We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fraser Island Kingfisher Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fraser Island Kingfisher Resort”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed at the Kingfisher Resort for 4 nights in Hotel rooms, with my wife and 2 friends. We attended both the Beauty Spots and Champagne Pools tours which we all enjoyed. We bought a voucher through Luxury Escapes which made the stay very affordable.

The rooms were comfortable, clean and adequately appointed with a nice balcony overlooking a pond and allowed us to appreciate the bush setting.

We did not find the food and drinks expensive (realising that everything has to be shipped in). All of the staff in reception, on the tours (both Peter and Kirsty who made the tours relaxed and informative) and the restaurant staff (including Gerard) were very friendly and helpful.

We particularly enjoyed the sunset cheese and wine which was only upset by the sighting of a whale from the jetty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Stephen O
It's great to read that you're one of the lucky few to see Humpback whales breaching off our jetty (particularly as it is so early in the season) and we thank you for your comments about Peter and Kirstey and about your stay with us.

You'll be pleased to know that folks on the 0900 ferry service to the resort today were treated to some Humpback acrobatics and there's also been a lot of action close to shore on 75-Mile Beach. What can we say, but we love this time of year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,510
    1,901
    810
    345
    164
See reviews for
1,594
2,218
90
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were at Kingfisher Bay Resort two weeks ago and enjoyed the experiences including our ferry trip over and back. In fact we were probably on the same tour with Peter as others who reviewed the place below. We went as two couples and stayed in the hotel rooms and all four of us have nothing but positive things to say about the resort, staff and rooms.

The hotel rooms were open and spacious with a lovely outside deck to enjoy the sunshine. The beds comfy and the shower quality was excellent - no problem with water pressure or change of temperature that you have in many hotels. We chose not have a daily room service. We ladies also went to the spa and yes, we did have to wait two days to get in but we both came out enjoying the massage/nail treatment respectively.

We all found the staff friendly and helpful and am perplexed that others did not have a similar experience. We were welcomed and started off each day with the buffet breakfast (included in the cost of our stay) and we certainly filled up then, never needing to have lunch at all. We dined at the Maheno Restaurant two of the nights and had no complaints about the food quality or choices. Our only concern was the number of unsupervised children helping themselves to the buffet, particularly the dessert table. I admit the seafood restaurant was outside our budget.

The night following a tour we enjoyed pizza outside the restaurant on plates provided to us, and the another night we watched the sun set whilst partaking of a cheese and wine plate on the jetty wharf. This was magical, especially just on dusk an early whale jumped out of the water and entertained us for about 5 minutes then disappeared. This is a 'must do!'

We stayed four nights and did the two tours - the Beauty Spots tour and later (after a day of rain), the Champagne Pools tour. For anyone going on the tours, be aware that it is about an hour to get from one side of the island and 'the road' is very bumpy and windy most of the time and I was glad I had taken motion sickness tablets prior. Our second tour after some rain was certainly easier on the track. However, we would not have missed either trip as we saw so much including so many whales off the coast that we lost count. The guys took a short flight over Fraser taking off from, and landing back on the beach that they both loved.

Our guides Peter (who has us laughing all the way) and Kirsty (who had a fountain of knowledge) really helped us to enjoy our two tours. The Beauty Spots tour included a buffet lunch at Eurong (and meant we only needed a cup of soup for dinner that night) and our picnic lunch for the Champagne tour was more than we could possibly eat. We thought we got value for the cost and saw things that we would ever be unlikely to see again. The drive along the beach is entertaining.

We also spent some time by the pool, but as it was unseasonally cold, unfortunately the water was two cool for us to swim but the two pools were lovely. (Beach towels were provided by the hotel at reception). We two ladies found a secluded spot behind the second pool to read a book whilst the guys took themselves off to fish.

To sum up, having read so many reviews about the cost of food we took packet soups, biscuits etc. with us but mostly ended up taking them back with us to the mainland. We had the breakfasts already paid for, did not need lunch, and ate an early dinner (with the $10 cocktail of the day) over the four nights consisting of either the cheese plate, the pizza, and two buffet dinners. We did not think any of the prices unreasonable at all.

I don't usually write such a long review but we all feel that Kingfisher Resort provided an excellent holiday and we highly recommend it to other travellers and would therefore like to thank the hotel staff for making it a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keentogoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear keentogoSydney
Thank you for your very comprehensive review - we appreciate your candour, the lovely comments about Peter and Kirstey and our staff. We have noted your comments re children and the buffet and will be passing those on to our Maheno team to manage better. It's always wonderful to read that visitors love the island as much as we do and we'd love to see your holiday snaps (rain, hail or shine) shared in this forum or on our social media sights. Thank you and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I drove to Fraser Island to explore the island by 4x4 and booked myself in for 4 days in a cabin. It was all very pleasant and throughly enjoyable, but I spent more time enjoying the island than I did the resort. What it does have however is a lovely feel to it, the staff are very friendly, and make you feel at home.

For those with a 4x4 wanting to explore the island for the first time I would say it is a good base but come prepared. You are able to get to most parts of the island and return within a day, however I was lucky enough not to get stuck, if I had this may not have been possible.

I would return, particularly if I were with family, but on an adventure I would have it as a stop on my tour of the island.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alldayidreamoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear alldayidreamoftravel
Great to see one of our southern neighbours off exploring Fraser's many sand tracks by four-wheel-drive - it's a pretty awesome experience. We hop you made it to the top of Indian Head, where we've been seeing pods of Indo Pacific Humpback Dolphins and Humpback Whales putting on shows for our island visitors. We look forward to seeing you back on Fraser in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I can only say being here in July felt like top $ price with a wind down feel. Everything we asked for from food to massage to drinks was unavailable and most things closed. Sand bar closed too. So we had no choice to eat other than the over priced buffet which was terrible. The only other option was pizza every night which every order was wrong. We gave complaining. Room was smelly and dark. Out dated and just awful. Staff rude and uninterested. Trips are so expensive I refused to pay it which left us feeling isolated with no other choice of activity. $160 pp to do an island tour. So basically a drive around the island and a packed lunch. $90 one way cab fare to the lakes. Just shocking place. Avoid like the plague. Worst place I've been in years.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drewgarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Drewgarner
Thank you for posting. We always welcome constructive feedback as it helps us improve our product and we apologise that you have not enjoyed your stay at the resort and that you didn't experience the beauty of the island outside of the resort grounds. You don't mention whether you spoke to our Resort Management team about any or all of your issues, but we are certainly happy to try and resolve any problems that arise whilst you are still with us.

We do want to take the time address a couple of points in your review. You are correct, the Sand Bar was closed during your stay (this is posted on every page of our website and is signed at the resort), however the Maheno restaurant (which normally operates seasonally) was open and ran a similar all-day snack menu, lunch menu and dinner menus during this time. Our bush tucker restaurant Seabelle, was also open nightly and has a wide selection. Guests who prefer to self-cater are free to book our self-contained villas or houses.

Our day touring rates are displayed on our website and we receive many fantastic comments regarding them (please see the review directly below this one). Our prices are based on similar touring products on the mainland and in other destinations and include a buffet lunch, guided tour as well as a National Park fee. We have also just been awarded Trip Advisor Certificates of Excellence for them - so it is disappointing you didn't get to experience the island.

Four-wheel-drives can be hired and brought over from the mainland or hired from the resort and are another alternative for those that don't want to tour. Qld National Parks require all vehicles have a permit to drive in the national park (an additional $43 on top of the hire costs). The Fraser Island taxi service is a separate company to ours, so we can't comment on their pricing structure.

​We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you next time you visit and I invite you to contact me and I will personally oversee your next stay with us.

Regards
David Hay, Group General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmain, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,321 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 614 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our three days/nights at Kingfisher Bay. As a getaway spot I thought it was just about as good as it gets. We liked everything: our room (cabin better describes it) was excellent, spacious and airy; with good-sized balcony on which to take breakfast, a coffee, have a read or take in the view. It can be very relaxed, very leisurely, at Kingfisher Bay. Some of the rooms are a fair walk from the centre of the hotel, but the paths are well made and well lit of an evening.
On our second day we took the Fraser Adventure tour of the island in a 4-wheel drive bus. Again, thoroughly enjoyed, even though had a few spots of rain that marred our time at Lake Mackenzie. Guide Peter was a true fount of knowledge. That is not how I'd describe the callow youth who led our early-morning birdwatching excursion, the only activity we did that was organised by the resort, though we also undertook a couple of the bushwalks they suggested. Let's just say the birdwatching excursion was underwhelming. Did see lots of birds, though (mostly not on the birdwatching walk), including a brilliantly flashy kingfisher just near the jetty. The jetty itself is also worth a mention, very picturesque and great for a drink at sunset.
We self-catered on two nights and treated ourselves at the Seabelle Restaurant on our last night. No complaints about the service or the three courses we enjoyed. Like everything else, it was just fine and a great way to finish up our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JElliot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear JElliot32
What a wonderful review. On behalf of the team thank you for your kind comments about your guide Peter (himself an accomplished photographer) and about your time with us. We have noted your comments about your underwhelming bird watching experience, which we will be following up with our brand new Senior Ranger and the rest of her team. If you have any images from your holiday, please feel free to share with us in this forum or on our social sites. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have just returned from Fraser Island. A great place to visit it is very beautiful but it is expensive so make sure you go with money.

King Fisher Bay Resort is located a couple of minutes walk from the ferry. The ferry is expensive for how close it is.

King Fisher is a nice place to stay and there is lots to do (pool, tennis, beach) but it would be for a relaxation holiday. We bought food in Brisbane and took it over in our suitcases so it made it much cheaper. If you bought all your meal it would be very expensive!

Make sure you go on the Beauty Spots tour with JR he is fantastic!!!!

Good place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear nzer44
It's great to read that you enjoyed your family time on Fraser Island - especially the time out on Fraser Island's sand tracks with our wonder guide, JR.

We do encourage guests planning a trip to Fraser Island to check out our website - which has seasonal specials some very affordable package deals (that bundle accommodation and ferry and touring) together. For those planning a trip in Whale Watch season (1 Aug to 31 Oct) we currently have a stay two nights in a hotel room, breakfast, ferry transfers, 1/2 day whale watching AND third night free for just $379pp. Happy trails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toogoom, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Come for the view - but stay away from the food. Unfortunately being on an island if you stay in the hotel they have you on the food part - so it might be a good time to start that diet. But they do have villas which I believe have cooking facilities if you want to pack your own food across from the main land. There is a small convenience store $4 for a can of beans just to give you an idea. Now $4 for a can of beans may be a little pricey you say but compared to $42 for the worst meal I have had in years - an absolute bargain - and would have been a better meal.
Staff was very friendly for the most part, but the one of the two restaurants that they had open at the resort was very poorly run and staffed and more like a dive dinner quality and service, but with a premium price tag. Breaky buffet style was served in this one and only place on the resort - food very average - but good luck finding a clean table - I had to clear plates off of our table and wipe it down with a napkin on the the one and only time we had breaky there after our 1st horrendous diner meal there as we stayed away from it even though breaky was included in our room price. They also sold pizzas at night - this was most definitely the safest and most popular choice from the other patrons.

Room Tip: Stay away from the restaurants for dinner. Very very low quality but come with a very premium pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Terry M
Thank you for taking the time to post in this forum and we are sincerely sorry that we have not met expectations. Please feel free to email us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com (be sure to mention this review title) and I'll ask our Exec Chef, Leigh Sanders, to personally contact you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser Island
17.9 mi away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
783 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,767 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#10 of 23 in Hervey Bay
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
269 reviews
20.7 mi away
Fraser Island Retreat
Fraser Island Retreat
#4 of 4 in Fraser Island
45 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Bay Resort

Property: Kingfisher Bay Resort
Address: Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bush overlooking the calm waters of the Great Sandy Strait, this award-winning ecotourism resort on World Heritage-listed Fraser Island is the perfect base to explore the world's largest sand island. The resort incorporates the 152-room Mercure Kingfisher Bay Hotel, self-contained two and three bedroom villas and houses, and a 174-bed Wilderness Lodge for groups. Resort Rangers also guide a variety of four-wheel-drive coach tours or personalised tours of the island. Access to Fraser Island is by ferry only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kingfisher Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Hotel Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Fraser Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing