We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed both in the motel accommodation and the Villas. I highly recommend both, hotel for short stays with the flavour of Japanese style rooms and private balcony. The villas are superb fully self contained and appointed with all mod cons for a longer stay. Fraser island has so much to offer so if you stay longer you will never be bored.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freemeadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hi freemeadow
Thanks for your review. It's great to see a frequent traveller returning to our shores and thanks for the feedback regarding our hotel room accommodation and larger, self-contained villa-style accommodation. As you mention longer stays, we wanted to take the liberty of letting readers know that the resort offers a Stay Longer, Pay Less deal - simply head to our website (it's on the front page) for more details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,370 - 4,376 of 5,321 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed in a self contained villa at Kingfisher Bay Resort for a long weekend and loved it. The resort sits perfectly in the natural surroundings. The barge transfers to and fro were effortless and check in process was very smooth and quick. The whole resort has a beautiful feel and the dining and facilities were fantastic. Our 2 teenagers enjoyed every minute as did we. The Jetty Hut was the perfect spot for my husband to enjoy a beer and the view while the kids and I had fun on the Segways on the beach. Great pool, great staff and service and an all round awesome relaxing weekend. We will definitely be back as soon as we can. Thanks for a great stay.

Room Tip: The villas are a great choice for families. Large outdoor deck and safe for kids to explore surround...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBayHerveyBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear TheBayHerveyBay
Fraser Island is fabulous for families, so it is great to read that yours took full advantage of the activities and surrounds - and the self contained villa accom - whilst on your long weekend getaway. Thanks for taking the time to post, we appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent 3 very memorable days at Fraser Island. Ferry ride was on time, however, there was confusion with baggage on the return journey, bags were collected in advance of time stated and many people had to take their luggage on board and on the bus back to River Heads. Despite showery weather, we enjoyed long walks in the natural environment. Wine and cheese platter on the jetty was very relaxing. The guided tours were very informative and helped us to appreciate this unique location. We chose not to have our room serviced and in compensation were rewarded with $15 day (2 days) off our account. Only problem was that Reception staff were confused and not able to answer queries accurately.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Owner at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Janice J
Thank you for taking the time to write about your time on Fraser and for your kind comments about the guided tours, your self-guided walks and the sunset cheese platter at our Jetty Hut. Please be assured that online feedback is important and we'll be following up with our Front Office and Portering teams regarding the hiccups with luggage and service you mention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with a Cool Dingos tour in the Wilderness Lodges. The tour itself was really great but when we received our bags back after being in storage at the resort all day I noticed that someone had been through it. This is a horrible experience at any time and after speaking to another girl on the tour found out that she had had money stolen from her bag. This is not what you expect at this type of resort and I would suggest to anyone not to take any valuables/cash with you or ensure they are on your person at all times. I also found out when the girl rang about reporting the money stolen she did not receive an apology or any type of compassion from any member of staff she spoke to. I would not expect this from any type of accommodation.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank Louisaw17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Louisaw17
It's great to read that you enjoyed Jess, Fraser Island, the weather and your food, so thanks for your tour feedback - it's appreciated.

We also wanted to acknowledge your comments (both on this page and another in this forum) regarding your fellow traveller and the alleged loss of money whilst her bag was in storage on the island. Please know we take all allegations seriously and when this incident was reported to us, we followed our resort procedure and have been open and transparent in encouraging the guest involved to make a full police report and with the ensuing investigation.

The guest involved is certainly aware of the efforts our staff members went to assist and our discussions regarding possible compensation, so we won't address your comments regarding this. Whilst the matter is with the local police, we will say their efforts have been hampered as the guest involved has been unable to tell us exactly how much money is missing nor when it went missing.

It's distressing to read in your two reviews (and hear second-hand through your friend) that you also believe your backpack has been tampered with, as this has not reported to us and is highly unusual. We'd certainly welcome the chance to speak with you further.

We also urge all travellers to make sure their backpacks are locked and secure when travelling anywhere and urge travellers with valuables or large sums of cash to take advantage of the hotel safes on offer. On Fraser, ours are located at reception and are free of charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kendall M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Fraser Island and resort setting and environment is utterly breathtaking
The park guides in the resort were informative and passionate. Staff were friendly and helpful
SEABELLE was a divine eating experience
The disappointing factors were the room - out dated, musty and damp, mould on ceiling, a rip in the double bed mattress with springs poking out, unwashed spa bath :(
I hope kingfisher starts fixing up the place as it has so much to offer in an amazing area

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jesslee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hi again Jesslee E
Thank you for taking the time to write multiple reviews on this forum - we're very pleased to read that you found the destination breathtaking, the food in Seabelle divine, our staff friendly and our guides passionate. Jesslee E, I'd like to invite you to contact our Resort Manager, Wayne Harris, on feedback@kingfisherbay.com with your contact details, so we can call you to discuss your comments on the room. Please accept our sincere apologies that this has fallen below expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Spent a weekend at kingfisher bay resort as a couples getaway. The service here is very poor with most staff unclear on what they are supposed to do. The service on the ferry was some of the rudest ive ever had with the young guy working it showing little to no interest in customers. The resort room we had was very rundown and smelt very damp. The upside is that the pool is amazing and the beach here is very beautiful. The tours that run around the island are very good the only problem is that booking through the resort is more miss than hit.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear KeithOz
It's pleasing to read that you loved Fraser as a destination, but please accept our sincere apologies for the service you encountered on the ferry and that the room has not met expectations. We do recommend guests book tours in advance, to avoid disappointment, but it is disappointing to read that you found you were unable to book the tour you wanted at the resort.

I would like to invite you to contact our Resort Manager, Wayne Harris, on feedback@kingfisherbay.com so that we can talk through the points you have raised in this forum. We look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser Island
15.0 mi away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
882 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
2,105 reviews
8.8 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
15.1 mi away
Beachcamp Retreat on K'gari
Beachcamp Retreat on K'gari
#2 of 9 in Fraser Island
22 reviews
18.7 mi away
Fraser Island Retreat
Fraser Island Retreat
#4 of 4 in Fraser Island
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Bay Resort

Address: Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range: £84 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bush overlooking the calm waters of the Great Sandy Strait, this award-winning ecotourism resort on World Heritage-listed Fraser Island is the perfect base to explore the world's largest sand island. The resort incorporates the 152-room Mercure Kingfisher Bay Hotel, self-contained two and three bedroom villas and houses, and a 174-bed Wilderness Lodge for groups. Resort Rangers also guide a variety of four-wheel-drive coach tours or personalised tours of the island. Access to Fraser Island is by ferry only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kingfisher Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Hotel Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Fraser Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing