We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Eco resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Eco resort”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great place to unwind and relax in 'paradise'. Highly recommend the beauty spot tour. Staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were great and beds very comfortable. Do not come to this resort looking for some snot nosed high class crowd. This is Eco resorts at its best no frills just a beautiful one of a kind island. Great for 4x4! Cheese platter on the jetty hut is a beautiful treat!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginja_Ninja_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Ginja_Ninja_86
What a refreshing review :) Thanks for your kind comments about our staff and Beauty Spots Tour. We're glad you enjoyed your sunset platter at the Jetty Hut - it really is a lovely way to end your day on Fraser Island. If you have any sunset shots, we'd love you to share them with us on Instagram or other social sites - just remember to #fraserisland and #kingfisherbay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,505
    1,896
    810
    345
    164
See reviews for
1,593
2,210
89
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great location, really nice room and awesome dinner
One bad point though, staff aren't too organised in some cases
We were given the keycard and it was like go find your room yourself, not a lot of signs to point you where to go either
Either way, it was a nice stay, too bad for the mozzies though!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a hotel room and not a dorm room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CATOFTHEBERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear CATOFTHEBERG
Firstly, please accept our apologies that, on arrival, you felt you weren't given enough information to find your room. We'll certainly be looking at procedures with staff and, after guest feedback in this forum and others, have introduced a Resort Orientation session in our activity guide to help guests familiarise themselves with the property. It's great to read that we were able to redeem ourselves with our fabulous location, your room and that awesome dinner you mention.

We also want to let guests know reading this that the dorm rooms you mention in your Room Tip, are actually only available for organised tour groups.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Firstly I think I am normally pretty relaxed when it comes to service especially in QLD when it is hard to be impressed. But when it comes to basic amenities, meals, and choice this place is just a disappointment.
A snapshot of issues :
No movie channels or foxtel anywhere! Like what hotel in this day and age has no pay tv? Esp when it was raining - not even a movie library!
Shower curtain all yellow at the bottom.
Basic room was tidy enough - but as with the resort a bit tired.
Pool area - no area to collect swimming towels when I went down - why do I need to look and ask - they should be available and accessible anytime pool is open. Spa is old and needs to be resurfaced or something - just looks dated and yuck.
Bar - coronas 9.50! We asked if rugby would be on austar (before we found out there was none in our room) - and they said after asking 3 people and 15 minutes that yes it would be on either in the bar or on TV in other area - cool all blacks in at 530 I'll be back. Short story but bar was under staffed - asked at 540 if it could go on. At 5.55 they put music video on. At 6.10 I asked why rugby not on and was told manager did not want rugby on during dinner? So went to other TV but no foxtel. There were others who were keen to watch as well!
Dinner - 2 options only. Seabelle 40 ave per main plus 9 for each sides. Or buffet. Buffet ok. Seafood and basic roast options. The selection Did not change much for Sat night so we had pizza. There were a number of people waiting over 50 mins for takeaway pizza! Staff were stressed and a number of orders were wrong - including ours so we could not be bothered having it re-made and waiting another hour. And it was pretty bland for a 4-5 star resort kitchen.
And then Monday - the only restaurant open was closed for a private function - so just bar menu available.

Sounds like I am a big whinger in reviewing the above - but as a guest I think that we should be made to feel and be treated special. I just think that because they know we have no where else to go once we are here that we have to just deal with it.

All the rewards and accolades for this resort seem to be mainly in the nineties - and unless they do something very different to lift their game - the nineties is where it will remain!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Getarealcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Getarealcoffee
Please accept our apologies that you haven't been made to feel special during your stay. Feedback is important and I invite you to contact us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com (mention this review) with your contact details and our Resort Manager, Wayne Harris, will personally contact you to discuss your stay. We look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I'll start with the good:
We did a kingfisher bay beauty tour which was fabulous apart from the weather on the day. Our tour guide Peter was brilliant, he has lived on the island for 18 year and is well read about the Islands flora, fauna and history. A great sense of humour and passionate about what he's doing and the experience he is providing to the tour.

Kingfisher bay front desk staff:
We found them friendly and happy to help. Two of the desk girls took us on a standard free flora and fauna tour of the resort, they were good.

We stayed 3 nights 4 days, our room wasn't cleaned once even after asking on the second night for cleaning service. We're not the kind of people that expect the room cleaned every day but all three nights!

Kingfisher bay hospitality staff (maheno bar/ restaurant and seabelle restaurant):
A general summary of our experience of their service was poor. We had two reservations at seabelle's over our stay both times arriving on time, the staff walked past us without acknowledging us or communicating that they'll be with us in a moment. Ordering a drink would take an unacceptable amount of time to return.
The food is ok but over priced, $38 main $25 entree.
The staff's attitudes are flat with no personality for hospitality. You get the sense that they don't want to be there.

maheno, much the same except bistro style. Over priced and poor service by people not suited for hospitality.
These are people living and working on a paradise island!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AHAyres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear AHAyres
Online feedback is important to us so thank you for taking the time to post a very comprehensive review about your time on Fraser. We'll be sharing this review during our morning brief and thank you for the positive comments about your full day Beauty Spots tour with our guide extraordinaire, Peter Meyer and for the kind comments about our front desk and ranger teams.

It appears we haven't met expectations with service in our housekeeping and food and beverage departments, for which we sincerely apologise. I am not sure whether our team have mistakenly thought you have signed up for our conservation credit scheme (where rooms are not serviced daily and guests get credit for this which can be redeemed at the resort), but there is no excuse for not servicing if you have specifically requested it. We'll follow up with Shaun and his team to try and pinpoint what went wrong and take steps to fix it.

We also apologise for the poor service you received during dinner service and will also follow up, on your behalf, with our F&B team. Thank you for taking the time to post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I could not fault the location and standard of service from the staff at KFBR. After receiving a gift voucher to SEABELLE restaurant we decided to stay overnight and enjoy the experience and tranquility Fraser Island has to offer. Every staff member was happy and informative in their domain. Thankyou Nathan for a very beautiful and delicious dinner, Aaron for the drinks at the jetty whilst watching the spectacular sunset and Nick who warmly welcomed us from the barge.
Great to come home after 2 days refeshed feeling like we had been away for a week.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi Penny E
It's always great to see locals exploring their own backyard and thank you for your wonderful review. We're suitably proud of Nathan, Courtney and the fabulous Seabelle team, so thank you for the wonderful feedback. We'll also be sharing your comments with Nick, Aaron and the rest of the team. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The location was fantastic, well laid out with all the amenities that I would have wanted and expected. It was 'winter' season - end of May - but the weather was fantastic and this helped tremendously. The room was well laid out with an up to date flat screen Samsung TV with HDMI and USB ports so that we could watch our own movies off an external hard drive - everything seemed to close early and there was no entertainment in an evening. Be aware that the resort costs are extremely high for everything, we had luckily taken a lot of food with us and the room had a full size fridge in it with a freezer compartment, which meant we had all our lunches covered – we took a large ice box. The on-site shop closed at 6:30pm which I thought was far too early, wi-fi is extra, soup in the main restaurant is AU$14.00, a Corona beer at the jetty bar/hut is AU$9.50, 4 wheel drive hire on the island was AU$280 per day etc., etc., etc., there was much to possibly whinge about. There were some absolutely fantastic staff, the majority didn't seem to care at all and when you consider the prices and the general style of the complex and the possibilities, this is a great shame. The potential for an incredible experience is there and would only take a few minor changes, I just hope that this happens and I was told that there is new management in place, so fingers crossed for them! If you are prepared to splash the cash for a special occasion, money no object, this is the place, just be prepared for ‘jobs worth’ staff and poor service on many occasions.

Room Tip: Make certain that you request a top floor room with a "true" ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Clive R
Thank you for taking the time to respond and please accept our apologies that the service you received during your stay did not meet expectations. We invite you to contact us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com (mention this review) as we are interested in learning more about the staff problems you encountered so we call follow up.

I also wanted to clarify that the 4WD company you mention is operated by a third party, not the resort. For guests wishing to hire and bring 4WDs to the island, please check the fraserislandferry website for vehicle transfer costs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed 2 nights in upstairs interconnecting rooms. Tidy & fairly clean but had a very musty smell which upset a couple of noses. It was very noisy with people walking along the wooden walkway outside our rooms. Unfortunately we were close to the staff smoking area and the waft of smoke was unpleasant. The Maheno restaurant was okay but the price for both food & beverage was over the top for what was served. On the whole the staff were pleasant but the majority were overseas travellers and it was obvious they would be there a short time and as a result not quite as customer focussed as expected.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennyw1754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Hi Jennyw1754
Thanks for taking the time to post and you candid review. We're not sure if you spoke to the front desk about the smoke issue you mention, but the team would've been happy to assist you and your family where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser Island
17.9 mi away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
778 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,763 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Beachcamp Retreat on K'gari
Beachcamp Retreat on K'gari
#2 of 7 in Fraser Island
19 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
20.7 mi away
Fraser Island Retreat
Fraser Island Retreat
#4 of 4 in Fraser Island
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Bay Resort

Property: Kingfisher Bay Resort
Address: Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bush overlooking the calm waters of the Great Sandy Strait, this award-winning ecotourism resort on World Heritage-listed Fraser Island is the perfect base to explore the world's largest sand island. The resort incorporates the 152-room Mercure Kingfisher Bay Hotel, self-contained two and three bedroom villas and houses, and a 174-bed Wilderness Lodge for groups. Resort Rangers also guide a variety of four-wheel-drive coach tours or personalised tours of the island. Access to Fraser Island is by ferry only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kingfisher Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Hotel Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Fraser Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing