We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort, overshadowed by the island itself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice resort, overshadowed by the island itself”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I drove to Fraser Island to explore the island by 4x4 and booked myself in for 4 days in a cabin. It was all very pleasant and throughly enjoyable, but I spent more time enjoying the island than I did the resort. What it does have however is a lovely feel to it, the staff are very friendly, and make you feel at home.

For those with a 4x4 wanting to explore the island for the first time I would say it is a good base but come prepared. You are able to get to most parts of the island and return within a day, however I was lucky enough not to get stuck, if I had this may not have been possible.

I would return, particularly if I were with family, but on an adventure I would have it as a stop on my tour of the island.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alldayidreamoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear alldayidreamoftravel
Great to see one of our southern neighbours off exploring Fraser's many sand tracks by four-wheel-drive - it's a pretty awesome experience. We hop you made it to the top of Indian Head, where we've been seeing pods of Indo Pacific Humpback Dolphins and Humpback Whales putting on shows for our island visitors. We look forward to seeing you back on Fraser in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,434
    1,818
    791
    335
    162
See reviews for
1,532
2,114
89
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I can only say being here in July felt like top $ price with a wind down feel. Everything we asked for from food to massage to drinks was unavailable and most things closed. Sand bar closed too. So we had no choice to eat other than the over priced buffet which was terrible. The only other option was pizza every night which every order was wrong. We gave complaining. Room was smelly and dark. Out dated and just awful. Staff rude and uninterested. Trips are so expensive I refused to pay it which left us feeling isolated with no other choice of activity. $160 pp to do an island tour. So basically a drive around the island and a packed lunch. $90 one way cab fare to the lakes. Just shocking place. Avoid like the plague. Worst place I've been in years.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drewgarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Drewgarner
Thank you for posting. We always welcome constructive feedback as it helps us improve our product and we apologise that you have not enjoyed your stay at the resort and that you didn't experience the beauty of the island outside of the resort grounds. You don't mention whether you spoke to our Resort Management team about any or all of your issues, but we are certainly happy to try and resolve any problems that arise whilst you are still with us.

We do want to take the time address a couple of points in your review. You are correct, the Sand Bar was closed during your stay (this is posted on every page of our website and is signed at the resort), however the Maheno restaurant (which normally operates seasonally) was open and ran a similar all-day snack menu, lunch menu and dinner menus during this time. Our bush tucker restaurant Seabelle, was also open nightly and has a wide selection. Guests who prefer to self-cater are free to book our self-contained villas or houses.

Our day touring rates are displayed on our website and we receive many fantastic comments regarding them (please see the review directly below this one). Our prices are based on similar touring products on the mainland and in other destinations and include a buffet lunch, guided tour as well as a National Park fee. We have also just been awarded Trip Advisor Certificates of Excellence for them - so it is disappointing you didn't get to experience the island.

Four-wheel-drives can be hired and brought over from the mainland or hired from the resort and are another alternative for those that don't want to tour. Qld National Parks require all vehicles have a permit to drive in the national park (an additional $43 on top of the hire costs). The Fraser Island taxi service is a separate company to ours, so we can't comment on their pricing structure.

​We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you next time you visit and I invite you to contact me and I will personally oversee your next stay with us.

Regards
David Hay, Group General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,240 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our three days/nights at Kingfisher Bay. As a getaway spot I thought it was just about as good as it gets. We liked everything: our room (cabin better describes it) was excellent, spacious and airy; with good-sized balcony on which to take breakfast, a coffee, have a read or take in the view. It can be very relaxed, very leisurely, at Kingfisher Bay. Some of the rooms are a fair walk from the centre of the hotel, but the paths are well made and well lit of an evening.
On our second day we took the Fraser Adventure tour of the island in a 4-wheel drive bus. Again, thoroughly enjoyed, even though had a few spots of rain that marred our time at Lake Mackenzie. Guide Peter was a true fount of knowledge. That is not how I'd describe the callow youth who led our early-morning birdwatching excursion, the only activity we did that was organised by the resort, though we also undertook a couple of the bushwalks they suggested. Let's just say the birdwatching excursion was underwhelming. Did see lots of birds, though (mostly not on the birdwatching walk), including a brilliantly flashy kingfisher just near the jetty. The jetty itself is also worth a mention, very picturesque and great for a drink at sunset.
We self-catered on two nights and treated ourselves at the Seabelle Restaurant on our last night. No complaints about the service or the three courses we enjoyed. Like everything else, it was just fine and a great way to finish up our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JElliot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear JElliot32
What a wonderful review. On behalf of the team thank you for your kind comments about your guide Peter (himself an accomplished photographer) and about your time with us. We have noted your comments about your underwhelming bird watching experience, which we will be following up with our brand new Senior Ranger and the rest of her team. If you have any images from your holiday, please feel free to share with us in this forum or on our social sites. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just returned from Fraser Island. A great place to visit it is very beautiful but it is expensive so make sure you go with money.

King Fisher Bay Resort is located a couple of minutes walk from the ferry. The ferry is expensive for how close it is.

King Fisher is a nice place to stay and there is lots to do (pool, tennis, beach) but it would be for a relaxation holiday. We bought food in Brisbane and took it over in our suitcases so it made it much cheaper. If you bought all your meal it would be very expensive!

Make sure you go on the Beauty Spots tour with JR he is fantastic!!!!

Good place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear nzer44
It's great to read that you enjoyed your family time on Fraser Island - especially the time out on Fraser Island's sand tracks with our wonder guide, JR.

We do encourage guests planning a trip to Fraser Island to check out our website - which has seasonal specials some very affordable package deals (that bundle accommodation and ferry and touring) together. For those planning a trip in Whale Watch season (1 Aug to 31 Oct) we currently have a stay two nights in a hotel room, breakfast, ferry transfers, 1/2 day whale watching AND third night free for just $379pp. Happy trails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toogoom, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Come for the view - but stay away from the food. Unfortunately being on an island if you stay in the hotel they have you on the food part - so it might be a good time to start that diet. But they do have villas which I believe have cooking facilities if you want to pack your own food across from the main land. There is a small convenience store $4 for a can of beans just to give you an idea. Now $4 for a can of beans may be a little pricey you say but compared to $42 for the worst meal I have had in years - an absolute bargain - and would have been a better meal.
Staff was very friendly for the most part, but the one of the two restaurants that they had open at the resort was very poorly run and staffed and more like a dive dinner quality and service, but with a premium price tag. Breaky buffet style was served in this one and only place on the resort - food very average - but good luck finding a clean table - I had to clear plates off of our table and wipe it down with a napkin on the the one and only time we had breaky there after our 1st horrendous diner meal there as we stayed away from it even though breaky was included in our room price. They also sold pizzas at night - this was most definitely the safest and most popular choice from the other patrons.

Room Tip: Stay away from the restaurants for dinner. Very very low quality but come with a very premium pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Terry M
Thank you for taking the time to post in this forum and we are sincerely sorry that we have not met expectations. Please feel free to email us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com (be sure to mention this review title) and I'll ask our Exec Chef, Leigh Sanders, to personally contact you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
237 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

There aren't many options of where to stay on Fraser Island, so keeping this in consideration, this is probably your best option. The resort itself is very close to where the ferry drops you off, and in fact they have shuttles that will bring to directly to the resort (if they're not full like they were for us). There is a beautiful pier where you arrive from the ferry that is perfect for watching sunsets or to do a little fishing from. The resort itself has a nice sized lobby and offers lots of activities for all tastes. The front desk staff are a strange mix as there were some that were very nice but didn't know much, and others that were quite knowledgable but were unfriendly.

As far as the rooms are considered, they stretch far from the lobby and you may even have a several minute walk to get to your room. The sleeping area is nice, but the bathrooms are old and in need of updating.

Lastly, the food. There are two restaurants at the resort. We ate at Mahalo both nights (one buffet and one sit down meal), but both were just ok. The restaurant staff were great, the food just stressed quantity and not quality.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Kurt R
Thanks for your comments below and sincere apologies that we haven't met expectations with our front office service and food and beverage selection - both are areas in which we are listening to feedback on and training. We've also passed your comments regarding F&B to our Exec Chef, Leigh Sanders to follow up with the kitchen team.

Please feel free to email us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com if you'd like to share details of the staff that you found unfriendly and we'll certainly follow up from our end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful resort, beautiful rooms, great for the whole family. Lots of things to explore around the resort. Friendly staff, great food, great location. Very relaxing and piece full. Barge right at the front door. Great adventures including a day out looking and watching the whales in the nature....

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blewbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Blewbay
Firstly thanks for taking time out of your holiday to post about your stay with us, we appreciate it. You've visited us at a very special time of the year where we have humpback whales migrating along the east coast of the island. We've started to see a few early mums and calves head into the Great Sandy Straits on the lee side of the island and we've even had whales putting on a show for our Fraser ferries. With just over under three weeks until the start of our official whale watching season on Hervey Bay, it's fair to say we're a little bit excited. Please feel free to follow us on our Facebook page, where we'll be documenting all the action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser Island
17.9 mi away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
18.1 mi away
Beachcamp Retreat on K'gari
Beachcamp Retreat on K'gari
#2 of 7 in Fraser Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
20.7 mi away
Fraser Island Retreat
Fraser Island Retreat
#4 of 4 in Fraser Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Bay Resort

Property: Kingfisher Bay Resort
Address: Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bush overlooking the calm waters of the Great Sandy Strait, this award-winning ecotourism resort on World Heritage-listed Fraser Island is the perfect base to explore the world's largest sand island. The resort incorporates the 152-room Mercure Kingfisher Bay Hotel, self-contained two and three bedroom villas and houses, and a 174-bed Wilderness Lodge for groups. Resort Rangers also guide a variety of four-wheel-drive coach tours or personalised tours of the island. Access to Fraser Island is by ferry only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Kingfisher Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Hotel Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Fraser Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing