We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the island - definitely not the resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Certificate of Excellence
Toogoom, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go for the island - definitely not the resort”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Come for the view - but stay away from the food. Unfortunately being on an island if you stay in the hotel they have you on the food part - so it might be a good time to start that diet. But they do have villas which I believe have cooking facilities if you want to pack your own food across from the main land. There is a small convenience store $4 for a can of beans just to give you an idea. Now $4 for a can of beans may be a little pricey you say but compared to $42 for the worst meal I have had in years - an absolute bargain - and would have been a better meal.
Staff was very friendly for the most part, but the one of the two restaurants that they had open at the resort was very poorly run and staffed and more like a dive dinner quality and service, but with a premium price tag. Breaky buffet style was served in this one and only place on the resort - food very average - but good luck finding a clean table - I had to clear plates off of our table and wipe it down with a napkin on the the one and only time we had breaky there after our 1st horrendous diner meal there as we stayed away from it even though breaky was included in our room price. They also sold pizzas at night - this was most definitely the safest and most popular choice from the other patrons.

Room Tip: Stay away from the restaurants for dinner. Very very low quality but come with a very premium pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Terry M
Thank you for taking the time to post in this forum and we are sincerely sorry that we have not met expectations. Please feel free to email us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com (be sure to mention this review title) and I'll ask our Exec Chef, Leigh Sanders, to personally contact you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,544
    1,948
    828
    346
    169
See reviews for
1,623
2,276
94
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

There aren't many options of where to stay on Fraser Island, so keeping this in consideration, this is probably your best option. The resort itself is very close to where the ferry drops you off, and in fact they have shuttles that will bring to directly to the resort (if they're not full like they were for us). There is a beautiful pier where you arrive from the ferry that is perfect for watching sunsets or to do a little fishing from. The resort itself has a nice sized lobby and offers lots of activities for all tastes. The front desk staff are a strange mix as there were some that were very nice but didn't know much, and others that were quite knowledgable but were unfriendly.

As far as the rooms are considered, they stretch far from the lobby and you may even have a several minute walk to get to your room. The sleeping area is nice, but the bathrooms are old and in need of updating.

Lastly, the food. There are two restaurants at the resort. We ate at Mahalo both nights (one buffet and one sit down meal), but both were just ok. The restaurant staff were great, the food just stressed quantity and not quality.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Kurt R
Thanks for your comments below and sincere apologies that we haven't met expectations with our front office service and food and beverage selection - both are areas in which we are listening to feedback on and training. We've also passed your comments regarding F&B to our Exec Chef, Leigh Sanders to follow up with the kitchen team.

Please feel free to email us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com if you'd like to share details of the staff that you found unfriendly and we'll certainly follow up from our end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful resort, beautiful rooms, great for the whole family. Lots of things to explore around the resort. Friendly staff, great food, great location. Very relaxing and piece full. Barge right at the front door. Great adventures including a day out looking and watching the whales in the nature....

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blewbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Blewbay
Firstly thanks for taking time out of your holiday to post about your stay with us, we appreciate it. You've visited us at a very special time of the year where we have humpback whales migrating along the east coast of the island. We've started to see a few early mums and calves head into the Great Sandy Straits on the lee side of the island and we've even had whales putting on a show for our Fraser ferries. With just over under three weeks until the start of our official whale watching season on Hervey Bay, it's fair to say we're a little bit excited. Please feel free to follow us on our Facebook page, where we'll be documenting all the action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I had a great stay at Kingfisher Bay Resort, the staff and service was fantastic. The meals were was good and fresh. If you want to relax or do something more exciting you can. Fraser Island is a lovely place and I will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi Leanne F
On behalf of the resort team, thanks for the five stars and great comments - we're pleased you had a wonderful time and look forward to seeing you back on island soon. If you have the time, please feel free to share any trip pics with us on our social sites - just use #fraserisland #kingfisherbay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Overall we had a great 3 day stay on Fraser Island. The location is stunning and the accommodation comfortable. The guided tours are expensive but a great way to see the island. We will definitely return one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonichilltop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Sonichilltop
Always great to see our British neighbours out and about exploring Fraser Island's sand tracks. Thanks for the four star review and for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you back in our World Heritage-listed backyard in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were only meant to be on Fraser Island for the day trip but ended up getting lost with the tide coming in and the next ferry hours away. So we decided to stay here for the one night and we were very glad we did. The rooms had a very nice modern retreat feel. A beautiful pool and spa that was open all night with the bar going opening till very late. We went for night walking adventures throughout the whole resort grounds and never got tired of the picturesque scenery (even at night). We enjoyed Kingfisher Bay that much, we deferred some of out intended holiday plans to end up staying at Kingfisher Bay for an extra 2 nights just lounging around the facilities, eating drinking and fishing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaylayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Jaylayla
Sorry to hear that you got lost on island, but wonderful to read that you loved our little patch of paradise so much that you extended your stay and enjoyed a couple of extra nights with us. We certainly appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudgeeraba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed at kingfisher for one night, food was not so good. The room was great, staff very friendly and helpful. Food was much better at Eurong, the associated partner to Kingfisher. The company might say buffet but in the off season only on Friday and Saturday, not so with Eurong. The buffet at Eurong was the best.

Room Tip: Be aware of limited services, particularly food services in the off peak seasons. Restaurant not ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hi Maureen
Thanks for your kind comments re our staff and your room and for taking the time to post. We apologise that we haven't met expectations with our Food and Beverage delivery. You are correct, The Sand Bar is currently closed, however The Maheno Restaurant is running revised snack, lunch and dinner menus to compensate for this. We do have a message on The Maheno page to this effect, but given your feedback, we have just revised the wording to make this clearer for arriving guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser Island
17.9 mi away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
802 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,840 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
271 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
20.7 mi away
Fraser Island Retreat
Fraser Island Retreat
#4 of 4 in Fraser Island
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Bay Resort

Property: Kingfisher Bay Resort
Address: Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bush overlooking the calm waters of the Great Sandy Strait, this award-winning ecotourism resort on World Heritage-listed Fraser Island is the perfect base to explore the world's largest sand island. The resort incorporates the 152-room Mercure Kingfisher Bay Hotel, self-contained two and three bedroom villas and houses, and a 174-bed Wilderness Lodge for groups. Resort Rangers also guide a variety of four-wheel-drive coach tours or personalised tours of the island. Access to Fraser Island is by ferry only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Kingfisher Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Hotel Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Fraser Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing