We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great 5 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We had 5 nights in the motel type room and had a thoroughly enjoyable time.

Staff
Without exception the staff were helpful, polite, and friendly. Some of them were very new so we couldn't always get answers to our questions easily and sometimes drinks took a while because they were learning. There were a couple of small gestures made that really demonstrated excellent customer service so well done! Reception seemed very busy but staff were without exception helpful and friendly. I liked that any staff who were around tried to help even if it wasn't their job.

Meals
There was one crazy night where meals and service took forever in Maheno and my partner's meal was delivered long after I had finished. We saw lots of meals being taken back so not sure what was happening there. When we went back a couple of nights later, it was still a bit slow but generally fine. I thought the meals in Maheno were about as expected for the price.

Our meal in Seabelle was amazing, except for the chocolate and wattle seed pudding which needed a bit more sauce as it was quite dry. I thought the meals were very good value for the price. What they got really right too was the type and the volume of the music.

Activities
We really enjoyed our Beauty Spots tour, despite the miserable day. I would recommend taking advantage of the activities provided to get to know the plants and the resort - thanks Aaron. The segway tour was a bit of an indulgence but fun to do. The Bush Tucker Talk and Taste was very informative and well done. We also took some walks out from the resort and found the Walking fact sheet really helpful.

Room
We stayed in a motel type room. It is dated and the shower curtain was a pain at times. The pressure and water temperature though were some of the best I've experienced. The fridge worked really well which was a bonus, but it was very small. We had an esky and used that during the stay. The room was very clean and comfortable and was big enough for two. The deck was quite big and overlooked the lake. It would have been nice to have a sea view, but as the weather was so miserable, we appreciated being close to the main area and it was quite quick to walk to shop and car park.

Other
The trip over on the barge was easy and comfortable and it left on time both times. It was good being able to take the car to the resort so we didn't have to unpack our gear. It was also cheaper to take the car ($165) than leave it behind in the secured car park ($175).
I liked the fact that you could opt out of the room service for some days and have a credit against tours etc – great idea. The credit wasn't on our bill when we checked out, and we forgot, but a phone call next day and it was fixed.

We saw one mosquito, no sandflies and no flies which was an unexpected bonus.

I think it is necessary to have realistic expectations about an eco resort on an island like Fraser, with little infrastructure. The newness/inexperience of staff seemed to create most of the challenges. For us, KBR exceeded expectations.

Room Tip: Suggest second level rather than lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank river075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear river075
On behalf of the team thank you for taking the time to write this very comprehensive review about your time with us. We are proactive in monitoring online feedback, in sharing with our staff and in using it to make improvements with our product. We apologise for that crazy night you mention in Maheno and thank you for your understand and patience - it really is appreciated. Please feel free to post any pics of your time with us on our social sites and we'll happily share.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,593 - 4,599 of 5,653 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

The contempt of the staff (specially from the reception) for the customer is unbelievable. It happened to me and I saw it happening with other guests of the hotel. They seem too busy to take the time to help you and look at you as every question you have is silly and stupid. You are just a stupid client who is taking their time from more important things. It is obvious that the staff lacks training and information about simple things around the hotel. It happened more than once to get divergent information from the staff. A simple margarita at the bar took 25 minutes and came with sugar in the glass instead salt. A burger took 40min. The hotel room is good, the two bedroom villa I don't recommend for a couple. In general good facilities but it is not worth $200 a night to be treated with disdain.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rafauk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Rafauk14
Please accept our deepest apologies that our team haven't made you feel that you are a valued customer as that's not how we like to do business. I invite you to contact us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com with your full name, booking number and dates you stayed with us, so we can follow up with our team. We hope to hear from you at your earliest convenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at Fraser Island and loved the natural feel. I would personally like to thank Bianca from Reception who held the barge so I could do an emergency dash to get medical supplies. Also a sincere and big thanks to Wayne from Fraser Island/ River Heads bus company who arranged my drop off at the chemist, then pickup plus holding the barge for 10 mins so I didnt have to wait 3 hours for the next one. Fantastic service.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Lyn I
On behalf of Bianca, Wayne and our team, thanks for the four stars and your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had at great time at KBR. The beach drive in 4wd vehicles delivered whales, dingos and beautiful vistas, the Bush Tucker talk and taste with Luke was just awesome. The vistas from the rooms were phenomenal. A must see if you are planning on travelling in the area. The ferry ride across was up eventful (no whales on either leg) but the ferries were comfortable.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rich_and_Bea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Rich_and_Bea
Thank you for the four stars, your sound-out to Luke and your comments, we appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

IF I choose a such an expensive hotel I want a pretty good sevice. And i didn't have it here. Poorly trained and not manages young staff, slow, unwarmed, little effort in communicating ( the young lady at the reception talk with as to your room mate). You have to wait 20 minutes for a coffee at the bar. Long queue and wait at the restaurant. Poor and boring menu, but expensive.Hotel rooms are dated & really need a makeover especially the bathroom - there's a plastic old curtain in the shower. Am I in a scout camp or in a 5 stars Mercure resort???? Come on, you can do better

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elix197504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Elix197504
Thanks for taking the time to post and we apologise that you haven't enjoyed your time with us, but hope you did enjoy your time exploring our island backyard.

As you may have seen from previous posts, we have a new F&B Manager (her first day is today) who will be making the Maheno service and deliver a priority now she's on board.

We also wanted to let you know that we are not a five-star property, nor do we advertise as such on our official sites. Please feel free to contact us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com (mention this review) with more details about our over-zealous staff member on reception and we'll certainly follow that up on your behalf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at Kingfisher Resort for 4 nights and fully agree with the other reviews that this Resort has so much potential but comes up short on several key points.
First the good points:
- The view from our room was spectacular, we stayed in a hotel room which overlooks the jetty and a small lake
- The Seabelle Restaurant food is really great using bush tucker as part of all the dishes
- The ranger guided activities are great and so was the whale watching tour
- The surounding gardens and the pool area are brilliant
- Reception staff were helpful and friendly. This also included the mainland check in staff
On the downside:
- The lack of service and slowness in the delivery of the meals in the Maheno Restaurant
- Don't order the schnitzel at Maheno's
- Lack of maintenance in the rooms. Our flyscreen door was falling apart and required repairs or replacement
- Buffett evenings in Maheno's Restaurant should be clearly advertized on the program
- The housekeeping got to our room around 4:00 to 4:30pm each day

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor overlooking the jetty and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelWy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

HI MichelWy
Thank you for your candid comments about your stay with us and for the kind comments here about your dinner in Seabelle, the ranger activities, whale watching and our reception and mainland staff.

We have noted the comments re Maheno and wanted to let you know that our new Food and Beverage Manager, Julie David, arrived on island today and will be making this outlet a priority during her first few weeks with us. We are confident that, under Julie's stewardship, we will be able to rectify some of the service issues you mention.

We also have a new Exec Housekeeper starting shortly who will again make service a priority. We have maintenance cards in room and certainly encourage guests to let us know of any problems so we can fix them during your stay. If you haven't reported this, we invite you to contact us on feedback@kingfisherbay.com and we'll rectify the situation immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My partner and I booked a week at Kingfisher Bay starting 4 August. Initial impressions were good, prompt and friendly email communication and confirmation of our vehicular ferry times etc but these were quickly undone upon arrival.

Having booked a 2 bedroom bungalow (based on the exceptional pictures on the website and wanting the extra living space) we were instead given a loft "villa" with a small balcony that overlooked the main road through the resort and was missing some of the extras that we required - a bbq for example. After viewing the "villa" we contacted reception and they moved us to an example of what we'd actually booked.

Firstly it was very tired and in dire need of a makeover. Second the views were of the rear of another row of bungalows. Third the balcony was overlooked by the balcony of the next door unit (not an issue during quiet times as this was but in busy times it'd be awful).

Sadly, even though the resort was quite empty, it appears that Mecure don't really care about the impression their resort makes. The website makes much of the seaviews (and during busy times I can accept that not everyone can have these but this was hardly busy) and the images give the impression of sparkling and impressive upmarket accomodation. There was nothing about our bungalow that was either sparkling or impressive and the "for private sale" sign attached by the owner to the lounge room wall conveyed the message.

We enjoyed Fraser Island itself and it is not to be missed, but this resort misses the mark by a substantial margin but still manages to charge a premium rate.

We'll be back to Fraser but not to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayGroup, Manager at Kingfisher Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Hi Alan C
We have contacted you directly today to find out more details of your stay with us as we have been unable to locate any comments in the Duty Manager log under Alan C that indicate problems were reported during your time with us.

Once we have these additional details, we will locate your booking and check back at the phone recordings or emails from the start of your booking process to find out what went wrong during the stay. Our Villa Coordinator is also keen to find out more details so she can assess the villa/s you stayed in. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraser Island
10.1 mi away
Eurong Beach Resort
Eurong Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Fraser Island
954 reviews
10.2 mi away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#10 of 24 in Hervey Bay
2,294 reviews
11.2 mi away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 24 in Hervey Bay
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
11.3 mi away
Fraser Island Retreat
Fraser Island Retreat
#3 of 4 in Fraser Island
53 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#8 of 24 in Hervey Bay
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Bay Resort

Address: Kingfisher Bay, Fraser Island, Queensland 4655, Australia (Formerly Mercure Kingfisher Bay)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Fraser Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fraser Island
Price Range: £94 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingfisher Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bush overlooking the calm waters of the Great Sandy Strait, this award-winning ecotourism resort on World Heritage-listed Fraser Island is the perfect base to explore the world's largest sand island. The resort incorporates the 152-room Mercure Kingfisher Bay Hotel, self-contained two and three bedroom villas and houses, and a 174-bed Wilderness Lodge for groups. Resort Rangers also guide a variety of four-wheel-drive coach tours or personalised tours of the island. Access to Fraser Island is by ferry only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingfisher Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Kingfisher Bay Resort Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Hotel Fraser Island
Kingfisher Bay Fraser Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing