We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Great Keppel Island Holiday Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Great Keppel Island Holiday Village
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Had a wonderful stay in the tents. Super comfy and clean. Very friendly owners and staff. Kitchen is very well equipped.
Had the beaches to ourselves and a blast paddle boarding - paradise!! Katie from Canada

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kfryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    37
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
53
66
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

It is a couple of weeks since we arrived home from our Great Keppel Island getaway and I am still feeling the afterglow of such a relaxing break. We (my husband and 3 young kids, 7, 5 & 2) stayed in Keppel House which is managed by Geoff from the GKI Holiday village. After being greeted at the ferry Geoff showed us to the house where it had just been thoroughly cleaned by a team of backpackers. It had also just been re-tiled throughout. The house was very basic but very functional. It was clean, had a big fridge, oven, new webber BBQ and plenty of cooking equipment. The same day we arrived Geoff returned with a huge crate of beach toys for the kids, a paddle board, boogie board and more.

The beach is literally 20 metres from the front deck and being so close was fantastic as it meant there was no need to "pack" for the beach. When my 2 year old had had enough she would just walk back to the house. The kids felt very at home on the island. We loved the stand up paddle board and saw lots of fish, sting rays and a green sea turtle which was a highlight. On our walks around the island we saw plenty of other birds and wild life.

I was a bit nervous about taking the family to a place where there is really nothing much to do, but not having the distractions of restaurants, activities etc actually meant we really enjoyed just hanging out on the beach, reading on the deck or cooking up lunch and dinner. There was not one moment where the kids said they were bored. They were in heaven. And my husband and I found it to be the most relaxing break we have ever had with the kids.

We took a weeks worth of groceries over on the ferry as you can't buy much over there. We ate a couple of times at the Hideaway which was good pub food.

When it came to our check out day Geoff made sure we had a tent at the village to put our bags and have a rest before it came time to getting the afternoon ferry. He really was a great host.

We loved our Great Keppel Island holiday and I hope we will be back there again one day.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TillieP79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This location is quite wonderful, just a couple of minutes walk from the water's edge. The owners (Geoff and family) of GKI Holiday Village have managed to create a tranquil and beautiful venue. It is an excellent example of simplicity of design and function. We stayed in one of the very comfortable permanent tents and mostly self catered in the clean, tidy kitchen. The large, clean fridges were particularly appreciated. Geoff provided us with kayaks, snorkeling gear, wet suits and life jackets so that we could make the most of the wonderful beaches and bays. There are numerous nearby coral reefs and plenty to see with a snorkel mask. Our stay was so relaxing and a complete break from our busy work lives. The prolific wildlife - possums, echidnas, many different native birds and butterflies that wander through the village kept us amused when we were not out and about enjoying the island. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying in the large permanent tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monicam362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

When you get off the ferry on the beach of Great Keppel Island together with a bunch of day tourists, you still don't know what to expect, but Geoff is right there at the beach expecting and welcoming you and maybe a handful of other guests that will stay on the island. He wil take your luggage (and the kids if they like) on the rear of his minivan to his little charming village of cabins and tents a few hundred meters down the beach, while you enjoy the stroll along the beach.
We stayed here just for one night (3rd week of june 2014) - really too short to appreciate the beauty of this little island, still it has really been worth it. We - a family of four with two adult young ones - had two tents and the shared kitchen (well equipped, lots of space, even in the fridges), and other amenities, which are simple but well maintained and clean. The moment the afternoon ferry leaves - the island is yours + of a dozen other folks staying there. Free snorkeling gear & and kanoes, great!
What does it make so special? Not only the beauty of this island and its beaches, but also the atmosphere of freedom, respecting others and trust that Geoff and his wife created here - really the quiet alternative.

Room Tip: I would always prefer the tents - almost nothing between you and the stars - the beds are very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Greeted by Geoff at the ferry drop off. We stayed in a cabin that was adequate for a quiet and peaceful getaway, our own frig and most importantly for us a private bathroom. We arrived for a family wedding and I think the entire group consumed most of the places to stay on the island. We were most fortunate to have a quiet place to retreat to and Geoff, his wife and his sister's hospitality were outstanding. It is a great place to stay but Geoff's hospitality, friendliness and willingness to do most anything made the entire experience so worth while. A big thank you to him and thanks for making us feel like part of the "neighborhood", we truly had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AKtraveler4831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

My partner and I stayed here over the long weekend holiday and wanting a quiet place to retreat to, it was just perfect. The location is perfect, a minutes walk to 2 beaches, the tents are well constructed, clean and spaced well apart. The staff and owner, Geoff, are super friendly and helpful. The kitchen has all you need. It is a lovely quiet and peaceful retreat suitable for any age group. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great Keppel Island Holiday Village is a compact property with a handful of tents, cabins and rooms which are well maintained, nestled amougst the trees and it has a wonderful energy. The owner (Geoff) is very accommodating and discretly ensures the place remains relatively quiet for occupants, so I had 4 great nights sleep and it was peaceful during the day. I met lovely people while cooking in the large kitchen and one of the people i met was a yoga teacher so on two mornings a handful of us went down to the beach for yoga. I also explored the islands great walking tracks, had lots of time reading, relaxing, snorkling and paddle boating. I highly recommend this GKI Holiday Village to everyone from solo travellers, couples, or families who are wanting to relax, plus have some island adventure.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and tidy. The property is relatively compact so all accommodation spaces are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Keppel Island
8.7 mi away
Emus Beach Resort
Emus Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Emu Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
9.5 mi away
Rosslyn Bay Resort
Rosslyn Bay Resort
#2 of 3 in Yeppoon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
12.7 mi away
Oshen Apartments Yeppoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Henderson Park Farm Retreat
Henderson Park Farm Retreat
#3 of 37 in Rockhampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.5 mi away
Great Keppel Island Hideaway
Great Keppel Island Hideaway
#3 of 7 in Great Keppel Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
9.5 mi away
BIG4 Capricorn Palms Holiday Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Keppel Island Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Keppel Island Holiday Village

Property: Great Keppel Island Holiday Village
Address: Lot 2, The Esplanade | Fisherman's Beach, Great Keppel Island, Queensland, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Great Keppel Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Great Keppel Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Keppel Island Holiday Village 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Great Keppel Island Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing