We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little slice of paradise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Green Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Green Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Green Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Little slice of paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

My husband and I stayed on Green Island for two nights to celebrate his birthday recently. The staff are wonderful, so friendly, chatty and fun. Our room was clean, big and comfortable, with a great comfy bed and all the little extras like bathrobes etc. The Island is a special place (especially when the day-trippers leave!) You get to check out the stars, do night nature walks and have this awesome island all to yourself! We had a great time and saw loads of turtles and sea life. It's a great spot but I would recommend getting out to the outer reef too as you do have better water clarity and marine variety there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marshalllaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    514
    237
    51
    27
    21
See reviews for
266
453
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

My husband and I spent two nights at Green Island Resort in May and had a fabulous time!

From check in at Marlin Marina to the day we left everything was looked after really well by Green Island staff.. The little extra's offered by the resort made for an enjoyable stay, they provided stinger suits and snorkel equipment free of charge to resort guests which was great, you just pick them up on the first day and keep them until you leave. There is also fish feeding each night, a nightspotting tour & sunset drinks/nibbles - all were really good. Also free tea and coffee in the guest lounge was a nice touch

The Island itself is very nice with some good snorkelling to be had or you can take a glassbottom boat if you don't want to snorkel. Lots of turtles came right up to the beach each morning and night

There are lots of daytrippers who arrive at 9am and leave at 4pm though this didn't bother us. There is a pool for resort guests only and if you avoid the main daytripper area you can still get some peace and quiet.. We actually did a full day trip out to the reef from Green Island and it was brilliant, saw sharks and turtles all in the same day!

The staff were fantastic and very helpful

Room was lovely, nestled into the rainforest with a balcony. The room was quite large with a nice bathroom and very clean/comfortable.

There is a limited choice for dining with one restaraunt open during our stay for dinner, however the food & atmosphere was amazing, we were very happy. The other night we got room service which was good value for money
At lunch there were a few more cafe's and restraunts open

The stargazing on a clear night is incredible at Green Island and a walk around the island early morning before the daytrippers arrive is lovely, you feel like the only people there!

Big thanks to Green Island! We loved every minute of our stay and it definately exceeded our expectations..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackiMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

My husband and I are locals and decided to treat ourselves to a night on Green island. The staff, amenities and rooms were all first class and we loved the sunset drinks on the beach (shame about the lame baskets of chips). We love to dine out and were looking forward to our meal at the restaurant. We were so disappointed with the food served. The seasoning was so over the top that my mouth was coated in salt. Prawns were overcooked and rubbery. We have a pact that every time we dine out if there is creme brûlée on the menu we order it. This was the worst creme brûlée we had ever tasted. It was grainy and not at all like a real cream brulee. We complained about the salt overload when paying the account and were told oh we had the same problem with that last week. Why wasn't it fixed then. We payed top dollar for a meal that was really low quality. We paid full price didn't ask for a
discount, but on checkout the next day complained on our customer feedback form and asked for the manager to phone us so we could give him our feedback. We never heard back. My husband works in tourism and we really expected that they would care that their customers were not happy with the food, but they obviously don't care for feedback.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LissaCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We spent 2nights at green island resort with our 2&4 year olds-we had a ball! From the glass bottom boat tours -we saw turtles, sharks, big fish and corals, to the crocodile farm where giant crocs are fed up close, and the fish feeding sessions. the service was impeccable from the pick up to the drop off -we will be going back. Ps - the daytrippers are not as bad as the other reviews make it to be - most will spread out and remember, it's their money that makes the resort affordable for the rest!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 6784_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

We travelled to Green Island Resort for our Honeymoon. We stayed there 6 days before moving on to New Zealand.
We arrived needing rest and relaxation and we received both, along with a healthy dose of excellent food, friendly staff and good scuba diving.

We stayed in a Reef Suite and it was superb. Beatifully furnished, very comfortable beds and pillows.

The restaurant had a buffet breakfast which had everything you could ever want from the healthy fare (granola, cereals and fruit) to the hardy (eggs, bacon, sausage) and all were delicious.

We had lunch at both Emerald restaurant and at the Canopy Grill. Both were good.

The dinners were delicious. The specials changed a couple of times while we were there. If you get a chance to have the rack of lamb, that was my favourite meal by far.

We did 4 dives while there: 2 from the resort, and 2 on the outer reef using Great Barrier Adventures and their pontoon on the "Moore Reef". We had one divemaster for the 2 of us on each dive. He was very attentive and knowledgeable about diving, as well as friendly and informative. The extra fee for the transportation to the pontoon is a little steep (~$230AUD) but well worth it to get to the outer reef.

Unlike other reviewers, we did not ming having the day trippers there as they made it more interesting during the day for people watching. We were still able to have seclusion further down on the beach under some palms.

We took advantage of the island's activities: snorkeling, crocodile feeding, evening nature walks, all were excellent.

We could not have picked a better place to get away from everything and celebrate our new marriage.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZGraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QLD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

Ah the day trippers are not so bad... there is a resort pool just for in house guests anyway....but why would you swim in a pool when there is an entire island of beautiful beaches with turquoise water filled with fish and turtles?? We have two young boys and had a wonderful stay. The rooms are great, the food delicious and the staff outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SallyMcF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

Although Green Island does get packed in the mornings with a lot of tourists, this resort after hours is fantastic. The staff here are great and they seem to do a fantastic job and they are all willing to help you. The house keepers particularly seem to do a superb job and they even hang up your wet clothes on the lines available inside your room, what more could you ask for? Green Island is a fantastic place and definitely somewhere I'd recommend for people to stay at.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jennymac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Green Island
16.9 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
20.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
17.1 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
20.9 mi away
Cairns Coconut Holiday Resort
17.2 mi away
Pullman Cairns International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Island Resort

Property: Green Island Resort
Address: Green Island, Great Barrier Reef, Green Island, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Green Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Green Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Green Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 27 km across the Coral Sea from Cairns in Tropical North Queensland, Green Island Resort is luxury on the Great Barrier Reef. With just 46 suites nestled amongst the rainforest and secluded from the day visitor facilities, this world-class eco-sensitive resort offers a unique blend of luxurious accommodation, first class service and unparalleled access to the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Green Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Island Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing