We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was OK, but wouldnt pay full price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzroy Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was OK, but wouldnt pay full price”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We brought a four night stay on a deal site. Was disappointed when we arrived to find they had put us in the furthest room away possible, when there were lots of other rooms unoccupied on our level closer to the facilities (assuming because we got a deal so were not paying full price). We also had a toddler so it was a big trek back to room when we needed to get supplies. Indoor Cinema was not opened for the whole five days we were there, which was disappointing as it rained for the first couple of days. Rooms itself were OK.
I read the other reviews that suggested to take your own snack food which I also recommend. And also take your own snorkelling equipment as this is an added cost (which in my opinion they should atleast offer one complimentary use of to resort guests). Recommend the turtle sanctuary tour. Overall it was OK but I don't think I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    448
    242
    82
    64
See reviews for
312
607
52
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth,Western Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Have just returned from a 3 night stay on Fitzroy Island. The resort itself is gorgeous and the staff are great.

Check in wasn't until 3 hours and we had to wait around (noticed peeved customers daily who were also made to wait beyond 2pm) but we did get a lovely upgrade. Housekeeping were pretty slack, which was the only downside.

The biggest letdown was the food. We arrived last Sunday and took very little (just some drinks and snacks) believing we could buy bits and pieces from the general store, accepting convenience over price (hard to bring an esky if you are from another state)

The general store was incredibly disappointing. Food had 'run out' on the Friday and nothing was going to be delivered until the following Wednesday. We managed to get the last loaf of bread and tub of butter, so we had something for breakfast at least. This was better than paying $17.95 for a continental at Zephyrs. A lot of other families on the island expressed their disappointment

We had a fully equipped kitchen, that would have been amazing if you could find something in the store to actually cook in it!

I can't understand why the resort soley relies on their fortnightly barge deliveries, when there's ferries traveling to the island several times a day. This is what Rottnest Island does in Perth!

The store advertises you can get 'barbecue packs' if you are lucky enough to score one, but how hard is it to have a freezer full of simple meats and other foods that people can buy? why just cater for people who can lug an esky over because they are Cairns locals? the majority of the visitors were from interstate or Europe. We met a young Danish couple who were eating noodle cups for breakfast, lunch and dinner because that's all the general store had left - is that something to be proud of?

We dined at Zephyrs on the first night. The staff were lovely, as was the good, but at over $150 for 2 adults and a teenager, it wasn't affordable to eat there every night.

Lunch was very limited. You could get a pie from the general store (by now they only had dodgy fillings until the barge came in), or burgers etc from Foxy's.

We ate at Foxy's for the remaining 2 nights, but would have loved the opportunity to utilize our gorgeous balcony view and not have to compromise by eating 'pub grub' every night.. This was a little bit cheaper at around $100 for the 3 of us each night, but still a hefty price when you know you could make something healthier in your own kitchen. Even take away pizza would be a simple and more affordable addition for families.

As others have said, take as much food over to the island as possible!

We did the glass bottom boat a couple of times. There wasn't much to see, but at $25 for an hour on a boat it was still good value and a lot of fun. Our son had 2 introductory dives, which we felt were also good value for money.

Loved the little cinema and the daily choice of movies.

The resident marine biologist was gorgeous, enthusiastic and helpful!

If the resort is to succeed, better than the previous resorts on the island, it needs to look at its market. If it wants families to return, then provide better resources. You would hope that return visitors would extend their future stays, but not if they can't self cater for some of the time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freogirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just spent 2 nights at the Fitzroy Island Resort which was fantastic - we were in a ocean suite for 2 adults and 2 children so had a fabulous ocean view. The snorkelling was fantastic swimming with turtles was a most amazing experience. I'd read about the cost of meals on the island being pricy however when you're in the moment you tend to forget so a dinner at Foxys followed by a dinner at the restaurant made an already expensive 2 night stay shoot through the roof. Would highly recommend taking as much food with you to the island to cut down on the food bill. Would've loved to sip an alcoholic beverage watching the sun go down but at $9 for a beer and $16 for a cocktail it was soft drinks all round.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

this place is simply amazing. in fact its a little unfair writing a review for this hotel cuz its not only the resort that amazes but also the island as a whole. this resort is the only accommodation in the whole island, which enables it to reap any good comments that the island itself generates. but let me try to be objective and only talk about the resort.

stayed in an ocean suite, had a living room, TWO balconies, fully equipped kitchenette with everything including dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer, microwave, oven and even tools to bake cakes. the bedroom simply amazes, setting was soothing to the human body as a whole with furnitures with woody and natural feel. the view in the bedroom was just breath taking, huge window. balcony was also facing the the same directiion towards the sea. can sit at the balcony for ages sipping coffee/tea while looking out watching birds and people passing by.

but just like any other hotels, there're a few things which they didn't do very well. the inside of the kettle was rusting and was emitting a smell when boiling water. asked for a new one but took 3 hrs to arrive. i guess its just australian lack of efficiency as compared to asia. part of the bathroom where it had metal was rusting, not a very nice sight. otherwise a very comfortable suite.

room service was manned by working holidayers, which is fine but she was rushing through a bit and only did the bed, just the bed, not even the pillows. the pillows were still dumped on the floor and she asked if there were anything else. bathroom wasn't dried or replenished. she only changed the towels and thats about it for room service. i would say poor room service.

wifi wasn't provided for free sadly, just like other typical australian hotels.

swimming pool looked nice but didn't have a chance to try it as was spending much time at the beach.

food at the restaurant was excellent. had to make a booking for dinner and the seafood was just an eye opener. a bit on the pricey side but was expected cuz there're only 2 places which serve food on the whole island, so they're basically monopolising the whole area.

waters were clear. only a few timings for the ferries which makes it inflexible for activities after stints at fitzroy. but otherwise its an excellent place to visit.

Room Tip: get an ocean suite, pricier than the studio rooms but well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed 2 nights at the fitzroy island resort in February 2014 and we had a wonderful experience. Beautiful modern rooms with kettle, tea and coffee facilities which was perfect as we didn't end up eating lunch at the resort restaurant. (Recommend bringing snacks).
There's a lot of activities to do around the island like trekking, walking trails, turtle feeding, stand up paddle and more! The restaurant provided great dinner at reasonable price and excellent buffet breakfast also not too pricey.. $15 for continental and $25 for warm breakfast. Overall we had an amazing stay here, very relaxing and the island is just breathtakingly beautiful! Wish we could've stayed longer but we'll come back soon for sure.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linbaba12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We loved our time at the Fitzroy Island Resort. Spent our time as a family, hiking the well maintained Island tracks. Swimming, snorkelling and also did the Turtle Tour which was really interesting. Our room was a little dark and musty so next time we would upgrade, but apart from that we would recommend and absolutely visit again!

Speak to the staff (who are pretty much all backpackers), about the best places to visit on the island. Best snorkelling spots etc . . .

Room Tip: The back rooms are dark and musty, but very comfortable and clean. Upgrade to ocean view room if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penelopeobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

It is a paradise island by nature, but the resort is not impressive... We had a family get away on school holidays for 6 days in July and the place was pretty full. It was a colder time, the water was cold in the ocean, and the pool is not heated either. Not much to do out of water, tracks to the lighthouse and Summit quiet steep for little kids, but the view is rewording! You do have to pass piles of rubbish on the way, just after the camp side.
The room was one bedroom self contained ocean suite, mostly clean and had everything for comfortable stay. Sofabed was band and extremely uncomfortable though... The sliding door to the bedroom did not close, it would stark half way...
Food. the biggest disappointment... The resort has two places to eat, Foxy's pub and a more formal restaurant. Menus are limited. Foxy's food as simple as it is, was barely eatable. The marinaded lamb chops were pure vinegar, the "whole baby barramundi" is really a fillet of fish, on a couple of attempts was quite dry. Grilled chicken burger came with black outside but uncooked inside chicken filet... During 6 days and no other option for lunch, we tried everything on the menu, and some things for diner, but the only thing was ok is s&p squid. Also kids menu offers vegy pasta with napoly souse, wich is really spaghetti bolognese,
The restaurant has to be booked for diner in advance, the food is better then Foxy's, prices like in the good restaurant but I had a feeling that all food comes to the island from the catering company, and they just have to warm it up and serve. Or in case of desert - defrost it and serve... No fresh fruits on the tropical island... Some oranges from the store... And some watermelon and grapes at breakfast.
Weekend entertainment - 70th & 80th fave.

Room Tip: ocean side is highly recommended, other wise you will be looking at and hearing everyone on the walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M, Manager at Fitzroy Island Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Olga G,

Thank you for taking the time to review Fitzroy Island Resort.

We are disappointed and sorry to hear that your experience was not up to your expectations. In particular, we are suprised to hear your opinions on our food in both outlets.

Our Exective Chef and his team work extremally hard to deliver an exceptional product and this is highlighted in many of the other reviews you will find in this forum. I can assure you that all meals are prepared on the Island including our desserts that are made from scratch.

We appreciate all feedback however cannot stress enough our desire for guests to raise their concerns with us whilst they are still at the property so that we can rectify them. I am confident had you of spoken to a member of our team about your concerns to our restaurant teams, we could have worked with you to ensure your satisfaction.

We do hope you give us the opportunity to accommodate you again in future.

Best Regards

Tim Moloney
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy Island
14.2 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
24.5 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
13.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
14.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
16.3 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzroy Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Island Resort

Property: Fitzroy Island Resort
Address: The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fitzroy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fitzroy Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzroy Island is a tropical paradise of rainforest and coral beaches within the calm sheltered waters of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The walking tracks through the rainforest, up to the summit and to the lighthouse offer a fabulous view over the Great Barrier Reef. Located only 29 km off the coast of Cairns, the island is a listed National Park and has only one resort. Just 45 minutes by boat, Fitzroy Island Resort offers guests the opportunity to intimately discover the magic and diversity of the Great Barrier Reef from land and sea, making it the perfect accessible base for snorkeling, diving and exploring the reef and rainforest. Ferry transfers to and from Fitzroy Island depart daily and tickets can be pre-booked from Fitzroy Island Resort. The affordable 4 star Resort offers a range of contemporary accommodation including Suites, Beach Cabins and Studios. The resort facilities include a contemporary restaurant, large pool with swim up bar, dive store, indoor cinema, Foxy’s bar and a general store. Discover the vibrant corals and marine life, forest birds, butterflies and the startling white sulphur-crested cockatoos. Create memories to last a lifetime. Pure tropical island magic…. Activities include:- Dive School- Aqua Jets- Mini submarines- Glass bottom sea kayaks- Kayaking- Snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fitzroy Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzroy Island Hotel Fitzroy Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing