We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good resort, but not much more” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kingfisher Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Lake Geneva
Level Contributor
232 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good resort, but not much more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This is a rather large resort with a high turnover. Things work well, and it deserves good marks, but we were disappointed by the lack of "authenticity". Fraser Island is beautiful, but can get very packed (even traffic jams in the sandy lanes!) We took a tour on the long beach and felt it would have been great to spend a week there in a 4WD with a tent and fishing gear. Kingfisher was too expensive for the type of product it delivered -- the "adventure" is certainly not there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muverans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Muverans
Thanks for taking the time to post. We're sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay and Fraser Island's authenticity and felt you didn't get the adventure you were expecting. We note you have travelled in our summer season where the weather is great and travellers from all over Australia choose to visit the island. Unfortunately, we have had no significant rainfall for many months, which has resulted in soft sand tracks and, on some days, trees over the tracks, which caused some build up of traffic on the island tracks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,345
    1,697
    736
    317
    155
See reviews for
1,425
1,967
85
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic stay our family had at Kingfisher Bay Resort. Friendly staff could not have been more helpful and the bush and beach setting was the perfect launching pad for our days on beautiful Fraser Island. I'd highly recommend it to anyone.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Jeff M
On behalf of David, Wayne and our resort team, thank you for the five stay review and your kind comments about your fantastic stay with your family. We hope to see you back in our World Heritage-listed back yard in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

...at regular intervals throughout the year, then they would get the idea that many things need attention. Very Good... at being VERY average.
Scoopons may not help raise standards, revenue or publicity, in fact they will harm it.
Mgmt need to send in 'secret shoppers' to experience and evaluate the resort properly, NOT cut corners and run on a "bones-of your-ahrs-budget" (which usually equates to cheap, sloppy food and underpaid, therefore disinterested, staff.
Although, Aussies seem to be taught sloppiness from childhood. Largely, they seem to not give a stuff. So this makes a challenge for management to 'retrain' the minds of staff.
Grotty rooms, ugly-minded staff and typically australian standards. Exactly what you can expect in Queensland.
Rating: 3/10.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear 4217
Thank you for taking the time to post. I want to assure you that we value constructive feedback and invite you to contact us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com (mention this review) with more details about the points you mention and we will follow up on your behalf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed in villa 601, the first to stay after the villa had been renovated. The 2 room villa with full new kitchen, bathroom and floor coverings was fantastic, very modern and very clean. It had everything we needed including a pod coffee machine. It was close to all resort facilities, which were also great, we spent some time in the swimming pools, ( pools great, top pool very family friendly) went stand up paddle-boarding on the beautiful glassy blue ocean, did some fishing off the pier, had a good meal at the restaurant. We found the staff friendly and helpful even though they appeared very busy. Over all had a great stay, Fraser Island is our favorite holiday spot. The Island has so much to see and do.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Maree B
We appreciate you taking the time to post about your time with us on Fraser Island and, on behalf of our Resort and Rangers team, we thank you for your five-star review and candid comments. We hope to see you back in the not-too-distant future and certainly encourage you to check out our website for the latest seasonal deals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Being away from the cities allowed us to enjoy nature and immerse ourselves in the environment. We wanted a relaxing weekend and had just that. We did what we wanted - no pressure from resort to join in anything. The Staff were fantastic always helpful with our questions on what to see and do. We had lovely relaxed meals. The Creeks on the island and Lake McKenzie are crystal clear and absolutely stunning. We will be back for longer next time.
Thank you for a wonderful stay in paradise.

Room Tip: We had a resort room with a lovely natural bush outlook, which brought lots of lovely birds around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Louise S
Great to read that you enjoyed Fraser Island as much as we enjoyed showcasing it. Thanks also for your five-star review and your kind comments re our staff and your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back and encourage you to visit our website where we have seasonal specials and deals for longers stays on Fraser Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rockhampton
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a seaview r We We stayed in a seaview room and the views were spectacular. So relaxing to sit on balcony . All the staff were very helpful, pleasant and always smiling. We had dinner in Maheno restaurant and the food was beautiful. Loved the spa and the pools. The ranger walks were very informative and a great experience. Wish we could have stayed longer but glad we had the opportunity to visit to Kingfisher bay resort.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jes52623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hi jes52623
Thanks for your five-star review and comments - we appreciate them! Fraser is one of those places which you need time to explore and the island changes with each season, so there is always something new to look ou fort.

If you are wanting to come back and stay longer next time, be sure to visit our website and check out the 'Stay Longer, Pay Less' specials and great seasonal deals that we have on offer and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great activities with enthusiastic guides and a hearty breakfast which can keep you fed until evening. Only negative is the poor soundproofing between rooms. A stunning location you can walk the beaches and walk to the fresh water lake. Love the dingoes!

Room Tip: We had to change rooms due to neighbor noise, this was not a hassle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dykewithin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Hi dykewithin
Thanks for taking the time to post about your time with us and for your sound out to our enthusiastic guiding team - we appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser Island
17.9 mi away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 24 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
20.7 mi away
Fraser Island Retreat
Fraser Island Retreat
#4 of 4 in Fraser Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
6.7 mi away
Akama Resort
Akama Resort
#3 of 24 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Bay Resort

Property: Kingfisher Bay Resort
Address: Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bush overlooking the calm waters of the Great Sandy Strait, this award-winning ecotourism resort on World Heritage-listed Fraser Island is the perfect base to explore the world's largest sand island. The resort incorporates the 152-room Mercure Kingfisher Bay Hotel, self-contained two and three bedroom villas and houses, and a 174-bed Wilderness Lodge for groups. Resort Rangers also guide a variety of four-wheel-drive coach tours or personalised tours of the island. Access to Fraser Island is by ferry only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Kingfisher Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Hotel Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Fraser Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing