We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but dirty, old and staff' friendly "no worries!" means nothing will be done regarding your complaints!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Certificate of Excellence
China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location but dirty, old and staff' friendly "no worries!" means nothing will be done regarding your complaints!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

1 week stay.Bedroom dirty everyday,bathtub grimy & yellow."No worries!"=No service!The only saving grace was the island itself,which was beautiful beyond words.The Beauty Spots Tour was the highlight.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
4 Thank AlexandreDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear AlexandreDM
Please accept our apologies that your stay hasn't met expectations, which is never our intention. We are pleased however that you enjoyed your time out on Fraser Island on a Beauty Spots Tour. You don't mention in this review where you stayed as our houses and villas are not serviced daily (this is in your reservation confirmation if you booked direct with us).

There is no excuse for poor service and we invite you to contact us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com (Please mention your user name and this review title) and we will ask our Group General Manager, David Hay, or our Asian Sales Manager, Laurel Zhang, (who services our Chinese market) to make direct contact with you to find out more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,461
    1,854
    799
    339
    163
See reviews for
1,552
2,160
89
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

- Check in was quick.
- Our hotel room was disappointing. It was maybe 2 or 3 stars if in good condition, but it was a bit dirty and had a few maintenance issues. Sliding door didn't lock, three lights didn't work and one lamp was broken. Room was dated.
- Food options were not good. We did one night at the sea food restaurant, service was slow,(I think they forgot our order for half an hour) dishes were reasonable and a bit creative.
- Our other 3 nights were at the buffet as there were no other options. Hit and miss here. There didn't seem to be much coordination with the options. A few meat dishes with no hot options of veg or potatoes one night. It was fun to sit near the buffet and watch the confused looks as people searched for side options to go with their food, or bowls to put their desert in, or cutlery to eat it with.
-My partner is vegetarian, she didnt get to eat much.
- I had a good burger for lunch one day.
- The Sandbar was closed for reburbishment. This was not noted on the site we booked from. The beach hut that apparently did snacks had chips and ice cream.
- We rustled up what we could from the general store for snacks inbetween our fine dining experiences, but you pay well for this. We managed to get doritos, noodles, cheese, ham and bread.
- I'm not giving this resort a 'terrible' rating as it has potential to return to the fine resort im sure it used to be. Throw in some more staff, train them and manage them, clean the rooms, fix a few fittings and feed your guests. I'd put up with the dated facilities if a few basics were met.
- I'll be camping next time I think. We took the 4wd over and got away from the resort as much as we could.

Room Tip: Hotel rooms are very basic. Ours was a bit dirty and had things broken. Sea view rooms may have made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fraser T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Fraser T
Thanks for your candid comments on this forum. Our management team do use online feedback as a motivator and to make improvements to our product. We have been listening to feedback regarding our F&B offerings and are taking active steps to make changes.

We also apologise that your room did not meet expectations, but trust our maintenance/front office team were able to fix those problems swiftly once notified. If you would like our Resort Manager, Wayne Harris, to talk further about your stay (let us know the room number and the date of stay and we'll follow up with the housekeeping manager on duty) and if you'd like to give us the chance to redeem ourselves for your next visit, please feel free to email us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com (and mention this review title). We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We returned after some years to be very disappointed by the service, but the location is fantastic.
Litter outside our room on arrival, no soap in the dispenser, no plug in the sink or in the jacuzzi - could not use it.
Tried ringing house service but no reply over several days, complained to the reception, but no service.
Our last visit was welcomed with drinks, piano music in the evenings - but these have lapsed.
Itemised these problems on the feedback survey, had an apology from the resort manager with the promise of a voucher - which never came.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Proffy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Proffy22
Please accept our sincere apologies on all levels. We would like to follow up on the conversation you had with our Resort Manager, Wayne Harris, and the missing voucher, so please feel free to email us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com and we will follow up on your behalf.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
330 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We arrived and were soon allocated our room BUT it was on a lower rear floor - it was dark and cold and my husband said it smelt damp and mildewy. We rang for help to get the air-con working and we complained about the damp and asked to be move "The hotel is full" was the reply - 10 minutes later the phone rang and the manager said they would move us to a 2nd floor room facing north west. 3/4 of an hour later they arrived to move us but meantime I had an asthma attack! The next room was wonderful - no mildew. We enjoyed it and its warmth with a lagoon view. I agree with another reviewer about the staff - mostly cheery helpful backpackers without any experience or training.
The young enthusiastic innovative chef created amazing meals BUT a piece of pork belly with 3 cherry sized apples & sauce is NOT a meal! No vegetables to speak of, no carbs etc. this was followed by the richest chocolate pudding cake - no wonder I threw up in the night! Does he not know that good food guides say 1/3rd meat/fish/protein and 2/3rds vegetables?

Room Tip: second floor on the north west are not cold and mildewy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitehavengirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
HI Whitehavengirl43
We monitor our customer reviews and use constructive feedback to improve our product. Thank you for taking the time to post in this forum and we're pleased our team were able to rectify the room situation for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
236 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel has the advantage of being in a unique location on a unique island but it squanders that advantage by being mediocre in every other aspect.

We checked our bags in at the mainland check-in at River Head and took the ferry to the island. Hotel check in was smooth and quick and our luggage arrived within about 10 minutes which was great.

Our hotel style room was quite large with two beds. We did have a problem with the heater but that was fixed within a short while.

The decorations and furnishings in the room are dated.

My main complaint is that hotel staff seem to have no idea what they are doing. From what I could gather most of the staff are on working vacations and are just short term employees who are friendly but don't seem to be properly trained.

I was also disappointed with the way the restaurants were run. One of the three restaurants was closed for renovation which left two but one of these was allocated for a large group which left one for the rest of us. Despite all of the remaining guests being forced into one restaurant there were no more staff working in that restaurant and I saw no evidence that the hotel management did anything to ease the bottle neck.

The breakfast buffet was disappointing. There was a nice fruit and yoghurt selection but that was about it. Half cooked fried eggs left to lie limp in a heated dish. Less than half cooked bacon and sausages left to stew in a steaming bain-marie. Yuk!!!!

The island is definitely worth visiting but don't expect much from this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NSMKMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear NSMKIMelbourne
Thank you for taking the time to post about your stay - we're pleased to see that our mainland team were quick and efficient and that our maintenance team were able to fix the problem with your heater in a jiff. Our Group General Manager, David Hay, and his team have been listening to online feedback regarding staff training and about our F&B offerings and have taken steps to fix them - including a new F&B Manager, department structures and the implementation of additional CARE and Peopleology training programs for our team members.

​We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future and invite you to contact us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com and our Resort Manager, Wayne Harris, would be happy to personally oversee future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

What an awesome place to stay. The rooms were clean and the resort is stunning. Excellent service and great food especially from the young guy that works in the general store that rides the KLX 300, what a top bloke and also the lovely young lady at the Jetty Hut.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank first time os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hey there first time os
Great to read that you've had an excellent stay with us on Fraser Island and that our team members have impressed with their service. We'll certainly be sharing these comments at our daily briefing tomorrow. Thanks for taking time out of your holiday to post - we appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Fraser Island was one of our favorite destinations while in Australia. However, Kingfisher Bay Resort was a bit disappointing. The common areas are beautiful and inviting, however the service needs a bit of work.

Upon arriving, the welcoming agent specifically mentioned that no reservations were needed in the casual dining room. When checking in, I asked the reception desk if we needed a dinner reservation and she assured us that we could walk right in. Upon arriving at the restaurant (buffet) we were told it would be over 90 minutes before we could be accommodated since we didn't have a reservation. With two kids in tow who were trying to overcome a 15 hour time zone difference, 90 minutes seemed like an eternity at dinnertime. Luckily, I was able to find someone to work us in earlier, but, the lack of communication between reception and dining was disappointing.

Our family of four stayed in a villa with a loft. It was a bit shocking to stand in the loft and look down onto the first level of the loft at the dirt and dead bugs on top of the kitchen cabinets and appliances were shocking. I certainly understand that these areas won't be cleaned every time the villa changes hands, but, it looked like years of accumulation.

Given the distance of the villas from reception we decided to call the front desk to ask questions about the checkout/bag procedure. The phone would ring endlessly and eventually disconnect without any answer. The frustration caused by not knowing if we could have our bags picked up, what time they should be ready, etc seemed needless as it's something that could easily be communicated upon check in. We finally received instructions and made arrangements for our bags to be picked up the next morning. However, the luggage tags that arrived overnight were labeled for the wrong time causing a bit of worry over whether the bags would make the correct ferry.

Mostly, it seemed like we were continuously trying to "pull" information from the resort that could easily be communicated about restaurants, processes, etc.

The general store was out of most "staples" for our entire three day stay (milk, pasta, tomato sauce, cereal). If you plan on using the kitchen in your villa, make sure you bring your own food.

We would return to Fraser Island in a heartbeat, but, would be reluctant to book Kingfisher Bay without assurance of improved communications and room conditions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrienne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Adrienne E
We wanted to thank you for your time and your candid feedback and apologise that our communication and housekeeping team have not met expectations.

One of our team members has contacted you directly via Trip Advisor for more information regarding your villa and we invite you to contact us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com (mention this review title) and our Resort Manager, Wayne Harris would be more than happy to discuss the issues you have raised and to personally oversee any future stays with us. We look forward to hearing from you at your earliest convenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser Island
17.9 mi away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
753 reviews
6.8 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
1,720 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
#1 of 23 in Hervey Bay
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Beachcamp Retreat on K'gari
Beachcamp Retreat on K'gari
#2 of 7 in Fraser Island
18 reviews
7.4 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
20.7 mi away
Fraser Island Retreat
Fraser Island Retreat
#4 of 4 in Fraser Island
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Bay Resort

Property: Kingfisher Bay Resort
Address: Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingfisher Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bush overlooking the calm waters of the Great Sandy Strait, this award-winning ecotourism resort on World Heritage-listed Fraser Island is the perfect base to explore the world's largest sand island. The resort incorporates the 152-room Mercure Kingfisher Bay Hotel, self-contained two and three bedroom villas and houses, and a 174-bed Wilderness Lodge for groups. Resort Rangers also guide a variety of four-wheel-drive coach tours or personalised tours of the island. Access to Fraser Island is by ferry only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Travelbag, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Kingfisher Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Hotel Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Fraser Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing