We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzroy Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Small piece of paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

What a great time we had here, we took the Romance on the Reef package- great value, great people, great evening meal, just stay clear of the breakfast, l like my cooked b'fast hot, sadly it was the only thing that let the whole experience down, l'm willing to overlook it seeing it was included but l wouldn't be happy if l had paid the advertised price. The walk to the summit almost killed us but the views were worth it

Room Tip: 2nd floor has the best water views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    442
    238
    78
    63
See reviews for
303
596
51
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I are Cairns locals and have wanted to stay at the resort for a long time. We booked a hotel room for our 2 nights. The room was small but adequate. First floor. No view and no balcony. We kept our curtains closed the whole time because otherwise there is no privacy. But this is not a complaint. My only "complaint" abut the room would be that it was REALLY dark. Almost impossible to read by. The bathroom was tiled in black marble-like tiles which looked beautiful.....but the lighting was very bad.

The resort staff were very friendly and helpful. We were lucky to get early check-in on arrival. And on our day of departure a late check-out as our boat home was not leavimg until late afternoon.

On our first night we ate at Foxy's Bar. Reasonable prices. We had the continental breakfast at Zephyrs Restaurant, this was also reasonably priced. Prices at the General Store next to Foxy's are very expensive....as expected. We had also brought our own food over.

We explored the beautiful island and went on a few walks....the highlight being the walk to Nudey Beach. My husband raved about snorkelling with the turtles.

I loved our mini holiday so much I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissTGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beerwah, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a beautiful get away at a great price " Check out/sign up to groupon deals for up to 50% off" We loved it, just the right amount of bush vs buildings with over 90% national park. Snorkel up towards white rock, we snorkeled with nemo, turtles, rock cod and 40 different patterned and coloured fish. I can understand what some of the people say about the resort staff, they seem to be alot of backpackers in the fine dining and not that interested, however we found the staff at foxy's bar to be great, food was as to be expected at both restaurants and edible. It is great that you can relax, still go for a mountain hike or a long snorkel in the morning then kick back for a 3 hour lunch - cant wait to return. Yes some of the hotel needs little fix ups - but its an island - just relax and enjoy

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tibbakira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Beautiful Island, friendly staff. If possible ask for 2nd of 3rd floor room, you don't have people walking past and the view is better. Studios only over look the walkway or bush. If staying in Studio ask for 2nd or 3rd floor, the rooms in between the stair wells and lift are the best as you have the bush outlook.
We were disappointed that the Theatre was out of order for the 5 days of our stay, we would only have used it at the night session as the Island is too wonderful to be looking at a screen when you could be enjoying nature.
Self contained rooms very well equipped, better to bring food from Cairns as shop is limited in what they sell. Foxeys Bar food was OK, didn't try the restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was included in our 'deal', very good value.
During the day the only coffee/tea you could purchase was served in paper cups - yuck.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floors have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank runawaytomorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Fitzroy Island is a great value for money island getaway. It's in a beautiful part of the world and is not too expensive for an island.
The beaches are nice but a little hard on the feet - so i recommend reef shoes unlike you have hard feet like me.
The first day I was there the sun was out but was a little windy so just swam in the ocean, unfortunately the weather just got worse and rained the next two days limiting my adventures in the water.
The two restaurants offer a good choice - Foxy's is decent pub grub at not too expensive prices, including drinks, while Zephyr's is a bit more fancy. The Duck dish was delicious!
The rooms are fine, a little bit musty but with the climate it's sort of expected.
All the staff were very nice and helpful, though sometimes maybe a little vague.
The turtle rehab centre is a nice thing to experience, and the walks along the island are very nice. The summit walk was closed for maintenance while I was there but I was able to do the lighthouse walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdamH2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Overall the resort has a nice feel, the suite we stayed in was a bit cramped for a family of 5 and when I rang reception about getting an extra bed they never followed it up. Which doesn't surprise me as the majority of the staff seem more interested in talking to each other than helping guests. They actually avoid being present at reception by sitting out the back with the door shut so if you don't ring the phone on the desk they don't come out. The majority of staff walk past without even acknowledging guests which doesn't create a good welcoming island feel. The cinema wasn't working when we were there which was a shame as the weather was not really suitable for snorkelling and would have been good entertainment for the kids. We did do some really nice walks around the island and the turtle rehabilitation tour is definitely worthwhile. Food as you expect on the island is pricey but we bought a cooler bag over and as the kitchen in the suite is quite well equipped with a large fridge and cooking facilities we were able to prepare breaky etc in our room. I would love to visit again when the sun was shining and would hope the resort and staff have only got better over time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malincza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Fitzroy is beautiful. The resort is very good, but on wet cool days like during our stay, there are limited options. Nowhere comfortable to sit, no cafe to while away the hours. Cinema is a nice touch but was broken - could do with an update to a high definition projector for minimal cost. Studio room neat, functional but dark, no view, no privacy. Air con and TV both broken and several lights not working. Significant water damage in bathroom. Restaurant excellent with interesting menu but a bit pricey. Great pool and swim up cocktail bar. No gym. Great staff in resort but Foxy's staff disorganised and more interested in chatting amongst themselves than in serving guests. In summary, great stay in a lovely location but could have been better with a bit of though and imagination.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Mero61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy Island
14.2 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
24.5 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
13.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
14.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
16.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzroy Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Island Resort

Property: Fitzroy Island Resort
Address: The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fitzroy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fitzroy Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzroy Island is a tropical paradise of rainforest and coral beaches within the calm sheltered waters of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The walking tracks through the rainforest, up to the summit and to the lighthouse offer a fabulous view over the Great Barrier Reef. Located only 29 km off the coast of Cairns, the island is a listed National Park and has only one resort. Just 45 minutes by boat, Fitzroy Island Resort offers guests the opportunity to intimately discover the magic and diversity of the Great Barrier Reef from land and sea, making it the perfect accessible base for snorkeling, diving and exploring the reef and rainforest. Ferry transfers to and from Fitzroy Island depart daily and tickets can be pre-booked from Fitzroy Island Resort. The affordable 4 star Resort offers a range of contemporary accommodation including Suites, Beach Cabins and Studios. The resort facilities include a contemporary restaurant, large pool with swim up bar, dive store, indoor cinema, Foxy’s bar and a general store. Discover the vibrant corals and marine life, forest birds, butterflies and the startling white sulphur-crested cockatoos. Create memories to last a lifetime. Pure tropical island magic…. Activities include:- Dive School- Aqua Jets- Mini submarines- Glass bottom sea kayaks- Kayaking- Snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Fitzroy Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzroy Island Hotel Fitzroy Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing