We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a lovely day out”

Fitzroy Island National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$114.49*
and up
Fitzroy Island Sea Kayaking
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“a lovely day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We took the 8am Fitzroy Island Ferry from Cairns and returned on the 5pm ferry, and we did not feel like we had to fill in any time. On the island we visited the Turtle rehabilitation centre, walked up to the lighthouse, sat on the beach, had a relaxing lunch and snorkelled.
When snorkelling we saw many different colored fish and coral.
When walking up to the lighthouse be sure to take a bottle of water as it is a fair walk and a bit of a climb. The lighthouse itself is not very attractive, it looks very typical 1970's, but the view is beautiful.
There is a café/bar if you want to buy lunch, or you can take a picnic lunch to eat on one of the beaches.
Well worth a day trip to this island.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    97
    17
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stunning Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

The most gorgeous place. Walk 15 mins through the rainforest to get to Nudeys Beach. Secluded quiet beach. We also kayaked around there in the afternoon. Eat at Foxy's pub, the food comes from the resort kitchen but heaps cheaper.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pphp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nudey Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We went for a day trip to Fitzroy Island & spent most of the day at Nudey Beach. It is a bit of a walk but well worth it. If you have reef shoes wear them as most of the beach is broken coral. If you go past the large boulders to the left on the beach you will find some sandier spots & also excellent snorkelling straight off shore with beautiful coral & fish in shallow water. Take your food & drinks with you as it's very expensive to buy at the shop. 2 ice creams - $11!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JKH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A beautiful island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Fitzroy Island is beautiful and we enjoyed a very relaxing day here. It is very unspoilt and not crowded unlike Green Island. The beaches are nice and quiet and the snorkelling is excellent. You can borrow snorkelling equipment and go for a ride on the glass bottom boat. There are also paddle boards and a sea trampoline. A picnic lunch is also included as part of the tour. The hotel bar can be used by day guests for drinks. The only disappointment was that we couldn't go for a walk to the top of the island because the Forestry Commission were there that day carrying out controlled burning but this didn't stop us from having a great day out and it gives us an excuse to visit again one day. The boat staff are really helpful and friendly. Some kids were sea sick on the way over and the staff took time out to talk to them and advise them - something I didn't see on any of the other boat trips we took during our holiday when plenty of people were feeling very ill. We are lucky enough not to get sea sick but if you do - fresh air helps, look at the horizon, avoid reading and do not spend your whole time with your head in a bag - this really doesn't help. Oh and try to go with the motion of the boat rather than fight it. This was a great day out and I would definitely recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BUBBLES00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very relaxing but bring your own snack food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed 5 nights on Fitzroy Island Resort - all arranged via Melbourne. We had a third floor ocean view room (self contained place) with a balcony. It was a great room but be sure to arrange this specifically if you want a sea view as many of the rooms (the studios) face the back and are dark and not private. They were having problems with the hot water the whole time we were there, and although they told us we might not have hot water. It wasn’t too much of a hassle as we only had two occasions when the water was cold. We wonder why this couldn’t have been fixed sooner? There are only two places to eat - the pub/bar (Foxey’s) and the resort restaurant. We were there during a fishing competition and a wedding, and so the pub/bar was closed for dinner one night and the restaurant was booked until late - and we didn't want to eat late. I think we should have been told that the pub/bar would be closed as we would have booked an early table in the restaurant in advance. The general store is very "general" - so if you want snack food including fresh fruit, bring your own. That being said, we had a great time. What there is to do is to hike to the summit, swim, snorkel and kayak – all very laid back – no cars, no roads and hassle free. Probably 4 nights max would work a bit better than 5.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fitzroy Island National Park also viewed

 

Been to Fitzroy Island National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing