We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not clean rooms, really getting old!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I stayed at the wilderness resort (backpacking option at the Kingfisher resort) for 2 nights, and had a good time with the cooldingo tour: but the hostel needs an urgent renovating and thoroughly cleaning!

The plus :
not noisy, peaceful, and Fraser is truly amazing

The minus :
quite small dorms, but fair enough
rooms were obviously not prepared and cleaned for us as the filthy sheets of the last persons were still on the ground !!!! Not enough blankets for everybody.
bathrooms not clean, less than average cleanliness for a backpacker and old!!
not a lot of switch for charging your electronic devices in the room

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank sopaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2011

Dear sopaul
Thank you for your positive comments about our Cool Dingo tour and about Fraser Island and for taking the time to post. Just to clarify to Trip Advisor readers - Cool Dingo tours are our 18-35 backpacker groups and they stay in our Wilderness Lodges within the resort's grounds - Cool Dingo has a separate listing on Trip Advisor. The Wilderness lodges cannot be booked unless on a tour.

The lodges are set in bush land and have double and quad share (tours are priced accordingly). Each also has shared bathrooms, a spacious living area, deck and small kitchenette. Sopaul, your comments have been passed to our Resort Executive team - dirty linen, bathrooms and rooms is completely unacceptable. We also apologise for the blanket situation, this has been checked and rectified where needed. The team are also investigating your comments re the power supply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,752 - 4,758 of 5,147 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2011

My husband wanted a unique place to stay and celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary on 8th May. After all, we thought we deserved the best!
So we chose the world heritage listed Fraser Island and its renowned Kingfisher Bay Resort. We were not disappointed.
Our package included four nights accommodation with full buffet breakfast daily, and two tours. We upgraded to a spa room and the resort gave us ocean views for the occasion.
The tours were well organised, the scenery was amazing, and we enjoyed sitting back and being driven. The attractions of Fraser Island are well known, however they definetly do need to be experienced to fully appreciate their beauty.
Kingfisher Bay Resort lived up to our expectations, the service and food was wonderful. We will remember it always. Thanks Kingfisher!

Room Tip: Get a spa room, those roads aren't smooth :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2011

Dear Michele
On behalf of the entire resort team we'd like to congratulate you and your husband again re your 40th anniversary - we're chuffed you chose to celebrate with us. I'll be sharing your fabulous experience with all our staff and thank you for taking the time to post. See you both next year for your 41st :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We recently stayed at Kingfisher Bay Resort for 4 nights with 4 other families in the two bedroom villas and had a fantastic time. The kids loved the pools and the beach, along with the island's tourist attractions. The dad's had a great time fishing the jetty at night and my wife loved the massage at the health spa. Dinner at Seabelle's was a great dining experience while the kids had a babysitter. The villas were modern and clean. The icing on the cake was the great service by the girls working the jetty hut when my 4 year old daughter got a big splinter in her foot. I was ready to take her back to the unit until they rushed out, comforted her, got the splinter out and then fussed over her. In 30 minutes my daughter and I were back out on the jetty and caught her first fish of the trip. Great stuff. We will be going back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MurrayTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2011

Dear MurrayTree
Just a short note to thank you for your review and we're thrilled to hear that you and the other families enjoyed with your time with us on Fraser Island. Thanks also for the special mention for Ranger Bec and Becky in the Jetty Hut - we'll make sure we pass your comments on to the team. Come and visit again soon - Whale Watch season starts from August 1and it's spectacular!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Fraser island is a diverse and lovely place to spend some time. If we could have organised ourselves to camp and fend for ourselves, then we would have. However, a short stay didn't really warrant the effort and we stayed at Kingfisher for the three nights we were on the island.

Three nights with a one day 4x4 rental and meals at the cheapest place was $1500 for two, not including flights.

Though I appreciate the infrastructure is expensive, the resort is poor value for money with charges for internet, overpriced breakfast, drinks and meals etc. Everything is very dated. We stayed after easter when it was so quiet it felt like we were staying for the last week the hotel was in business. Actually the whole island had an air of receivership about it....though we understand easter was 'packed out'. In one sense it was lovely to have lots of places to ourselves, on the other hand it does seem quite alarming for the local tourist economy. Even the backpacker trade was minimal...

A couple tips - take your own snacks, wine and food supplies, manage your expectations as this resort is a three star at best, double check they have you on the right ferry transfer (we made our flight with 2 mins to spare and should have been on the earlier transfer) and check whether all the places on the island are open for food and petrol. We got to Happy Valley & found it was closed and being auctioned by the receivers in late May. No one mentioned this. Good job we didn't actually need any fuel....

That said, the island is lovely. Just a pricey experience, as with all Australian destinations.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeandBundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2011

Dear GeorgeandBundy
Thanks for taking the time to post Trip advisor and we're glad you liked World Heritage-listed Fraser Island. However we have clearly failed to meet your expectations during your stay and we apologise .

We want to assure you our Reception is open 24-hours and on hand to help our guests - if we know about an upset, we will certainly help rectify it. We've also passed your comments re transfers to our Reservations Manager - the team are well trained in transfer times, so this situation is surprising - again please accept our apologies.

As you may be aware, Queensland Tourism has been affected by the GFC and the extreme weather events earlier this year. Whilst the Fraser Coast (including Fraser Island); Gold and Sunshine Coasts weren't directly affected, visitation has certainly affected state-wide and some operators have closed (like the company you mention below on Fraser's eastern side). I wanted to assure readers that the resort is certainly not in receivership. For the visitors that are coming our way in off peak- they are rejoicing in the fact they have lovely private pockets of this remote island paradise to themselves.

A couple of additional tips for would-be travellers.
There are fuel stations at Kingfisher Bay (west) and Eurong Beach (eastern side) - it is unlikely that you would need to refuel if you were out on a day's hire (until you return your car), but there are options to do this.

Book direct online for competitive accommodation deals and packages.

The ferry ride from River Heads to the island takes 50 minutes; transfers from River Heads to the airport take approximately 30 minutes - both, like any transportation service, can sometimes be subject to small delays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights on their package deal where you get a free day tour for two and breakfast included (It was fortunate breakfast was included, as the asking price of $30 per head for the buffet seemed way over the top...)

We were in a standard hotel room, which was basic but fine and clean enough, though the bathrooms looked like they were in need of a refurb (and our shower when turned onto full power fired water uncontrollably around the room - which we were actually quite amused by so didnt bother to report - avoid room 135 if you dont share our sense of fun).

We did have a shocker the first night when we discovered how thin the walls are - the party next door came home and woke us up at 1230am with very loud drunken arguing which went for about 20 minutes and then stopped - and then started up again at 430am when they came home again.... If you see rowdy groups there, make sure you check with reception you arent next door or below them

We chose to eat dinner at the Sands bistro each night as the other two restaurants seemed quite expensive, and we weren't confident enough that they would deliver a meal that justified the price - seafood buffet at $65 a head seemed a bit risky... Food from the Sands bar was fine - pizza, chips with everything kind of stuff, reasonably priced, and tasty - did the job!

We chose to take a 4WD out for a day which we would definitely recommend, but be warned this is not a cheap day out, and we paid about $370 for the car hire, permit and petrol - that said, its the best way to see the island so dig deep. We also enjoyed the organised tour, the guide, Barry, was very knowledgable and a pleasure to listen to - without wanting to sound food obsessed, the lunch at the Eurong resort is pretty shocking, matched only by the dreadful 1970's architecture

We were on the island the week after Easter and it was very quiet - this was great for seeing things around the island, but both the resorts (which are very large) felt really empty and a bit depressing

Go there for the great natural highlights of the island, just manage your expectations that the infrastructure there is fairly ordinary and a bit dated - others have given the resort a 5 star rating, but do not be fooled that one person's 5 star rating makes this a 5 star resort

And a recurring gripe - is it really necessary in this day and age to charge for wi-fi internet access? If McDonald's can manage to give it free for people spending $3, surely it should be possible for hotels to provide it for free for paying customers, rather than trying to extract another $20 for 24 hours access

PS - Ranger Jay met us at the dock and took us to reception to explain a few things about the resort - someone needs to mention to him his annoying habit of using the seemingly nonsensical expression of 'as well too' at the end of each sentence - we counted 15 uses of this in a 2 minute briefing. If you were unfortunate enough to experience this for a whole day tour, Ranger Jay may well end up buried in the dunes, so someone should have a word for his sake...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lodges_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2011

Dear Lodges_9
Constructive feedback is always welcome on Trip Advisor and we thank you for your positive comments regarding Barry and your time out on the tour. At the resort we encourage our guests to fill in the maintenance cards in room, so that we can rectify mishaps straight away - I've forwarded your review on to our maintenance team for follow up.

I also wanted to assure you we adhere to very strict food safety standards, and I can tell you there is absolutely no risk to 'health or otherwise' eating in our restaurants.

As we have mentioned in direct correspondence with you, all other comments have been shared with our Resort Exec team and subsequent line managers to help us improve our product.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed Fraser Island. We found the resort to be very expensive but in a spectacular setting.

However we had a nasty experience with a member of the reception which I will detail below;

We had just finished playing tennis and returned to reception where I enquired with a skinny dark brown haired girl named Jamell if we could book onto the night walk tour, to which she sighed and looked straight past me to my boyfriend and asked him in a sarcastic tone "So that's one adult and one child for the night tour?" I looked stunned as my boyfriend said excuse me? To which Jamell asked the question again with a smug look. This incident left us both feeling very uncomfortable and upset.

I am nearly 25 years old and my boyfriend is nearly 30. I am short at 5 feet tall but I buy alcohol and petrol in Melbourne without being asked for identification, so I am clearly not a child.

Apart from the extremely rude reception we had a great time and really loved the amenities and activities on offer.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank girl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2011

Dear Girl86
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are genuinely sorry that the actions of one staff member has overshadowed what sounds like what was a lovely trip to Fraser Island. Please be assured that we value Customer Service and will certainly be ensuring the staff member involved receives further training.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Fraser Island is absolutely beautiful and Kingfisher Bay Resort was very professional in handling transfers and the necessary admin. We stayed in a tree tops villa which was roomy and well appointed with all cooking and washing facilities. We found that everything was within easy access. We made the most of the pool and some of the free walks on site. Others have complained that the food in the restaurants is expensive and that some activities on offer are also pricey. They were, however we found that there was still plenty to do without taking the expensive options, such as fishing and beach walks. In all, i would definitely recommend Kingfisher Bay as an accessible and relaxing way to see Fraser Island

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rainedrop24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2011

Dear Rainedrop24
Thanks for reviewing all the way from Wrexham in the UK. Fraser Island is a pretty unique place and we're glad you enjoyed the activities on offer in and around the resort during your stay with us. Just in response to your comment re food pricing - prices in our Sand Bar Bistro start from $9.50 and all portions are generously-sized. Entrees in our signature Seabelle restaurant start from $10, whilst mains start at $28 - these prices are certainly comparable with Hervey Bay and other mainland eateries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser Island
15.0 mi away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
856 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
2,029 reviews
8.8 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
15.1 mi away
Beachcamp Retreat on K'gari
Beachcamp Retreat on K'gari
#2 of 9 in Fraser Island
21 reviews
18.7 mi away
Fraser Island Retreat
Fraser Island Retreat
#4 of 4 in Fraser Island
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Bay Resort

Address: Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range: £87 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bush overlooking the calm waters of the Great Sandy Strait, this award-winning ecotourism resort on World Heritage-listed Fraser Island is the perfect base to explore the world's largest sand island. The resort incorporates the 152-room Mercure Kingfisher Bay Hotel, self-contained two and three bedroom villas and houses, and a 174-bed Wilderness Lodge for groups. Resort Rangers also guide a variety of four-wheel-drive coach tours or personalised tours of the island. Access to Fraser Island is by ferry only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kingfisher Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Hotel Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Fraser Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing