We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scottish review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Scottish review”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We were looking forward to this as the highlight of our month's holiday unfortunately it did not come up to our expectations. First problem when we arrived at resort office on the main land the car had to into secure parking $45. We were in room 159 decor dated stayed in accommodation like this 30 years ago. Young lady at reception who had come from Brisbane could not have done more for us and saved the break. During the night my husband got up went to bathroom to be met by roaches, ants and beasties then wiped the floor to discover it was filthy. This was reported in the morning and we asked for a spray. The manager went along later and said he could see nothing well guess what they were not going to hang about. The food at breakfast was good but in the evening no one told us we had to order and when it came it was not of a good standard. Sunday we were poolside and the tables and chairs were dirty and glasses from the night before were still lying about. There was a large black bin full of dirty pool towels from Saturday and were still there when we left in the afternoon.Thanks to the young lady at the desk sorry I have forgotten her name she was from the Mantra and the driver on the Island adventure even though his bus broke down and we were stuck for 1and a half hour he went beyond the call and finished the tour even missing his ferry. We perhaps should only have been there for 1 night 2 at most but this was on the advise of our tour company and nothing to do with the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Dear Christine M
Please accept our apologies that we have not met your expectations during your stay with us. Insects are a part of sub-tropical living, however it is disappointing to read that you don't feel you were looked after. Please feel free email us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com with more details about your stay so we can follow up on your behalf. We're particularly interested to see who you booked with, so we can follow up with extra training about our car park pricing structure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,544
    1,949
    829
    346
    169
See reviews for
1,624
2,277
94
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Fraser Island is basically a huge national park, and one does not visit for a luxury island type of beach holiday, rather people come here to admire the local natural beauties. As such you can forgive Kingfisher Bay Resort's shortcomings. Whilst it sells itself as a 4.5 star accommodation manage your expectations down to an early 90s four stars. Rooms are basic, but clean and spacious. The pools not very inspiring- strongly recommend to make the deeper pool adult only. Staff are friendly and helpful, but somewhat jaded- it seems that it takes a long time to get a drink at the bar or to being helped at reception. Food options on site are ok, but they do make you feel like you are a captive audience.
Big winners are access to tours to Fraser Island, sunset drinks by the Jetty, and a very sleek check in process. Thought the formal debrief at the beginning was a little bit too much and frankly the debriefing room needs a refurb.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank youngprofessionalUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear youngprofessionalUK
Thank you for your various candid reviews on Trip Advisor about your time on island - we appreciate the feedback. Please be assured that we do not market ourselves as a 4.5 star property nor do we market ourselves as a luxury destination and we encourage our third party partners to do the same.

For those readers who haven't visited our property before - we offer a choice of hotel rooms or self contained villas and holiday houses (ideal for travellers who prefer to cook their own meals when on holidays). You'll find all the information you need on our website.

Great to read that you enjoyed sunset at the Jetty Hut and your Fraser Island tour and you'll be pleased to know that we have been listening to feedback and are making changes to the ranger talk when you arrive at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser Island, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I attended my nephew's wedding at Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island.

We had a wonderful time. Food was great, location awesome, people lovely.

They certainly have the place, but I think that the hotel rooms were the same as they were 20 years ago. The newer units are great, but a revamp on the hotel interior would be good. Mind that is expensive, so I get that this is not possible. Well worth a visit, I think I certainly will go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with the ocean view. Mind the others are certainly not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joclord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear joclord
Great to hear that you enjoyed yourself at your nephew's wedding - Fraser Island is certainly making a name for itself as a desirable destination wedding location. It's also great to read that you'll be coming back to visit us again - please be sure to check our website as we offer great seasonal deals. Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The accommodation units are spread around a large area just inland from the beach and we have a unit on the upper floor with a balcony that looks out onto ‘bondhu’ type vegetation and trees.
The Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort in some ways is reminiscent of Centre Parcs….but classier! The room is lovely - the view enthralling. We listen to the birds going to sleep and then the cicadas starting their chorus as the night draws in.
We decided to eat in the main restaurant. Sitting at our table we finally managed to attract the attention of one of the servers who tells us that we must order our food at the entrance desk, rather than give an order to one of them. Apparently we had entered from a side door and had not passed the entrance desk. Hmmm! It has taken about 15 minutes for us to be told this. Pity it wasn’t made clear on arrival. Still, the food is pretty good when it comes
We did not book this ourselves - it was part of a package that was put together for us - so the 'Eco Friendly' aspect did not form part of our decision to stay here.
It is highly recommended that you take the island adventure tour. It is unlikely that you will ever experience anything like this elsewhere! If possible/affordable take the aircraft flight over the island. This takes off and lands on the beach. From the air you can really apprciate how this island is made purely from sand.

Room Tip: Make sure you order your food @ the entrance desk to the restaurant area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hatmanBanstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear hatmanBanstead
On behalf of David and the team, thank you for your kind comments about your time with us on Fraser Island - we're pleased that the location, setting and our feathered locals contributed to an enjoyable stay. Thank you also for your comments regarding your restaurant experience - we'll certainly make sure that we look at the way we deliver this information on check-in and whilst at the resort. We wish you the best with the rest of your Aussie trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Very Eco friendly - and can you appreciate what they are trying to achieve - but if you want luxury this is not the place.... However you don't really get a choice if you want to visit Fraser island. We wish we'd just done a day safari instead as this place didn't come up to a 4*.
We decided to do our own 4x4 tour in a jeep which was great fun!! you can get easily stuck tho - so be aware!

Lake McKenzie was unforgettable... so make sure you visit.

The hotel food was tasteless in the main restaurant - the bookable restaurant food was amazing so I would definitely recommend using this one.

Hotel rooms are very hostel like!... Pillows underneath the covers need renewing - so don't look!!
Pool area glass needs a good clean....

Make sure you bring your Mossie spray!! you will getting bitten alive here....

All in all a lovely island but not up to our luxury standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Fruitbabe
Thank you for taking the time to review and we sincerely apologise that we have not meet your expectations in a number of areas.

Please be assured that the resort has never marketed ourselves as a luxury retreat and we certain train and encourage the third party partners we work with not to do so either in their own marketing collateral. We'd certainly be interested to know how you booked your stay, so we can follow up on these comments.

It's great to read you enjoyed Lake McKenzie and your meal in our Seabelle restaurant which combines bush flavours with local produce. We would love you to contact us direct on feedback@kingfisherbay.com with more information about where you stayed, so we can follow up on your remaining comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Some staff such as the rangers especially Luke, Graham and Les were brilliant and Lee the chef and really made our stay special. Whilst thus us an Eco resort the birds flying around the buffet restaurant was not hygienic. The firm to do ones own bed making and save a bit off the bill was not clear and only applicable to those paying the bill at the end rather than those who had pre booked.

Room Tip: Ask when you book fiord accessibility requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Kathryn S
It's great to see our UK visitors exploring Fraser's sand tracks and we thank you for your kind comments regarding Luke, Graham, Les and Lee, which we'll certainly share at our next team catch up.

As you know, the resort is in World Heritage-listed surrounds and there is an abundance of birdlife on the island. We have actively taken steps to reduce bird interaction in our Centre Complex restaurant over the years and have trialled food nets and other systems. About 18 months ago, we imported an eco-friendly, electronic bird deterrent device from America - which pipes predatory bird sounds to scare away any birds looking for food in the resort buildings. This has proven successful, though some birds can fly in the doors when guests enter/exit the building. To combat this, dishes on the bain-marie are covered.

We also wanted to address your comments re our Conservation Credit Scheme. The service is available for pre-booked rooms but not pre-booked tours (at this stage). We are willing to work with our guests to ensure you can take advantage of this scheme. On behalf of the team, best of luck with the rest of your Australian holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This "4 star resort" doesn't really deserve its rating. If this hotel existed else where e.g. the main land, without the monopoly it holds on the island it would probably fail.

Positives:

- Staff were very friendly and helpful

- Tours and activities they offered were fantastic. (We went on an island tour of the major sight seeing places on the island and a night resort tour). These were reasonably priced and they offered nightly talks for free.

- Great location for getting on and off the island.


Negatives:

- Rooms were very dingy, dark, basic and smelt of over powering cleaning products. The screen door was broken to the outside, meaning we couldn't open the glass doors to let fresh air in otherwise the wildlife could have gotten in - including the funnel web spiders nests not far from our room.

- Bathroom facilities were old e.g. shower curtain was mouldy.

- The rest of the resort in parts looked fairly run down, low quality fittings and over crowded. They only have air conditioning in the bedrooms.

- Pool side bar food was poor with long queues with staff over worked. They often ran out of stock and payed loud music like an 18-30's spanish holiday tour operator. Poolside was over ran with kids, so guess its good for families but not for everyone so it would probably be best to have the smaller bottom pool for adults only?

- The main restaurants was ok for a buffet, but it was well over priced. It did offer a variety of food that tasted ok.

- The "pub" restaurant down the road (part of the resort) served poor quality pub food and the Dingo's bar looked like a deserted backpackers bar.

- The Al la Carte restaurant food was better, but was not cheap for the standard.

Conclusion:

Service was good but everything else is a let down. It is supposed to be a luxury resort but fails to be. I feel they exploit the fact they have a monopoly on the island for luxury hotels, and very little competition from other resorts. I also feel they try to justify they're low standards by hiding behind being an "eco-friendly" hotel. If this were true, instead of having shower curtains that go mouldy why not have a glass shower screen that can be cleaned, has a longer life and can be recycled once it needs replacing? Why not use re-usable plastic cups instead of throw away plastic cups at the pool bar? Why not have solar panels on the roof? Etc etc etc.

Despite the review because of the experience I still had a good time and couldn't recommend anywhere else to stay unless you are a camper.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexander_1984_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear alexander_1984_1984
Thank you for taking time out of your Australian adventure to post in this forum and for your kind comments regarding our team, your day tour of the island, our Ranger-guided activities and the location itself. We're glad that you had a good time on your holiday.

Thank you also for your candid feedback and please accept our apologies that elements of your stay did not meet expectations. We also apologise, on behalf of our Housekeeping team, that they have not reported the screen door problem - we'll certainly follow up on that. We invite you to contact us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com with more details about your trip - it is unclear from your post as to where you stayed - so we can follow up on your behalf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser Island
17.9 mi away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
802 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,840 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
271 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
20.7 mi away
Fraser Island Retreat
Fraser Island Retreat
#4 of 4 in Fraser Island
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Bay Resort

Property: Kingfisher Bay Resort
Address: Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bush overlooking the calm waters of the Great Sandy Strait, this award-winning ecotourism resort on World Heritage-listed Fraser Island is the perfect base to explore the world's largest sand island. The resort incorporates the 152-room Mercure Kingfisher Bay Hotel, self-contained two and three bedroom villas and houses, and a 174-bed Wilderness Lodge for groups. Resort Rangers also guide a variety of four-wheel-drive coach tours or personalised tours of the island. Access to Fraser Island is by ferry only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kingfisher Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Hotel Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Fraser Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing