all our meals there, everyone on the island was so friendly and helpful. Would love to come again and stay longer. We did the lighthouse walk and the views were amazing! We did all the available walks on the island which we loved also the snorkelling was magnificent, see turtles everywhere! The experience was deffinatly worth the money and would love to come back and stay longer :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kreardon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed in the ocean view fully self contained apartment, and the adjacent studio room for the kids.
Great bits:
- We LOVED our ocean view room, the bedroom and balcony view in the fully self contained apartment was fantastic.
- Our rooms were really clean, and spacious, and modern.
- It was great to be able to snorkel whenever the fancy took, straight off the beach; this was the main reason we chose to visit, and although some parts were hit and miss ( see below) it was basically as we thought.
- Foxy's Restaurant was fun for us, prices equivalent to our local pub in Gippsland, Victoria, and this is a resort island. I was expected a bigger hit, and worse fare, but it was good.

Nice to do
- The lighthouse walk was fun; a little steep for the 7yo, but fun. It would have been good to have been able to go in, as we could see some information boards inside, but that doesn't seem to be an option now?
- Coming back from the lighthouse walk, our 7yo son was adamant if we climbed to the peak ( a steep detour) there would be a different way back. We couldnt remember, and given his age and the slight difficulty of the trek, thought, best not. It would have been nice to have a sign reminding us at that stage that if we went up further, we would not have to retrace our steps.

Not fab, but not a deal breaker.
- The kids room was the adjoining studio apartment. There was a couple of minutes when they thought they might snaffle our room, but they got over that misconception quick smart. Yes, it was dark, and the view was of the walkway. But it was very clean and serviceable. Design wise you would probably do it differently if you were the architect and you had your time again. We also had to wedge doors open with towels and flippers; it would be good if you could latch them back if you are using it as a family.
- It would have been great if the studio room had the option of two single beds, not just a double. The kids coped fine, but if they were older (they are 7 and 12), it may not have worked.
- We wanted off the beach snorkelling, and that is what Fitzroy Island does deliver, although it was a bit hit and miss for us on day one, not realising where the better snorkelling locations were, versus the beach locations. There is an outline in the hire shop on the resort, but as we brought our own equipment, we only lucked into where we were going.

Give it a miss:
- The glass bottom boat trip was very dear, and a complete fizzer. My son wasnt really able to snorkel as much as i thought, so we booked a gbb trip, $70 for two adults and two kids, and it was very very ordinary. Said son said (quite loudly, oops) "This is sooo disappointing." Barely any fish at all, and I am not a fussy person. Save your money if you have a non-snorkeller, it was awful.

Room Tip: Go ocean front if you dont want adjoining rooms with kids.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berryc2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews