We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Holiday Rental - we'll be back!”
other travellers have booked this property
Apurla Island Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apurla Island Retreat
Kitchen/Dining Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Apurla Island Retreat
Kitchen/Dining
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Main Bathroom
Ensuite
Pergola
Pergola Roof
Pergola and Barbecue
Fire Pit
Garden
Garden at Night
Resident Goanna
Fraser Island Dingo
Dingo Eating a Fish on Fraser Island
Sea Eagle on Fraser Island
Maheno Wreck Fraser Island
Maheno Deck Fraser Island
Looking Through Maheno Wreck
Fisherman on Fraser Island
Eli Creek Boardwalk
Eli Creek
Seventy Five Mile Beach Fraser Island
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Fraser Island, Fraser Coast, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jodhi G
1 review
“Fantastic Holiday Rental - we'll be back!”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We loved our stay at Apurla, the house was so well equipped and very very clean. Very functional and perfect for families. Our 2 young, active boys didn't get bored here and Karen and Tony are so patient and amazing with children. The perfect hosts, there if you want to have a chat but they also give you your privacy. Out of all the holiday houses we've stayed in, this is no doubt our favourite and we can't wait to get back there again. The house has everything you would expect plus more. Toys for the kids was a treat. Karen and Tony are such warm and beautiful people, I honestly can't recommend this property enough. Thank you both so much for a truly memorable stay. Don't change a thing, you guys are awesome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Cleanliness of property
Liked least: We couldn't get the DVD player working
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2016
Hi Jodhi Thank you for your wonderful review on your stay at Apurla. It was an absolute pleasure meeting you Matt, Barbara and the boys and we are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday on Fraser. We would also like to thank you for leaving our house clean and tidy and we look forward to having you stay with us again. Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarsha W
Tamworth, Australia
2 reviews
“A great place to stay for a family getaway”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Honestly, I can not speak highly enough of Apurla Island retreat. It was better than I had expected and having two bathrooms was a real bonus for us with older children. It was clean, roomy and comfortable .. on our rainy day at the island we enjoyed utilising the dvds, board games and reading magazines that were at Apurla...the owners truly have thought of everything to accommodate their guests! As an operations manager for a national company I travel a lot and stay at a range of accommodation types and for the price this was great value!
Fantastic communication from the owners, I have already recommended this holiday rental to friends :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Hi Tarsha Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Tony and I are absolutely delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Apurla Island Retreat and would like to thank you for recommending us to your friends. We would also like to thank you for leaving our home spotless when you departed, it was truly appreciated and we look forward to having you stay with us again. Karen & Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gypsiesro...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Apurla it is NOT”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Dirty! Showers not clean. Under beds filthy. Had to clean the stove griller before we could use it. Frying pans need re-placing. Wiring burnt out so we had to start the very smelly and noisy generator.......and had to be turned off when kids were in the middle of watching something on TV.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fraser Island
Liked least: Apurla
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
Fraser Island is a remote area that runs on solar power with back up generators. The problem that occurred on the last couple of days of your stay with the solar system was unforeseeable and we are glad that you were able to still have power via the generator for the last 2 days of your 1 week stay. Being a remote area tradesman have to come from the mainland as anyone who holidays in remote areas would know. By law and also common courtesy the generator has to be turned off at 9.00pm at night. With regards to the cleaning, I spoke to your adult daughter on the first day of your stay and asked her how everything was and she advised me that everything was great and there was no problems and loved it, so if there was an issue with the cleanliness of the house, then she would have said so then. We feel that the hiccup with the power on the last 2 days of your stay is what has made you give us an unwarranted unsatisfactory review. All previous reviews for our property have been 4 and 5 star on this and other sites.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HammosatW...
Wamuran
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a week at this lovely home away from home and it suited our group of 4 adults and 4 children (two families) perfectly. We had a great holiday on Fraser, and a big part of that was due to the very comfortable and clean surroundings of Apurla. Thank you Karen & Tony for looking after us and giving the boys some great fishing tips! We'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisCorb...
Gold Coast, Australia
2 reviews
“A unique place to stay in a unique Island”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were enthralled by our stay at Apurla. Great holiday house with great facilities and such wonderful hosts in Karen and Tony. This is a piece of paradise on earth, Fraser I is a unique place and the Gaunt family makes it even more special. Many thanks from Chris and Lorraine Corbett

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing