We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The resort was ok, was expecting better.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fitzroy Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The resort was ok, was expecting better.”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I got a package which included ferry transfers, dinner and breakfast at the restaurant for two and a one bedroom ocean view room. Was good value I guess when you add up how much the food costs on the island and the transfers.
Checking in was a hassle. Had to line up with the day visitors at the check in deck, so they can get their return ferry voucher. Check in is at 2pm but one ferry gets there at 12 and one is later around 3pm. Some people got their room at 12pm. We had to wait untill 2 after being told we could get our room at 1. Got the keys to our room around just after 2 in the end.
The rooms where nice, but we had these ugly cabins in front of our room. If you where on the ground floor they would of totally blocked your view. The bed wasn't very good. Fans where noisy and a down light was hanging out in the bathroom, shower taps where loose. The laundry appliances where not in the laundry cupboard as well, which was weird. No one took bags to the rooms or anything, which i expected from a resort.
The weather wasn't that good, so I guess I didn't see the island or the resort in its glory. The pool bar was closed most of the time. The other bar was some what old, could do with a face lift.
The other outbuildings for the staff bring the resort down, few areas with rubbish piled up everywhere.
The bush walks where good, be good if you could access the other end of the island.
The food at the restaurant was great. Most of the staff where friendly and nice.
The resort is new, but its showing signs of disrepair. A large part of the resort is not used. Could move the general store here, maybe a cafe etc.

Room Tip: Get a room close the the pool so your not looking over the ugly cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freezy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    455
    243
    83
    64
See reviews for
321
612
52
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here and was very enjoyable though the weather was not really fantastic... This is a little island and I would suggest to join a small Turtle tour which we can learn and see sea turtles under recovery from injury. Also walking several different trails was good exercise and the view was great.
Food was good but a little expensive but this is still within usual island pricing.
Service was also nothing wrong and we were treated very well.

I've been to Green Island too. For those who aren't nuts about diving, Fitzroy Island is the preferred choice, I would say!

Cheers Taka

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank takafujino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We took our 4 mo and 2 year old here with us... Got a great deal on group included breakfast was great. Fine dining resauront ended up only being slightly more than focus and worth every penny.. Food was fabulous. Loads of great hikes and things to do. Turtle centre was very cool too. Have to live the relaxing day by the pool my hubby was taken by the swim up bar.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schatzie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redland City, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Surprised to find a modern resort, with well finished and contemporary rooms. We had a one bedroom self contained room with kitchen and lounge, with a ground floor view to the back of the beachfront room in front of us.
The room was outstanding except for the tropical musky smell from being kept closed with AC on.
The resort pool and beach were nice, the coral sand was almost tolerable in bare feet.
Unfortunately the foreshore was heavily eroded from bad weather.
Regardless even in the in-climate winter weather we had for our stay, it was lovely in the water and the nearby snorkeling was very lovely.
It is a 45min boat transfer each way, and if you don't travel in boats well, take precautions for motion sickness in bad weather.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a studio which was great but lacked a view. It was really clean had a powerful shower. It also had an air conditioner and overhead fan. We went on the glass bottom boat to look at the coral and that was good. The turtle rehab tour was exceptional. We dined at Foxys which was good. They gave us a huge fish each. If you want fine dining go to zephyrs, we didn't. There were only two negatves for me. One was the ferry ride. I was so sick. If at all unsure take tablets. The other negative was paying $5.00 a day for internet. I had only wanted to confirm my flight booking for that day. Very friendly staff though and nothing was too much trouble.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The resort is very pleasant, with all the standard features of a pool, bar and restaurant. There is a small shop for the essentials you might leave behind but if you are going for a longer than a few days and opting for a suite that has its own kitchen facilities then stock up before leaving. The rooms are very nicely appointed, beds comfortable and the sound of the waves lapping on the sand in the evening is very soothing. (that is if you choose to leave the louver windows open if not use the air conditioning). The waters surrounding the island have a nice display of tropical fish, and some coral, so snorkling or diving is a great way to spend the day. There are of course plenty of walking tracks for those that enjoy rainforest walks. The food in the restaurant was great both dinner and breakfast the following day. The staff were helpful and pleasant so all in all we would return and recommend a stay on this lovely part of the Great Barrier reef.

Room Tip: Wifi is not free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auzzigirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methven, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The island is very pretty. There is only one hotel on the island (and two restaurants) so you do feel like it is your own "private" getaway. The staff at the hotel are polite, informative, professional and accommodating.

Room Tip: Ask beforehand where to park your car in Cairns so you can board the boat. There are no areas close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fitzroy Island
13.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
24.5 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
14.2 mi away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
13.8 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 64 in Cairns
2,183 reviews
15.0 mi away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzroy Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Island Resort

Property: Fitzroy Island Resort
Address: The Esplanade, Fitzroy Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fitzroy Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fitzroy Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fitzroy Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitzroy Island is a tropical paradise of rainforest and coral beaches within the calm sheltered waters of the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The walking tracks through the rainforest, up to the summit and to the lighthouse offer a fabulous view over the Great Barrier Reef. Located only 29 km off the coast of Cairns, the island is a listed National Park and has only one resort. Just 45 minutes by boat, Fitzroy Island Resort offers guests the opportunity to intimately discover the magic and diversity of the Great Barrier Reef from land and sea, making it the perfect accessible base for snorkeling, diving and exploring the reef and rainforest. Ferry transfers to and from Fitzroy Island depart daily and tickets can be pre-booked from Fitzroy Island Resort. The affordable 4 star Resort offers a range of contemporary accommodation including Suites, Beach Cabins and Studios. The resort facilities include a contemporary restaurant, large pool with swim up bar, dive store, indoor cinema, Foxy’s bar and a general store. Discover the vibrant corals and marine life, forest birds, butterflies and the startling white sulphur-crested cockatoos. Create memories to last a lifetime. Pure tropical island magic…. Activities include:- Dive School- Aqua Jets- Mini submarines- Glass bottom sea kayaks- Kayaking- Snorkeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fitzroy Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzroy Island Hotel Fitzroy Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing